We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home”
Review of Banaue Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banaue Homestay
Ranked #2 of 16 Banaue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I love this place its so homey and i feel safe, relax and comfortable staying here at banaue homestay. The staff were so kind,nice and friendly very accomodating and approachable. They show genuine concern to all the guests. And i felt the family atmosphere the warm welcomed and the goodness of the people in banaue homestay. The food are good they serve brown rice which is so delicious & healthy. The place is simple, clean and cute. Surely i will come back here again. Thank you ate bea, rebecca, jovy, samson, and the rest.... see you again next time.


Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Cely Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I love this place..... very homey and i feel safe and comfortable staying here. i felt the family atmosphere and the friendliness of the staff ate bea, rebecca, jovy, samson, and the rest ..... they showed genuine concerned to all the guests and i really appreciate their kindness and goodness. The place is simple, cute, clean and the food are good the brown rice is delicious. i was surprised to see my name posted in the upper part of the wall welcoming us so much like a real family. I will surely come back again in banaue homestay. Cely

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Cely Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at Banaue Homestay for two days and a night. The place is very near the terminal of Ohayami buses that ferried us from and to Manila. It will take roughly three minutes of walk to the place. When we arrived, Bea, the manager, welcomed us with free coffee. The breakfast was decent and filling. She then suggested that we take a jeepney which the other guests had commissioned to Batad. The pieces of advice she gave us regarding Batad were helpful (such as not anymore hiring a guide because it will be easier and much cheaper for us if we just follow the traffic of people heading to Batad viewpoint and falls).

The rooms were cosy, though a little small. The mattresses were very comfortable. A concern, however, is the windows that should remain closed because insect were attracted by lights coming from the rooms. The common toilet and bathrooms were kept clean during the length of our stay.

Banaue Homestay, for the amount we paid, provided us more. The view from the balcony was stunning. It's perfect for an afternoon coffee or a quiet time reading. The rice terraces beckoning right before one's very eyes were nothing short of breath-taking.

However, more than any amenities offered by the place, the most unforgettable was how Bea treated her guests with genuine concern.

And we realized rather late, when we were preparing to leave, that they actually made a welcome note for us, with our names written on it, pasted near the ceiling. It was touching.

We'll defenitely go back the next time we travel back to Banaue.

-byron and john

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Every day was a treat when we stayed here. The rooms were quite comfortable and the food was good. Nothing beats having a good drink with a nice view from the balcony. I highly recommend this place to stay in if you're planning for days in Banaue.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

You will have a fantastic experience if you stay here, I would not stay anywhere else if I was going to Banaue again. We were picked up from the bus station by Beatriz's brother. On arriving into the homestay, we were welcomed warmly and offered a tea or coffee to warm us up after the very cold bus journey from Manila. It was so lovely sitting in the living area with beautiful views of the terraces with our hot coffee! Even though they were really busy cooking breakfast for the other guests and checking people out, we had our room ready in no time at all. We paid 800 peso per night for a large double room with stunning views of the terraces. There are cheaper rooms with roadside views. The room was spotless, beds were really comfortable and had lovely warm, brightly coloured blankets. There were also hot showers which are amazing after a day's hiking. Wifi is free and fast and reliable. The food at the homestay is delicious too and very reasonable! We had breakfast and dinner there every day, there really is no need to go anywhere else, as the atmosphere there is always friendly and warm, with everyone laughing and chatting, and you won't get nicer food in the town. The views from the balcony are stunning also and it's really lovely having breakfast out there in the morning. The beer is really reasonably priced as well. Location is perfect, on the road to the Banaue viewpoint, and less than 5 minutes walk into the town and to the bus station. We left our bags overnight while we did some hiking in Batad and Bangaan, and when we arrived back we were given the friendliest welcome and our bags had already been placed in our room. Beatriz had also washed my scarf that I had left behind! I would highly recommend staying here, but book ahead and avoid disappointment, as we saw many tourists who had to be turned away as the homestay is booked out a lot. The only thing I didn't like was having to leave and I wish I was back there now. Thank you so much for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

We were picked up at the bus station after our 8-hour bus ride from Manila. We were welcomed with a hot tea and had breakfast. The rooms are simple but perfectly clean and there is hot shower!! Most of all, the staff is very nice and helpful. Beatriz kindly organised our trip to Batad and Hapao. Thank you again for everything!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elsa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The windows have no screens and insects can get inside the room unless you close the window.
But closing the windows would suffocate you in the small room and defeat the purpose of getting fresh air Banaue is known for. We complained to the owner but she said there are no insects where she stays.

They always say that there are no mosquitoes because it is cold but it is not true. Many mosquitoes entered my window.


The motorcycles passing by are terribly noisy most of the day and it ony gets quiet at night.

it is not their fault but their neighbor beside has many roosters making noise al the time.
Also many dogs barking even at night.

My advice, before you decide to stay here, take a look at the place first. There are many inns within the area and there is a tourist information center in the town proper.

Room Tip: before you decide to stay here, take a look at the place first. There are many inns within the area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beatrizb773, Manager at Banaue Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Greetings from Banaue Homestay and good day to all!!!

I have checked our lists of guests from January and February 2014 but I didn't found any guest named JOHN O from the list of our guests.

All that we can say (THE BANAUE HOMESTAY FAMILY) is that- we keep going CLEAN , SIMPLE , NICE to GUESTS and ATTEND to the NEEDS of our GUESTS and of course to EVERYONE who comes in to our guesthouse- you're all welcome at BANAUE HOMESTAY!!!

Sincerely,
Beatriz (Bea) Bandao

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banaue hotels
0.6 mi away
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
0.4 mi away
Bogah Home Stay
Bogah Home Stay
#4 of 16 in Banaue
172 reviews
2.4 mi away
Native Village Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Batad View Inn and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Rice Homestay
Rice Homestay
#4 of 17 in Banaue
18 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lhorens Inn and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banaue Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banaue Homestay

Address: Pangngat, Poblacion, Banaue, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Ifugao Province > Banaue
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Banaue
Price Range: £9 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very basic, clean and simple accommodation that is located less than 10 minutes walk from Banaue town proper and from the bus station. 5 Rooms with 1 room with attached bathroom and 4 rooms with shared bathrooms. 3 Of our rooms is facing the rice terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Agoda so you can book your Banaue Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing