We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, very quiet!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2012

When we arrived, the room that we were supposed to get was not available. I was worried since the person at the front desk said, "something out of their control". However, I was pleasently surprised by the room that they put us into. The room had a giant balcony on it with an outside kitchen and seating area. The staff was very friendly. I found the hotel to be in a very quiet location, away from the center of town, but just a 5 minute walk. The furniture in the room was rustic looking, yet relatively new. It added to the charm of the location. The balcony overlook had a great ocean view. I was expecting the restuarant in the hotel to be OK, but it was really the best place to eat. The food was great.
The only tip I would add is if you are traveling to Puerto Galera on your own, leave Manila early, by 1 pm. The last ferry is at 5 pm. You may hear it takes 2 hours to get to the port, but if you are riding on a commercial bus it can take a lot longer! Also, plan to leave early on the morning you check out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffstl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

My son and I recently stayed at El Galleon in mid June and had an awesome experience with both the hotel and Asia Divers. After diving at Planet Dive in the Anilao area (see review) for several days EG picked us up at PD for the one hour via mega bangka ($110). Our experience at EG hotel was great- very comfortable, excellent food and service (wifi in restaurant/bar only) and great location. But the reason to stay at EG is the excellent diving around the Puerto Galera area and the superb operation at Asia Divers. In fact it was the best dive operation I have ever experienced (and I believe the only operation with a boat dock in the area). I can't say enough about the concierge dive service, the organization of the program, and the professionalism from all involved. Diving highlights were the Alma Jane wreck, the night dive (night dives are always a highlight), and especially the trip to Verde Island. I would not miss a trip to Verde Island (pay a little extra to take the speed boat) which was an absolutely breath taking dive experience- worth the 30 hours it took to get there from U.S. Beautiful formations and lots of odd critters, but you almost had to push the fish out of the way sometimes there were so many. We didn't experience the fierce currents that some have reported in the area but we did get a small taste over the top of one wall. When our time at PG was sadly over they transferred us Bantanga City by bangka and private driver ($150 for both) to our hotel near Intramuros area in Manila where we were staying an extra day before our flight home. As a side note, the official national sport of the Philippines is cock fighting which is held every Sunday 1:00p in Puerto Galera. Sorry if anyone is offended but we decided to check it out and it was quite an experience. Ask any jeepney driver and they will take you to the stadium. Yes, they have a stadium fr the purpose. In Manila we had a great adventure exploring Chinatown and eating at Dong Bei Dumpling- where you can watch the ladies making dumplings in the corner of a three table room. Dont miss the chive dumplings and the soup dumplings. That night we ate at Seafood Market and Restaurant where you pick out all your own seafood and have prepared in your choice of style in wok by expert chefs- delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xldfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Hi Alli,
Firstly the Charlestown Dive group want to take this opportunity to thank you and your staff for a very memorable stay at El Galleon. We heard about you through a Dives Adventures pamphlet at our dive shop. Five of us (Margaret, Lin, Malcolm, Dale and myself) embraced the idea of travelling to the Philippines and escaping the winter chill of Newcastle (2hrs north of Sydney). The first leg of our journey was spent at Malapascua Island just off Cebu. We went in search of the elusive Thresher Shark. Visibility wasn’t the best but we were fortunate to capture this majestic and graceful creature in motion. We visited several other dive sites during our stay which were enjoyable but didn’t prepare us for our stay at El Galleon Dive Resort.
After an hour and a quarter flight from Cebu we were greeted at Manila airport by a representative from Asia Divers and transferred to our taxi taking us south to the boat (or bankha) for the last leg of our journey to Puerto Galera. The journey through Manila was an experience none of us will forget. (Dis)organised chaos comes to mind. There is definitely a market for car horns here. The trip across the bay to Puerto Galera took about an hour, and was somewhat choppy and in darkness.
Upon arrival we were greeted on the resorts private pier by an enthusiastic and cheerful Alli (the Resorts Manager). No sooner had we put our feet on the jetty, the resort porters sprang into action retrieving our luggage from the boat as Alli and ourselves retired to the restaurant for a refreshing iced tea and a rundown on the resort’s facilities. Our rooms were more than adequate with air conditioning, tv, washroom and comfortable beds. The package we had chosen was 4 nights, 6 dives including free breakfast (buffet style). We all wish it was longer.
The resort offered 4 dives per day, dependent on weather and conditions. Arriving at the dive gear storage shed on the first morning we were greeted by porters who virtually did everything for us but dive. Our equipment was set up and, after inspection, transported onto the boat. All we had to do was carry our computers and cameras. At the end of every dive we removed our gear in the water and it was retrieved for us. A lovely warm facecloth followed (fantastic service). Needless to say we all exceeded our 6 dive allowance. The dive sites were so diverse and full of interesting marine life with visibility around the 15-20 mtrs. Dive sites were only 5-15 minutes away, with the exception of Verde Island (a must if you stay at El Galleon). At the end of the day our gear was carefully and securely stored away ready for the next day’s adventure.
As well as a resort dive shop, an excellent restaurant serves cuisine to suit all tastes including specials of the day. There is also the small village of Sebang should you wish to venture out after a great days diving. Overall, we had a fantastic time and can’t speak highly enough of the service and individual attention at El Galleon. Once again Margaret, Lin, Malcolm, Dale and myself thank you and your staff for a most enjoyable stay and look forward to returning as well as spreading the word amongst the diving community in Australia.
Regards
Gordon

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Outstanding property. Great staff. Possibly the best food in Puerto Galera. They have a great transfer service from Manila right to the hotels private dock in PG. Even if you don't dive this is a great hotel to just come to and relax.

If you are diving you cannot ask for a better group of instructors and dive masters. I live in Thailand and dive all over, but still prefer to do my "fun" dives with Asia Divers and El Galeon. In three years of coming here, I have never had a bad dive or a bad experience with the hotel.

The only "complaint" would be there is no wifi in the rooms - there is good free wifi at both bars and the restaurant though!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Have to agree with all that has been posted about this place, such a great spot for diving and everything just flowed so easily. We were picked up on arrival (Clark) and driven to Batangas where a boat was waiting for us, Upon arrival it was time to check out some food which was great everytime we ate at the restaurant. We kept meaning to check out other places during our week here but with great food on your doorstop it was hard to tear ourselves away!
The dive masters were great, a special thanks to Josh, Pete and Jamie who took us out over our week and pointed out all the weird and wonderful creatures. They couldn't have been more helpful and really knew their stuff. The guys at the jetty and on the boat were also great and helped with all the gear, we really had no choice but to relax and take it easy!
I would highly recommend this place! As others have said the beaches aren't great but that didn't matter for us as we were diving everyday. All in all, a top holiday, thanks!! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou-Schmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Of all the resorts, hotels and b & b's in Puerto Galera (and there are many!) I reckon you'd be hard put to find a better all-round place to stay than this.
El Galeon has been around for a while so it's very well known to dedicated divers from all over the world. But, you don't have to be a dedicated diver to enjoy it.
Let's start with the location:
It's close enough to Sabang and its "lively" nightlife yet far enough away to make it a great family location. The pool is quite small and the beach nothing to write home about but El Galeon makes up for this in other ways. Less than 30 minutes away by private banka there are busy white sand beaches like White Beach or a few minutes more will take you to virtually deserted beaches.
And El Galeon boasts the legendary "Point Bar". Overlooking two beaches it has been rated one of the world's most iconic bars (or so I'm told). Check out the sprung bamboo floor and the real waterfall behind the bar. It hosts great seasonal parties and they often extend onto the large new dock that also houses the Asia Divers Center. This dock, by the way, means El Galeon has the easiest embarkation and disembarkation process for tourists and divers - bar none!
The rooms are basic but very clean, air-conditioned, have cable TV and a nice local ambiance. The restaurant starts at the bar in the center of the resort and then spreads out right to the water's edge. There's probably not a nicer place on earth to have breakfast on a sunny morning with a cooling breeze off the sea - not at El Galeon prices anyway.
And here's another thing that makes EG unique - it has Antoine - it's very own French Chef. He's been in the Philippines for 16 years and knows how to put good, inexpensive food together using the best local ingredients. Plus, he has his own pizza oven and the menu caters to every taste - local and foreign. The staff are friendly and effcient as you would expect from an establishement that is Australian owned and managed. (Thanks Alan, Antoine and Anie for making our stay so great!)
We reckon this must be the best value in Puerto Galera.

Room Tip: Unless you're fit, avoid the rooms too far up the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoshuaMMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Having experienced and visited many dive resorts in Asia over the past 20 years; I have to admit that Asia Divers in Puerto Galera is one of the best! The set up is obviously deeply thought out and well planned. Considering we were a large group, everything ran smoothly, on time and with very little effort on our part. The staff, across the board, were friendly, helpful and professional. Of course, no dive resort is complete without the ‘after dive’ bar and this one certainly hit the spot with cocktail happy hour, beautiful views and interesting conversation. A wonderful experience for our whole family; great food, accommodation and best of all awesome people!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jana-Dawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octopus_55_56, Guest Relations Manager at El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank you Jana for your kind words. We appreciate the feedback. Hope to see you all here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
251 reviews
6 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#21 of 54 in Puerto Galera
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#15 of 54 in Puerto Galera
138 reviews
2 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#23 of 54 in Puerto Galera
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 54 in Puerto Galera
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its serene and quaint beachfront surroundings fronting Small La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Asia Divers and El Galleon Beach Resort and have thirty air-conditioned rooms that blend into the tropical hillside. Majestic views of Sabang Bay and Small Lalaguna Beach, with a restaurant which extends to the water’s edge offering a great value in European and local cuisine, a small pool for learning how to dive, spa, and all the hotel amenities and necessities one needs to totally enjoy his/her stay. The dive facility is less than a year old and there is nothing like it in Asia! We have a diving platform with a large pontoon where boats can easily dock making it easy for guests to get on and off the boats. Divers have their own crate for storage in a spacious area, a dedicated camera room; you are well looked after by the crew who are there to help you with anything you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galleon Beach Resort And Hotel
El Galleon Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing