We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best for diving and excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badladz Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Badladz Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best for diving and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

As a novice at diving we could not have found a better place to start than at Badladz Dive Resort. Gavin the dive shop manager explained and sorted everything out for us and we took our initial training in the safety of the pool at the Badladz Beach Resort, where we were staying with family. In the afternoon our fab instructor (Irish Gavin) accompanied us on our first dive not far from the dive resort which was just amazing. The area is a fantastic place for diving. I really can't fault these Badladz guys - the equipment is of high quality and they carry it all to the boat. They only dive in small groups (not like various other crowded boats we saw). So you get lots pointed out to you and as a novice I felt constantly reassured and safe. We followed this up with 2 more dives off Sabang and saw turtles, giant clams, lion fish, a huge frog fish and many other beautiful creatures and corals. Next time we visit we will have to do Verde Island.

Both the Mexican and Filipino food is really good both here and at the Badladz beach resort. There is so much to choose from and its always cooked fresh to order, which may take a bit longer but we didnt mind - just have another cold beer! Great location and the staff are really friendly. We can't wait for the next visit!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Heids1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi Heids1 ,

Thank you so much for leaving a review for us, we really appreciate you letting others know about the great time you had with us here. I am so happy to hear about the good time you had diving with us , we really enjoy putting the extra effort in to making sure all our divers feel relaxed and comfortable. Happy to hear you enjoyed our food also :)

Safe travels and we look forward to having you and your family back here soon.

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    81
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
30
75
81
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Family on 3 (the boy 11) was there for 8 days. Decided first day to try diving for first time, and liked it. Started diving-course and had a fantastic experience and learning. Great staff and instructors, amazing places to dive. We didn t want to go home.. We will be back in june!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toregol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
HI Toregol ,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review about your positive experience here in Badladz , we really do appreciate it.I will let the staff know the kind words you said about them.We can't wait to welcome you and your family back here again for some more great dives .Congratulations again for getting your dive license.

Safe travels

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I decided to stay at Badladz resort which is only 2min by tricycle. It was great, all the arrangements for my dives were made without having to be part of the planning. Told them what I wanted and it was all sorted. Adventure Resort is right on the water with a bar and restaurant. Its just so easy, step off the boat from Batangus and that's it, your there. The local shops are just a stones throw away so there was no need to travel any distance. We had a great stay which was actually extended by 4 days due to the fantastic feeling of being cared for. The only regret I have is not buying the handcrafted pool que from Danny the local guy. It was beautifully made. The beers are cold, the diving is genuinely safe, walking is safe, climate is nice and cool. Maylene and Sean along with all the staff provided us with a fantastic time.
I truly hope one day we can return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pitrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hi Pitrick ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review about your stay here at Badladz , we love knowing the great times our guests had with us during their stay. I am happy to see all the kind words you said about our resort , we really try to make sure everyone of our guests has a positive experience just like the one you described.

We look forward to having you and your wife come visit us again.

Safe travels

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have been a customer of Badladz for almost 4 years now , over the years the resort has changed a little but always the service and the friendliness of all the staff there stays the same. I originally came here to do my diving course and I found the staff really friendly and safety minded and love to point out all the cool things underwater . If you are looking for somewhere friendly to stay with great food and a beautiful view away from the hustle of Sabang then Badladz is the best place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christoph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi Christoph K ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, We really like to see that our customers had a great time here in Puerto Galera with us at Badladz.

I'm happy to see you found all our staff to be friendly , we love meeting friendly guests from all over the world and we love it even more when they keep coming back to visit us.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Safe travels.

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

many annoyances and indifferent staff really detract from the experience. They include: no room cleaning, termites, lights that dont work, no water in the morning for two consecutive days, and a general feeling of a business spiraling downward. although it's cheap, there are better values to be had.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi skrudge,

Thank you for taking the time to review our business.We really do value the feedback from our customers and I am sorry that your experience here did not meet your expectations.

We always try to provide our guests with the best possible hospitality and the friendly and personal service we offer has always been our number one mission. We have addressed the cleanliness issue and spoken with our employees so we don't have another situation like this in the future. We want you to know that we truly enjoy sharing our passion for Puerto Galera with visitors like yourself and want you to leave here after having a positive experience and certainly not a negative one.I think on the time you were here we were quite busy and didn't give you the attention all our guests deserve.

If you do ever feel like coming back to Puerto Galera or Badladz I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you in person, so please ask for me Maylen Cooney :).

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I was referred to Badladz by another local hotel where I was staying. The original plan was to dive Verde Island, but the swells form a nearby storm ruled that out. We dove the bay, and it was very nice. Jo Jo the Divemaster was adept at spotting the smaller creatures and writing their names on his underwater chalkboard. The folks back at the shop were helpful, especially the Irishman Gavin. A nice touch was allowing me to leave my gear overnight at the dive shop for drying. The prices were reasonable. All in all, a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Brad J ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback , I really appreciate it ,

We are sorry about the swells around that time you were here, fingers crossed the next time you come the weather is more agreeable and I'm happy to hear Jojo pointed out all the interesting critters we have here in Puerto Galera.

We hope to have you back here soon for a flatter and calmer trip to Verde Island.

Safe travels

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zhuhai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

As it is literally 2 minutes walk from Muelle pier, the plan was to stay here one night and then switch if we found something else that suited our needs better. We ended up staying the entirety of our visit.
It's nicely situated away from any loud bars which suited us fine. White beach is only ten or so minutes away by tricycle and there is always one available around the corner of the resort. Nearby are various shops, a sometimes working ATM, a currency exchanger and a row of small bars.
Gavin, who runs the dive shop was exceptionally helpful with advice and arranging things for us. The rest of the staff here were just as pleasant & helpful.
The food here was very good, especially the Mexican dishes, huge portions!
The rooms were acceptable considering the price; clean, safe and well maintained. I had looked at similarly priced places near White beach and I think Badladz is a good deal. Sabang, regardless of the rates or quality there, was definitely not for us.

We had a wonderful time here and look forward to seeing everyone at Badladz again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jcytsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Hi Jcytsang ,

Thanks you so much for leaving us such kind words about your stay here at Badladz .

I'm happy to hear you found the location convenient , it really is just a few steps from where the ferry stops and I will let Gavin know what you said about him ,

We hope to welcome you back here soon for some more fun and Mexican food.

Safe travels

Maylen Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
1.0 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#11 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.8 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#46 of 51 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badladz Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badladz Dive Resort

Property: Badladz Dive Resort
Address: Muelle Pier | Puerto Galera, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Badladz Adventure Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Badladz Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of the Puerto Galera resorts! Our hotel is small, quiet and very clean. Located on the Yacht Harbour in Puerto Galera Bay at the "quiet" end of the main tourist pier, Muelle Pier. Our location is very convenient for travelers. You will be only 6 km from both Sabang and White Beach making it the best of both worlds. This makes it a nice alternative to the crowds at both these locations yet close enough to enjoy these spots, far enough away for rest and relaxation. You simply MUST try our famous International restaurant. We are highly rated here on TripAdvisor and serve the best Mexican food on the island. If you have come to learn how to dive, whether you are a complete beginner and just started learning to dive, or you’re an experienced diver looking to expand your qualifications, you’ve come to the right place. Our in-house dive shop offers you everything you need to discover the beautiful underwater world of Puerto Galera – no matter what your skill level is. We’ll take you to the best diving spots in Puerto Galera, which is one of the most beautiful bays in the world. You will find that staying here at BADLADZ Dive Resort is great value for your money and offers many conveniences whether you're here to dive or to enjoy the surrounding activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Badladz Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badladz Adventure Hotel Puerto Galera
Badladz Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing