We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring with a gigantic lobby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banaue
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Uninspiring with a gigantic lobby”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A large ugly building perched on the edge of a valley with fine views. When looking from the other side of the valley though, this building just looks wrong. Internally, it has a huge lobby with a very high ceiling. There is a wood fire there which is welcome. The rooms are basic but acceptable. We found the service in the restaurant to be hit-and-miss and sometimes, plain absent. Okay for a one-nighter but wouldn't want to stay any longer. We can't speak for the adjoined youth hostel as we stayed in the hotel section.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    133
    154
    32
    14
See reviews for
71
135
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Well, Austin Powers would have liked it. But no: Austin Powers at least loved colours. I stayed in this "hotel" only twenty minutes - then I ran away in horror. The government owned place is not only very old, run down and turns every happy person into a depressed one, it is also the ONLY hotel in banaue, and that's possibly why it is number one here on tripadvisor. So why did I ran away? Well, I don't like naked concrete wall, dead aninmals on a very dirty carpet (probably last cleaned in the 70s), mold in my bathroom and most importantly: no wifi at at. Everything is grey here, expect for the lobby, where the trashy shop takes more space than anything else. NEVER AGAIN! Check for nice homestays in Banaue, they are clearly the much better option!

Room Tip: There is no nice room. Don't book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie_Reisefreunde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banaue hotels

Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Finally was able to make the trip to Banaue this year. It is a sensational place and probably well worth the long trip both ways in the bus. The hotel overlooks the township so there is a great view from the rooms. The hotel is a bit dated but is still very comfortable and acceptable. I would recommend it to anyone travelling to the rice terraces.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejordan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Clean Toilets
Room Service
Hot Showers
Sanitary Dwelling.. can't emphasize this enough
... wait for it...
Lemon Grass Tea!

but on a more serious note... We saw the other hotels in the area and interviewed people staying in Batad or even few blocks down the hill, the accommodation was cheaper at their places by a few hundred pesos, but the bathrooms kept clogging and there was a stench that permeated even their room throughout their trip.. Nothing of this sort at the Banaue Hotel... We felt so lucky that we stayed at the Banaue Hotel after we heard the stories of the other places.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teufen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Banaue rice terraces are 2000 years old and realy amazing.
The only called "Hotel" is a dirty old place to sleep. Even the "luxury" room is worster as any 1-star Hotel. As there is no alternative, it is just a overpayed place without any kindness. Just a place to generate money for the owners. If you are here with your car, better sleep in the car.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Amicidelgusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel from 30th December 2013 to 1st January 2014. The welcome was warm and courteous, the staff seemed to have been well-trained. Our original room was on the first floor (US 2nd floor), room 203. It had a small balcony and stunning views of the countryside and mountains. We later came to realise that the walls were VERY thin, so we asked to be transferred to another quieter room. We were instantly moved to Room 113, on the ground floor (US 1st floor), equally good, with nice views.
The quality of the service was great: the bar was agreeable and inexpensive, the restaurant offered an interesting range of local and international dishes. Excellent - large portions, too!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a good view. You can also ask if the neighbouring rooms are occupied or no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradstow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

A nice touch, was the welcome sign with my name on it at the front door when we arrived.... however my wife did the booking so she was amused because her name was not there... Our room was smallish but otherwise OK with a small balcony and a spectacular view.. when the clouds/fog cleared. Food was OK but a little pricey, by local standards. We walked 15 mins into town one night for a bargain meal at a local restaurant and were fortunate we packed our head torches as there was no street lighting. Wi-Fi was limited to the foyer and was not very fast. English is not fluently spoken so it is best to keep requests simple. I enjoyed the foyer shop with local handicrafts more than many I have seen in my travels. There was also some local cultural entertainment, one (? Saturday) night which did add to the stay. Most of the rest has probably been said by others... Happy enough to have stayed there.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banaue
30.6 mi away
Villa Diana Hotel & Cafe
0.4 mi away
Bogah Home Stay
Bogah Home Stay
#3 of 14 in Banaue
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Banaue Homestay
Banaue Homestay
#2 of 14 in Banaue
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Native Village Inn & Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Batad View Inn and Restaurant
15.1 mi away
Sagada Heritage Village
Sagada Heritage Village
#6 of 22 in Sagada
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel

Property: Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel
Address: Banaue Rice Terraces | 348 kms. north of Manila via Cabanatuan City and Lagawe Roads, Banaue, Luzon 3601, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Ifugao Province > Banaue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banaue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banaue Hotel and Youth Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Banaue Hotel And Youth Banaue
And Youth Hostel Banaue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing