We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive shop and staff with backpacker hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Badladz Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I had a great stay at Badladz while getting my PADI Open Water license with them. The rooms are simple but clean. The restaurant was good and right along the water. The hotel/restaurant staff were very friendly and attentive. Also, very convenient from the pier and you can hop right on the boat when you are ready to dive. If you aren't planning to dive, you might check out their other backpacker hotel as it has a pool, yard and beachfront.

I wish the wifi worked in the room but you really won't want to linger in there anyway. Internet anywhere in Puerto Galera is generally slow and there are occasional power blackouts. During the day, Badladz has you covered with a generator but at night noise regs prevent them from running it.

The dive crews were great and the equipment looked very new. If you are diving and the price is right, this is the place for you. If you want upscale, I'd find a nicer hotel but still use these guys for your diving.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lowest level and you might have better luck with wifi. If you are a light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Oliver O,

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us, we really appreciate it. Firstly , well done on getting your dive license and welcome to the underwater club :)

Sorry about the blackouts , sometimes the power company turns off the power in the whole area to preform maintenance but like you pointed out , we use our generator to keep the hotel going during the day.

Thanks again for visiting us and we look forward to taking you on some great dives next time you come here.

Kind regards

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Outstanding, I couldn't dream of a better place to stay in Puerto Galera. The staff is the nicest I have ever seen, the food is excellent, next to the beach, swimming pool, located 10 minutes away from both White beach and Sabang, it provides the best opportunity to scuba dive and all of it for a very cheap price!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfourgous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi pfourgous,

I am really happy to see you enjoyed your stay here , we always like knowing our guests leave us with good memories and as always we love knowing our guests found the food excellent. The staff will be really pleased to hear the kind words you said about them :)

We hope to see you and your friends come back here soon.

Kind regards

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you are looking for great diving experience and getting know the locals, certainly Puerto Galera is the best option and Badladz is among the best choices of accommodation there. Absolutely value of the price! Good location and amazing view from the Mexican restaurant of the resort, where you can try also Philippino dishes.The rooms are not something impressive, but the beds are very comfortable and big, there is air conditioner and hot water all the time! The place has unique atmosphere and definitely if I come back to Puerto, I would go again there. Big thanks to the dive instructor, Gavin, for the patience and to the dive master, who is really great person!

Room Tip: Each floor has a cozy balcony with WiFi, so you can have a drink there and enjoying the perfect view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Hi Maria Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write out a review of your experience with us, we really appreciate this.

I am happy to see you enjoyed our resort and had a great time on your first dives with Gavin. I will also let Morris our dive master know the kind words you said about him.

We hope to see you back here to enjoy the view and well done again for doing your first dive :)

Kind regards

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a superb experience with Bad Ladz. Gavin, the owner, is really nice and informative, and our dive guide Morris was also good, pointing out things to see and taking good care. Altogether, a quality operation - good equipment, friendly service and the dive group was small.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hi Cat A ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us ,we appreciate you letting others know the great experience you had with us. Also, I am really glad to see found our equipment in good condition and that Morris used his expert eye to show you all the beautiful creatures we have here in Puerto Galera

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back here again.

Regards

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Badladz hit the nail on the head for us, I believe it is not possible to make a better choice for diving instruction in Puerto Galera than Badladz. Hats off to Gavin O'Hanlon our dive master and Gavin the dive shop master. My girlfriend had never dived before, but with Gavin's excellent patient instruction and encouragement, she gained her Open Water certification over our three day stay.

Our rooms were just as expected, simple but clean and free of unwanted insects. The restaurant served us enjoyable food from friendly and competent staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Nick W ,

Thanks a lot for doing a review for us , we love reading about the good times our guests had with us here in Puerto Galera.

I am happy to see you have a great time diving with us , I will be sure to let Gavin and the rest of the staff know the kind words you said about them.

Congratulations again to your girlfriend , she did really well :)

Safe travels and we looks forward to welcoming you and our girlfriend back in the future

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

If you wish to go diving then Badladz offers an excellent service. The dive team is very professional and the gear is well- looked after and in very good condition. The diving was spectacular with the nearby bay offering opportunities to see turtles and wrecks.

Both the food and the service were first-class. The staff at the resort and within the dive centre were both helpful and knowledgeable. The food was of a high standard with both the Mexican and the Phillipino food being tasty and they were large portions.

The only downside was the standard of the rooms. The Philippines in general does cost more for accommodation than the rest of Asia and we were prepared for that. Nonetheless, we were disappointed by the room. The air con unit was incredibly loud (no chance of sleeping with it on) and the beds were uncomfortable, the mattresses should be been thrown out a few years ago! Furthermore, the WiFi does not work in the room meaning you have to sit in the bar, which would be fine if the WiFi worked there but it was so slow as to been almost unusable. For a non-diver there is nothing to keep you occupied as the island of Mindoro is in itself not very touristy.

If you want somewhere right next to the pier with good food, good diving and good service then this the place but I feel the rooms are overpriced for the quality they offer and also breakfast is not included, making it a less than ideal place to stay for the diving. The quality of the accommodation simply isn't as good as the quality of the diving. A shame!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Hi Amcs1983 ,


Thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us , we always appreciate feedback from our guests , positive and constructive since we are striving to improve our guests experience with us.

I am really glad to see you enjoyed diving with us . We understand that many people want to feel comfortable and relaxed underwater and all our dive staff aim to act in a considerate and professional manner to relax you underwater.

And we always like to read about people enjoying our food and staff , we make a consistent effort everyday to have all our meals we make to a high standard :)

Thank you for highlighting your observations about the rooms , we always like when our guests mention the problem to us during their stay so we can fix the problem quickly as possible , certainly the problems you describe are not aspects of our resort that we wish for every customer to experience and had you mentioned this to the management or staff we would have done our absolute best to fix the issue fast as possible. Again , this is not the standard of rooms we wish for all our guests to experience with us and we aim to improve this situation right away.

Regarding the internet , as I am sure you know from traveling around the Philippines the internet is quite slow compared to western countries , while the internet is not super fast it is more than capable at handling regular everyday tasks like checking e mails and updating social media. In Puerto Galera there is many activities and sights to see but if you are an experienced traveler or have done many of these activities in other parts of the world then perhaps you might find it a little boring, that is the great part about traveling is discovering new things :)

Since you have mentioned this to us we have taken steps to rectify this problem so the next time you come back to us these problems will be in the distant past :)

Safe travels.

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After a trip with friends, I decided to stay on in PG for a little diving and quiet time. Badladz was a great choice for both. Do not be fooled by the small dive shop; whilst I was diving with my own kit, I noticed that all their rental equipment was well maintained or new, as well as properly organised.

The dive sites we went to in PG were surprising, in a good way. Often we would go down and I would wonder why on earth we were there, then one after another, mimic octopi, seahorses, jawfish, spiny devilfish... I dove mostly with Jojo, however on one day he was not available, they arranged for another Divemaster, who was equally talented in macro spotting.

Badladz itself may not be beach front (it's right by the port), but it sits in front of its own little patch of harbour, a vista of yachts and flat water. The food is filling but comes in huge portions, perfect post dive.

Everyone there was friendly, and it was an easy place to chill out and read a book between or after dives.

1  Thank georginah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BADLADZRESORT, General Manager at Badladz Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Hi Georgina H ,

Thank you so much for leaving a review for us , we never get tired of reading about the good time our guests had with us here in Puerto Galera . Thanks for noticing our good quality equipment , we like making sure everything works correctly and regularly service the dive shop equipment so everyone has a safe dive. Haha , I know the dive site you are talking about and it's one of my favorites , from a distance it looks quite barren but when you get close to the sandy bottom it comes alive with cool fish , we find lots of rare animals on that dive :)

We hope to see you return to us soon for some more dives and great food.

Safe travels

Maylen Cooney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
1 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
242 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
174 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#14 of 54 in Puerto Galera
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 54 in Puerto Galera
95 reviews
1.8 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 54 in Puerto Galera
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badladz Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badladz Dive Resort

Address: Muelle Pier | Puerto Galera, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Badladz Adventure Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £22 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Badladz Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of the Puerto Galera resorts! Our hotel is small, quiet and very clean. Located on the Yacht Harbour in Puerto Galera Bay at the "quiet" end of the main tourist pier, Muelle Pier. Our location is very convenient for travelers. You will be only 6 km from both Sabang and White Beach making it the best of both worlds. This makes it a nice alternative to the crowds at both these locations yet close enough to enjoy these spots, far enough away for rest and relaxation. You simply MUST try our famous International restaurant. We are highly rated here on TripAdvisor and serve the best Mexican food on the island. If you have come to learn how to dive, whether you are a complete beginner and just started learning to dive, or you’re an experienced diver looking to expand your qualifications, you’ve come to the right place. Our in-house dive shop offers you everything you need to discover the beautiful underwater world of Puerto Galera – no matter what your skill level is. We’ll take you to the best diving spots in Puerto Galera, which is one of the most beautiful bays in the world. You will find that staying here at BADLADZ Dive Resort is great value for your money and offers many conveniences whether you're here to dive or to enjoy the surrounding activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Badladz Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badladz Adventure Hotel Puerto Galera
Badladz Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing