We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five days in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Out of the Blue Resort
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Five days in paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

As a repeat visitor, I feel very relaxed at Out of the Blue. Staff are professional and friendly, location is ideal on the quieter Small Lalaguna Beach with Action Divers right next door.
Villa 4 is very spacious for two people with a panoramic view from the lounge and very private views from the bedroom. The kitchen has a large fridge and full size gas cooktop and everything you need. There is a small pool with sundeck just outside the Villa and a large pool down near the beach. Breakfast is freshly cooked to order with a selection of fresh fruits as well. Real coffee is always a welcome start. Dinner at Out of the Blue's Verandah Restaurant has the best views around with western and local dishes. I particularly enjoy their fish sinigang which is served in a heated ceramic tureen.
Sabang is not a typical isolated resort found on so many islands. It is a jumbled mixture of small stores interspered by both fancy and simple restaurants, bars, hotels and dive shops.
There is only one very bumpy road leading from Puerto Galera to Sabang and from there the only transport is by foot or by boat. this is what gives this place its charm. The total lack of vehicles, narrow laneways and rural village life adjacent to the beachside holiday strip. It is worthwhile to take a walk through the hills behind Sabang to see how locals live in tradtional villages.
Combining a stay in Out of the Blue with scuba diving with Action Divers could not be easier. Walk down the steps to the shop next door and your gear will be ready for you there. The traditional banca style dive boat will leave from there and in five minutes you can be diving in the most fascinating sites you can imagine. An hour later you are back poolside at Out of the Blue resting for your next dive.
Everything is spotlessly clean, and well maintained. A nice touch is the free laundry service which is great for people like me who travel light. You don't need more than shorts and a singlet or t-shirt in this resort, but it is nice to have have them fresh.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    48
    5
    0
    4
See reviews for
82
109
30
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

I arrived Manila on exactly the day the suppose to be strongest typhoon in past 30 years hit Philippines. I was on my way to Batangus to take the boat over to Puerto Galera, but all boats stop service. I called up OOTB, they are actually very kind to offer me a refund if I really cannot arrive and cancel my booking. That give me a very good impression as they could have just took my deposit even if I did not make it.

I had a choice to be stuck in Batangus or continue to go to PG with the locals through Calapan, which the last ferry available will be leaving soon. I decided to go through Calapan with the others as they told me, sometimes there will be no boats going to Sabang for 3 days when typhoon hits.

So, it took me extra 5 hours to get to Sabang and it is not a easy jounery. It's very tiring and bumpy and lots of people pushing and jostling. I get to OOTB and settled down. It's a good size room with Jacuzzi and Cable TV. At least I can soak in the bath and watch TV even though I cannot go diving. The Verenda restaurant is one of the best in Sabang and I enjoy the food so much. It' also reasonably priced. Lovely view and atmosphere.

OOTB still give me the diving package discount for the room and allow me to only pay per dive (instead of the compulsory 6 dives). On day 3, I did try 2 dives, but the visibility was poor and I gave up.

Action Divers is the partner and Hugh is the instructor and also act as the dive guide. So, I feel pretty safe.

The only thing I don't like is really Sabang, the area. It's is poorly planned where there isn;t even a proper road for people to walk. The alley way are very seedy and because of the rain, everywhere is mud and pot hole filled with water. very disgusting.

I guess when the sun is out and everywhere is dry, I might have a different impression.

Room Tip: The Jacuzzi Suit are really good. JS 3 & 4 are on second floor and you have the view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uffizi930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOTB-JB, Owner at Out of the Blue Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Hi Uffiz

Thank you for your positive comments. Its always nice to hear we are doing well, but ii is especially nice to hear this from such a well traveled person as yourself. And thank you very much for the effort you made to get to Out of the Blue in such wet weather. We are always flexible re deposits and pre-packaged deals in these circumstances. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

Spacious villa, unique decoration, good service. We lived in 3 bedroom villa, very good view, we love the living room so much, it is good for a big family or with friends. But Sabang beach is not so clean. And think about the location, it is a bit pricey.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taguig City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

September 2013 was my first trip to Out Of The Blue but it won't be my last.
Objective of the trip was to just get away from Manila for a weekend so I wasn't really too fussed about whether it was to a "good" resort or a "great" resort. It's the latter.
After the trip down to Batangas and then onto a boat to Sabang, was great to see a porter holding a sign waiting for me.
At the resort :
- Super-easy check-in at reception. Big smiles and no confusion or stress.
- Close enough to the "town" etc to make access easy but far enough away to also provide a feeling of solitude
- VERY clean rooms, no maintenance "misses" to be seen.
- Efficient and friendly staff at all times
- Great food in the restaurant whether it be pizza (half seafood and half Verandah Special is excellent!) or something more classy. Prices are fine, no problem.
- Room was perfect. Great bed, aircon, and amenities etc. Cannot complain.

Will be going back. 100%.

Room Tip: I had a poolside villa with jacuzzi and it was huge and had easy access to the pool and also up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Out of the Blue is probably the nicest resort in the Sabang / Lalaguna area of Puerto Galera. Australian owned and managed, it offers very good food and service. The resort is clean, modern and well maintained. It's 12 rooms give it a boutique feel without the crowds and contention for resources of a large resort. We were usually able to enjoy the pool all to ourselves.

Rooms:
Very clean with all the usual appointments. Sleep quality is good as the beds have memory-foam overlays which are very comfortable.

Food:
An excellent menu, balanced with Australian touches. The restaurant is large and uncrowded and has a great view of the bay from every table.

Facilities:
There are two pools. The resort doesn't have 24 hour room service, a fiteness center or spa (but in-room massage is available) but most other appointments and services are of 5 star standard. Having said that, it is a casual beach resort, popular with scuba divers. Action Divers is right next door.

The wifi is little slow at times but it's free as is breakfast and 2 x 500ml bottles of water each day. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite with a large jacuzzi off a private terrace.

Out of the Blue is situated right on the beach and very room has a view of either pool or the bay and the higher villas have spectacular panoramic views.

Highly recommended for those seeking an upmarket experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanChallers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at out of the blue in August of 2013. I corresponded with the hotel staff regarding my booking via email and telephone. All of the booking arrangements were handled professionally and smoothly.

I arrived by boat via Batangas Pier. The hotel had a shuttle boat and driver waiting for me to take me to the hotel. The hotel is located on Small Laguna beach, which is a short walk away from Sabang.

I stayed in a standard room, which was great. The room had a safe, ac, a range top, sink and toaster - so you could do some cooking if you are up to it. The room size was adequate for my needs. An added bonus there is that they do your personal laundry for no charge. The room looked out onto a small pool and deck area that was quite nice.

I also stayed in a Jacuzi Suite. Fantastic. Great value for the money - ocean view. If you have the money to spoil yourself a bit, this is a great option.

The resturant was quite good too. I ate there a few nights.

I had a great stay at Out of the Blue, and would recomend this hotel to anyone who would like a mid to upscale hotel in the area.

Also, Sarah handled most of my booking details, transportation back etc. She did a fantastic job. I don't know if she is still working there, but if she is - she has exellent english skills and is very professional and easy to work with.

Room Tip: During high tide, you might get wet feet! Flip flops are a good choice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmotorist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Great to be back here again, weather is perfect so getting lots of pool time. Great pool, nice to have my breakfast pool side while soaking in a few extra rays. BreaSaying in villa 4 which is a one bedroom with massive living area. Aircon thru the whole place which I really need as I am not used to the heat and love walking back into a cool place. Big kitchen so lots of cooking was happening with a full sized fridge. Great views views which is nice to wake up to. Love to see upgrades when returning, that shows me they are improving the place. New King size bed, just like home. Staff all very kind and helpful. The layout is secluded even though you are only feet from the beach. Place is very secure with round the clock security guards. Would feel comfortable with kids running around.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSHIE14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#10 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of the Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of the Blue Resort

Property: Out of the Blue Resort
Address: Small La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Out of the Blue Luxury Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Galera
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out of the Blue Resort overlooks Verde Strait, lovely Small La Laguna beach and the popular dive shops and other resorts lining the shore. The striking villas and suites, with their stunning views and soothing sea breezes, provide the perfect environment for a family vacation, romantic getaway or those seeking something out of the ordinary. After a day's diving or exploring by boat, relax in The Verandah - our great bar and restaurant. Alternatively, sip cocktails on your own spacious terrace or just relax poolside at either of our 2 swimming pools. Choose from 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedroom apartments or a private jacuzzi suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Out of the Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of The Blue Private Villas Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing