We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff sometimes makes your stay more memorable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zodiak @ Cokroaminoto Yogyakarta
Ranked #105 of 200 Hotels in Yogyakarta
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff sometimes makes your stay more memorable”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We only stayed in this hotel for a brief one night stay. It is a shame that we were not able to stay longer. So happy to see that the colour purple was just everywhere, being it our favourite colour! But if you don't like purple, I would suggest turning off the lights, draw the curtains and go to bed!!
The hotel was okay but I'm a firm believer that great helpful staff helps you feel more at home when you are away from home! Everyone was ever so friendly which are quite rare in the hotel industry!!! We were lucky enough to be served by one of the staff called Roland, his customer service is outstanding! His English is excellent (for an Indonesian/Asian staff) and as an English couple ourselves he made us feel at home. No requests was too big or too much hassle for him (which is also rare in The hotel industry as you ALWAYS get that one staff that really does not give a damn) I really do hope management are able to pass on our thanks again to him, as our first trip of travels in Indonesia he certainly gave us a good start to our holiday!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    36
    45
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
24
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I arrived in yogyakarta in march for the first time, we only booked this place for one night because we heard that there was a better budget hotel in the area, when we arrived the check-in process was very fast and the man in the front office (roland if I'm not mistaken) and the other staff were so helpful, they helped us find a tour to Borobudur and other places in yogya. i was surprised when we got in the room, the room was a lot bigger than most budget hotels I've stayed in and very clean. Our room was on the seventh floor and i must say how beautiful the view of the Merapi volcano was, waking up to a sunrise and seeing that out my window is something i will always remember. The wifi was very fast, very helpful too because i have to do video calls and not once did it buffer.

When we were having breakfast we were greeted by the hotel manager (Mr. Sahmad) he was very entertaining and got out of his way to make sure that our experience in his hotel was a memorable one. Breakfast was delicious, i loved the fried bananas with chocolate sauce. I must point out that in all the hotels i have been in i have never been given such great services like this hotel has given me (and this is a budget hotel!).

So it was time for us to check out and the front office man helped us find a cab to go to our next hotel, its so nice to see people that give a real smile and not a fake one like were never going to meet ever again.

So i arrived at the new hotel, the girl didn't smile at me when we came in (i'm sorry i just like it when people are glad to see their guests). But the biggest problem was the room, their rooms are so much smaller then my previous one in zodiak, i had a view of a wall (i miss my volcano view) so i got my things and went back to zodiak.

When we arrived we were greeted so warmly, the staff saying "it's so nice to see you again". I got my volcano view again and was sooooo happy.

Thank you to Mr sahmad, Mr. Roland and all the other staff for making sure my trip was a memorable one. Hope to come back soon.

Bella

Room Tip: Pick a room that has a volcano view and try out the bar on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella_Billie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tangerang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Pada tanggal 22 s/d 24 Peb. 2014 (2 malam) yll. keluarga besar kami (9 orang) menginap di Hotel yang relatif masih baru ini (menurut kbr baru buka skitar 6 bulanan). Lokasi agak jauh dari tourist area, harus naik kendaraan. Check in cepat. Staff ramah dan sangat membantu. Kami booked 2 standard rooms dan 1 junior suite room. Furniture OK. Terutama matras spring bednya ... OK banget (mungkin masih baru ...), hanya sayangnya : (1). AC TIDAK DINGIN (padahal itu JUNIOR SUITE ROOM, apa sdh check list sebelum tamu datang ?), kami laporkan hal tsb., teknisi datang, tapi gagal. Kemudian kami dipindahkan ke junior suite room di lantai lain yang katanya ACnya "mendingan" dinginnya, tapi ternyata kurang lebih sama saja, sehingga saya kemudian minta tolong kepada Reseptionist utk dikirimkan kunci pintu balkon kamar saya agar saya bisa buka pintu balkon utk dapat supply tambahan aliran udara segar dari luar ... ! (2).slipper/sandal kamar hanya tersedia 1 pasang saja sedangkan penghuni kamar ada 2 orang. (ketika hal tsb ditanya ke receptionist katanya memang begitu kebijakannya dan kalau minta 1 pasang lagi maka kpd kami akan dikenakan extra charge). (3). Breakfast cukup lumayan vs Harga Kamar Hotel, hanya saja mungkin (maaf ya...) Chef kurang memperhatikan waktu preparationnya bahwa jika fresh fruits untuk salad jika di prepare jauh2 pada malam hari dg masa jedah waktu yg cukup lama dg breakfast time akan menghasilkan "aroma tidak sedap dan rasa basi" khususnya utk buah semangka & melon, tapi entah kenapa koq tetap di display juga... Begitu juga dengan tumisan sayur2an hijaunya, sudah bernuansa warna kecoklatan .... Bagaimana dg Café ? Cafe yg ada di lantai atas itu sebenarnya +/- hanyalah Smoking Room saja yang ada music kerasnya (yang terdengar hingga ke lantai bawah) - perlu di upgrade/disesuaikan interior, 'daily host' yg menjalankannya plus ada info/ tulisan misal di standing board di lobby ttg Acara2 Cafe ybs. (misal FREE Karaoke untuk pembelanjaan F/B min. Rp...) agar para tamu dapat merasa "ada tempat hiburan terdekat" yang bisa dikunjungi di internal hotel, agar kami "mau" lebih betah/kerasan lagi tinggal di sana. Apalagi waktu kemarin, sudah masih tersisa suasana erupsi gunung kelud..., turun hujan terus pula seharian..... So, mau kemana .... ? Takes time.... tapi, TETAP SEMANGAT ya....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliantiJudoSurya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Nice quite hotel with free wifi event though this only 2 stars hotel but i am enjoy their hospitality. The staff seem attentive and try their best to give and assistant each time if any problem from the hotel guest, friendly staff especially at the front desk always smile and give warm greetings. The downside of this hotel is variety of the breakfast need to improved as the guest not always local but i've seen some western around to but i am local so no problem with me. The hotel got small pool which plus but when i stay there the pool was under maintenance. Walking distance to maliborro street bout 20 min walking if you don't walk take pedi paw cycle called BECAK for only $ 2. overall i am enjoy stay in this hotel and will coming back.

Room Tip: Room facing the street is better view and on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is very nice. The rooms are modern and clean. The staff is friendly and the WLAN is reliable and quick. The breakfast is nothing special and mainly asian style. The location is okay, about 20 min by foot from the centre. The big disadvantage is the noise! The Walls seem to made out of paper, you hear every noise on the floor very clear and you may wake up at 6:00 because still in the 3rd floor you can hear the music of the breakfastroom very loudly!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank uh6f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

great shower/water pressure. great bed. nice all around design. breakfast is Java style-fried rice, capcay , sweet o.j. etc. it's fine with me . nice to stay in a hotel that doesn't cater to westerners only.
a bit pricey for Yogya. Bus stop just down the street-if you have the time and want to do like the locals, 3,000 rupiahs to the airport, or any where the bus goes. Indomart just past the bus stop if you want beer, soda or snacks. Bejak to Malioboro or Pasar Beringharjo easy, as the ride is downhill. Patience and enjoy Yogya.

Room Tip: choose rooms at the rear of the hotel or street traffic noise will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Semarang
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel seems to be good. Nice pictures...a lot of photo shopping.
The reality is : 1 small elevator for 8 floors, the breakfast is not worthy the name: no eggs, no butter, even no knifes...only pieces of chicken bones and white rice... The pool was even not open. They want 425.000 rp per night. In Yogya any guest house for 300.000 rp will do much better. Forget about this place.....

Room Tip: For that money there are dozens of better places in Yogyakarta. Don't get fooled by their websit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefangerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Yogyakarta hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yogyakarta hotels
0.0 mi away
Top Malioboro Hotel
Top Malioboro Hotel
#154 of 200 in Yogyakarta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.6 mi away
POP! Hotel Malioboro
POP! Hotel Malioboro
#32 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
The Grove Express Timoho Hotel
#38 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Horison Yogyakarta
Horison Yogyakarta
#49 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cube Hotel
The Cube Hotel
#52 of 200 in Yogyakarta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Paku Mas Hotel
Paku Mas Hotel
#10 of 20 in Depok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zodiak @ Cokroaminoto Yogyakarta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zodiak @ Cokroaminoto Yogyakarta

Property: Zodiak @ Cokroaminoto Yogyakarta
Address: Jln. HOS. Cokroaminoto no. 145, Yogyakarta 55244, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 200 Hotels in Yogyakarta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Zodiak @ Cokroaminoto Yogyakarta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing