We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'' Perfect Holiday"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation
Ranked #9 of 53 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My Husband and I was here for 10 days holiday and diving we have a great time. The Owner and the Manager Chuck Shumack really take extra good care for us, We have drinks together { Gin Juice } I recommend it to every one great drink really love it..And the staff very very friendly / helpful with a smile on thier face's it really make the holiday perfect...we have dine in the restaurant food was out of this world large serving and very very good price...we stayed in the New renovated room very nice and clean with aircon, fan, with hot shower cable channels and wireless internet what else to ask for its really relaxing place to stay We can't wait to come back for the next summer...Diving we have a wonderful time with Mark dive master / instructor we really want to go diving with him again..Great job to all and we look forward to come back again we highly recommend to all our friends and relatives to go and have a great time at Capt'n Gregg's Sabang Beach , Puerto Galera Mindoro Philippines......

Room Tip: All the room is clean and nice with aircon and fan your choice and hot showers...
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2011

Excellent location, friendly service, make your stay comfortable & engaging. The food is large & entices you to return...again & agian. It's like your one of the family with friends abound.

Room Tip: ask for the newer rooms available upstairs
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamerongeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Superb location, right in the centre of the bay on two levels right on the shoreline. Just the five rooms, all with aircon, fan, hot water & showers, three rooms upstairs, two a bit larger downstairs.
A small TV witth multi cable channels is also in each room, and free, though slowish, wireless internet is available if you have own laptop.
Whilst extremely central to everything, in the evenings, rooms are far enough from nightlife disco's etc, to not be disturbed by noise etc from the Sabang nightlife.

Captn Greggs will even arrange private transfer from Manila (or airport) including Bangka ferry . whether private or from Batangas, the bangka's arrive just 50metres down the beach from Captn Greggs which is really great.

The rooms might be considered small & basic compared to Europe and America, but are nice and clean, with new bed linen daily, and lets face it, one is here for getting out and about, eg scuba diving, not staying hidden in ones room, and for the nights the rooms have nice comfey beds for sleeping.

The staff are always there for you, in the background, and are really polite and friendly,
as is the owner, Chuck, who must have been there forever by now, maybe 20 years or so. You are made to feel like you are part of the family by Chuck and his staff.

Upstairs is the ever popular restaurant, with optional barbecue food from 6pm each evening, you can cook your own, or let the staff take care of it for you.
The massive 500gram steaks are exceedingly tastey, have one barbecued or grilled in the kitchen.. I always put weight on, despite diving and taking part in hash club Saturday runs. .

Downstairs is a diveshop, part of the same setup, with friendly and knowlegable Instructor and diveguide(s). Equipment is available for hire, and boats to some extent go out when you want to dive, not at some annoying, inconvenient fixed times....
This really suits me, as I hate being ready for 9am dives on my holidays! Most dive sites are just a 10minute fast ride away, or less, on the their small boats.

Cost wise, I am very happy, maybe a little bit extra due to the really central location, but who wants to walk to the far ends of the beaches, and worse up steep hill sides to their accomodation when Captn Greggs is so central to everything going on in Sabang.
I even have all my breakfast, lunch & dinner here. Plenty of choice, so even though here for three weeks I did not get bored with the choice of food.

I would recommend Captn Gregg's to anyone, with the probable exception of Honey Mooning Couples, who unless serious divers, should want something more upmarket and secluded, and with larger more luxurious rooms and who will also want a really great beach.

Does Captn Greggs warrant repeat bookings ? Yes certainly !
I guess the proof is that I have been coming to Sabang (not always on my own) since 1999, and since my first stay at Captn Greggs in 2002, I now always look to stay here. Not only that but I consistantly meet many repeaters, families, couples and singles, who have also stayed and returned multiple times.
Unfortunately Captn Greggs is so popular with repeat customers, who are in the know, especially during high season, that some times I have to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scuba_in_the_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2008

The room was moldy to the point that we checked out the next day with breathing problems. The room next door to ours was not as bad, but had giant roaches. The location was good. The diving was OK, they seemed to like to go deep for no real reason other than to keep the dive short. There is some current to lots of current. Overall the diving was much better in Anilao. The restaurant was poor. The food took a long time to arrive and then was just poor. When we went to pay, they charged us an additional 6.5% for using a credit card. This was the only place in the Phillippines that did this.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 5166narda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 記得要選擇海景房!海景房才是精華。
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IST越南潛水
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fwhs4566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 10 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.2 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
151 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
#18 of 52 in Puerto Galera
36 reviews
6.1 mi away
Mountain Beach Resort
Mountain Beach Resort
#11 of 53 in Puerto Galera
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
Blue Ribbon Dive Resort
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation

Address: | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £16 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
situated right on the beach you can have your meals looking at Batangas luzon we cater for 50 seats 11 rooms and dive shop most wit wifi all have hat and cold water tv safes aircons 4 deluxe rooms have their own balcony's standard rooms all face the ocean , diveshop right on the beach front 5 minutes to all the dive sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Capt'n Gregg's Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt`n Gregg`s Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing