We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Dive Operation with Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2013

To get a five start review a place should be exceptional, and this place is not quite that, but it is really, really good. The pool view room was small. Only room for one bedside table, and a room table would have been useful to drop stuff on. (We used the top of the fridge) The wardrobe was large with lots of hangers. The bathroom was big and well lit. The towels were very good, and water pressure, while not exceptional, was fine. All in all, the room covered all the bases.

The resaurant was large and OK, the best thing was the Friday curry night. But there are loads of restaurants aloong the front and in the town, and it is good to go out and try different ones. Get input from other guests. Everybody compares ther experiences.

There is a small but OK pool, but only four loungers. There is room for another four.

The diving operation is very good. Jamie was a wonderful dive guide. My wife and I completed 500 logged dives while we were there and the dive centre (Asia Divers) gave us a celebratory tee-shirt and a round of applause from everyone in the Point Bar on our final night. Lovely people. We had a really enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casterbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

Great Friday Night Buffet -- "Curries Night". Tasted different Indian Curries. Great atmosphere and very quite compare to the pier side of Sabang Beach.Desert is also nice. Special set meal is worth trying as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank laoyangtou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This was my second visit to the dive resort.The first one was back in October 2012. It was good then and it is good now. The dive operation was as good as ever. The staff was friendly and helpful. They set up all your gear and offer you a hot towel after your dive. I had Jamie as a private dive guide. If you are serious about macro photography, it is worth the extra money to have a private guide who will show you all the good stuff. Jamie did a great job. You get to spend as much time as you need to take your photos and not be rushed by a group. The weather was perfect and the water was warm and visibility good.

The food at the hotel was excellent. I had the pancit and fish soup most of the time. The Indian dish I had (chicken curry) was disappointing. It tasted like chicken with lots of pepper and no curry. The hotel management was put to the test when a group of some 17 guests arrived from an European eastern bloc country where vodka is the national drink. Some of them had too much fire water one night and became extremely rowdy and kept everyone near the pool up all night. Many unhappy guests complained to the hotel the next morning. Management promptly got hold of the leader of the group and read him the Riot Act and things simmered down the following evenings.Management did exactly what it was supposed to do and would not tolerant any nonsense from the rowdy bunch.

Room Tip: There isn't $20 's worth of difference between the budget room and the economy room. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Be forewarned the rooms with a sea view are several floors up and the walk can be tiring after several daily dives. Rooms are comfortable with cold A/C, hot showers and intermittent WIFI access. Lobby always has access. Spa offers nail care and massages or the front desk can order a massage in your A/D room for $17.50 an hour. Allen, the owner is always there and is more than happy to accommodate. Spent a wonderful 10 days diving there!

Room Tip: Probably would choose a poolside room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fiftystatesevenconts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I have been staying at El Galleon on and off since 2002 and I still love it. I have been here for diving 6 times now. The diving is great, but I always feel like meeting family again when I am here. The Point Bar is conveniently located right at the foot of the dock and the restaurant serves up gourmet dishes!
If you are a diver, Asia Divers is part of El Galleon and they are very experienced and very cool people, you'll love it!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the seaview rooms, the sight os crystal clear water and water bug-like banca boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japanmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the luxury section of El Galleon resort - in studio of Waimea. At first we were surprised that we had to go quite far away from El Galleon reception (through other resorts and uphill) to reach Waimea. But the result was excellent - it is a secluded heaven of 4 beutiful cottages each of which consist of a studio on ground floor and a two-level penthouse (you can also rent a whole house if you wish). From outside the cottages are very upscale, but the interior is quite simple. Yet it has all you need for tropical vacation - air conditionaing, double bed, shower and even a small kitchen. The garden and two level swimming pool is gorgeous - especially when it gets dark and you can gaze to stars lying in the pool. Breakfast also was very nice. El Galleon can arrange private transfers and their service is very friendly and efficient. We did not try El Galleon cottages but I believe that they also are very nice - choose the ones with sea view - they really are first line beach!

Room Tip: Waimea studios do not really have sea view - only garden and pool view. You only have sea view from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinetaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I am continually blown away by the amazing service and great food at El Galleon. The diving was amazing and the dive team professional, thoughtful and fantastically friendly. We went over Easter weekend which I thought would be really hectic, but in fact everyone made us feel very special - as always. This time we stayed at their annex which is a lovely private villa area. I guess I prefer staying in the main resort, but to be honest I don't mind where I stay with these guys as long as I get the chance to head down to El Galleon again this year - great job guys!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.1 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
175 reviews
2.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
251 reviews
6 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#21 of 54 in Puerto Galera
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#15 of 54 in Puerto Galera
138 reviews
2 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#23 of 54 in Puerto Galera
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 54 in Puerto Galera
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: Small Lalaguna, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £38 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its serene and quaint beachfront surroundings fronting Small La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Asia Divers and El Galleon Beach Resort and have thirty air-conditioned rooms that blend into the tropical hillside. Majestic views of Sabang Bay and Small Lalaguna Beach, with a restaurant which extends to the water’s edge offering a great value in European and local cuisine, a small pool for learning how to dive, spa, and all the hotel amenities and necessities one needs to totally enjoy his/her stay. The dive facility is less than a year old and there is nothing like it in Asia! We have a diving platform with a large pontoon where boats can easily dock making it easy for guests to get on and off the boats. Divers have their own crate for storage in a spacious area, a dedicated camera room; you are well looked after by the crew who are there to help you with anything you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galleon Beach Hotel Puerto Galera
El Galleon Beach Resort And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing