We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect homebase for rice terraces”
Review of Banaue Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banaue Homestay
Ranked #2 of 16 Banaue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My father and I spent 2 nights in Banaue and were so delighted to stay with Beatriz and her family at the Homestay. It started after a long bus ride from Manila only to be greeted by a nice tricycle operator holding a sign with my name. This avoided any confusion upon arrival. We were swiftly and safely whisked off to the homestay, just a 5 minute ride up the hill. When we arrived we were greeted by Beatriz and the offer of a hot breakfast right away. This was precisely what we needed and felt immediately relaxed and at home as a result. The location is perched on a cliff overlooking the rice terraces, providing an incredible sight to wake up and have breakfast in front of every morning. There is a nice veranda for viewing. The hotel is not in the middle of town which is a very good thing, but its close enough to explore after a short walk. Beatriz gave her expert recommendations on sight-seeing and organized everything--including the purchase of our bus tickets back to Manila. We literally needed to think of nothing beyond enjoying the experience--no planning, no arranging. The food was also very good. I was drawn down to the kitchen one afternoon by the scent of freshly-baked banana bread. It was the best thing I ate in Banaue hands down. Compared to the other hostels/hotels in the area, the Homestay was quite and relaxing. We ate dinner at another inn on our last night and it looked like people were really crowded there and there were signs to indicate the charge for using the electricity outlets! That is free at Banaue Homestay--as it should be. All-in-all, we spent about USD $90 at Banaue including most meals and lodging--this is an absolute steal give how wonderful the experience is. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the rice terraces. When it rains, you'll hear the rush of flowing w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ammirato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

There is only one room with private bathroom and all the others (4) share two bathrooms, which is quite ok. The rooms and the bathrooms are very clean and comfortable.
The location is ok - you can walk 10 min from Banaue main square, and 5 min walk down to the Oyahami bus station (if you're headed to Manila).
The staff is incredibly helpful, very knowledgeble, and always with a smile or a big laugh for all the guests. The food is also very tasty, and they can arrange things that are not in the menu. Breakfast is also very well served, for a good price (taking into account the amount of food).
They also organize visits to Batad, around Banaue, with really nice guides.
A word: unmissable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaterciaSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We arrived early in the morning with the Cable Tours bus from Manila and were picked-up by a tricycle sent by Beatriz Bandao, our hostess. After a good breakfast we explored the rice paddies by ourselves. As we wanted to go Batad the same day Beatriz organized seats on the public afternoon Jeepney to Batad Saddle. Our luggage we could leave at the hotel, as we stayed overnight in Batad. Being back from Batad late in the afternoon (by tricycle from the Saddle) the next day we had an excellent dinner and a good sleep in Banaue Homestay.

The next day Beatriz organized us seats on the only direct public Jeepney to Sagada and brought us even to the Jeepney, as this one left from the town and not from the Jeepney Terminal. Then happened what makes us thankful to Beatriz forever. We forgot our camera on the dashboard of the Jeepney and Beatriz made it possible that it was brought back to us. After we recognized the loss in Sagada we mailed her our problem. In the beginning it seemed that the camera was gone, but Beatriz found out who had taken it and urged him to give it back to her. Then she organized that the driver of the next Jeepney brought it to Sagada and on his way back to Banaue even take us back to Bontoc, where we had to go after Sagada.

Beatriz was extremely helpful to us and we will never forget this. She and her staff do an excellent job. Banaue Homestay is a perfectly clean and charming place to stay (great views from the terrace) with an excellent cook (Beatriz) and unbeatable service. You should not miss it when going to Banaue.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianneWerner38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We spent two nights at Banaue Homestay and it was really great. The location is fantastic just 5 min walks from the bus stop and the rooms have a fantastic view of the rice terraces. The owner is very friendly and helped us to arrange for a day trip together with some other couples (so that we could share the jeepney costs). The food is also great and everything is very reasonable priced.

Can only recommend the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swissgastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Travelling for a longer period of time makes you longer for places like these... Everything was pico bello... Mom and daughter love to bake as well and had some of their goodies...

Very nice stay! Had a great time, great laughs and still one of the best places I stayed since 5 month travelling.

Thank you Beatriz & co

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belgianite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This cozy place is a nice place to stay in Banaue. It offers OK accomodation combined with a smile and a welcoming atomosphere. It is a short walk to the city which can be quite scary at night time. Also they push you a bit to take their tourguide (which isnt a big issue, but I just dont like being pushed to decisions).

Overall we liked it and can recommend the place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TobiTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Small, clean and the staff makes you feel at home the moment you step in the door.
Nothing fancy but really relaxing, especially the breakfast on the balcony overlooking the rice fields.
The family run hotel prepares great home cooked local food and is helpful to organize day trips and tours to other places nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lir0K0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banaue hotels
0.6 mi away
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
0.4 mi away
Bogah Home Stay
Bogah Home Stay
#4 of 16 in Banaue
171 reviews
2.4 mi away
Native Village Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Batad View Inn and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Rice Homestay
Rice Homestay
#4 of 17 in Banaue
18 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lhorens Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banaue Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banaue Homestay

Address: Pangngat, Poblacion, Banaue, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Ifugao Province > Banaue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Banaue
Price Range: £9 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very basic, clean and simple accommodation that is located less than 10 minutes walk from Banaue town proper and from the bus station. 5 Rooms with 1 room with attached bathroom and 4 rooms with shared bathrooms. 3 Of our rooms is facing the rice terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Banaue Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing