We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel in a resort with limited resources”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2011

El Galleon saved my skin so a big thank you. I originally booked at Redsun Dive Resort which turned out to be what I can only describe at disgraceful..... I left 2 hours after checking in....enough said on Redsun.

We were offered a Family room which was of a decent size. The main thing was it was clean. We enjoyed 9 nights there and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The rate was reasonable and the food good. It is conveniently located next to Asia Divers so no hauling gear around. Asia Divers is a very professional and friendly dive centre. Would recommend as one of the best in Puerto Galera.

One word of warning. Sabang is not geared as a couples resort......very few evening options for entertainment. If you're a single guy then it's more suited for adult entertainment. Also a problem if you're with your girlfriend as everyone thinks all local women are working girls!!!! It became quite offensive to be honest. Wouldn't visit again with my partner........

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyYac1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2011

Started a tripadvisor profile just so I could commend this establishment.

Was in Manila for work and wanted to do some weekend diving without having to board a plane. Puerto Galera was highly recommended on a few dive sites.

The dives are very well organized - there's a lot of divers, but you are divided into small groups and the guys as Asia Divers not only help you lug your gear around, they even wash, dry and store it for you - wwwoooww, first class princess diving!

Non-divers can really enjoy too. My brother/ his girlfriend tagged along - they hung out at the bar/ pool with other people (mostly foreigners) chillaxin' and having a great time. And all 3 of us spent the day visiting the Tamaraw Waterfalls getting a tour of the island.

The chef has been there for almost 20 years and cooks up all kinds of international cuisine - we ended up never leaving the resort... and when we did to walk around, we saw the sewage spilling out of other resorts into the ocean. No bueno!

Great bang for your buck/ a quick weekend getaway from Manila, yet still have the warm, Pilipino hospitality which I love. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrishy_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed at El Galleon for three nights total. The first room was the budget room and it should have been renamed Mosquito Mansion since we kept on killing them but they kept on coming back! The budget rooms are very, very basic. No TV, sink had had only cold water, AC was loud, toilet didn't flush properly, that sort of thing.
Since we were fed up with the mosquitos, we upgraded to a Sea-Vew room for the next two nights and these were a world apart from the budget room. Flat screen TV, quiet AC, bathroom sink with hot water, no mosquitos...
The hotel itself is nice with a lot of character. It's a relaxing place with friendly staff. The hotel is on the Western part of Sabang. We arrived from Batangas and the boat drops you off in the middle of Sabang. The hotel is just a 10 minute walk to the west through windy streets. The locals are nice so if you get lost somehow, just ask anyone where El Galleon is and they'll point you in the right direction.
Oh, I think the hotel has free wifi though it may be slow.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josephua88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Alan the owner goes out of his way. Our family of four has three divers so a great place to stay. Staff are friendly down to earth and helpful.

We like the staff and place so much we have now booked for March as well as April.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ljjljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Stayed 10 nights at the El Galleon and dove with Asia Divers. El Galleon sits on a quiet stretch of beach. I stayed in a pool view room, which was very nice. Initially, I had a garden view room because my room wasn't ready. I was glad to have the poolside room, as it was roomier with a nice bathroom too. Asia Divers was wonderful! They are the only resort with a nice dock for the dive boats....no wading out to the boat. The dive dock has a hot shower, ample rinse tanks and racks. a wonderful roomy place with large plastic bins to stow your smaller gear. Very organized dive operation, offering 4 dives daily if you so desire.
The Point Bar is just above the dive shop-gets a wonderful breeze at night, and you can see Sabang Bay from the bar. Food at the resort good and varied.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoCalMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2010

I usually stay on White Beach when I go to Galera. The stay in Sabang (a 30-minute boat ride to White Beach) was refreshing when compared to White Beach, a lot quieter too. Great for place for hardcore divers.

The rooms were fine. I think we stayed in the most basic room. Very clean overall. Not too roomy but pretty cozy. If you're willing to shell out a bit more for a great beach view, there are rooms with that option. A bit of a walk up a few flight of stairs, but ít's worth the walk once you see the view from that side.

Free wi-fi down by the pool/at the bar. The resort is in a great location. Staff were helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LGR_1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

I could not believe the quality of the food and rooms for the money. If you happen to scuba dive El Galleon has t's own dive school called Asia Divers. I mention this because the hotel is in the middle of a fish reserve and the diving was the best I have ever done, by far. I heartily recommend El Galleon for a vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TerribleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
249 reviews
6 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#15 of 54 in Puerto Galera
138 reviews
2 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#23 of 54 in Puerto Galera
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 54 in Puerto Galera
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £38 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its serene and quaint beachfront surroundings fronting Small La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Asia Divers and El Galleon Beach Resort and have thirty air-conditioned rooms that blend into the tropical hillside. Majestic views of Sabang Bay and Small Lalaguna Beach, with a restaurant which extends to the water’s edge offering a great value in European and local cuisine, a small pool for learning how to dive, spa, and all the hotel amenities and necessities one needs to totally enjoy his/her stay. The dive facility is less than a year old and there is nothing like it in Asia! We have a diving platform with a large pontoon where boats can easily dock making it easy for guests to get on and off the boats. Divers have their own crate for storage in a spacious area, a dedicated camera room; you are well looked after by the crew who are there to help you with anything you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galleon Beach Hotel Puerto Galera
El Galleon Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing