We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar hotel ocean view and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Out of the Blue Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2014

After 3 decades I came back to Puerta Galera, they just had cottages then. I was blown away coming back especially at this hotel, uphill hike to the hotel room was a good workout, amazing room with ocean view verandas that open up to ocean breeze for the living & sleeping area. Pool at the bottom & pool at the top. Service was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taritz24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Very nice,clean and friendly staffs,From the van to the boat and during our stay here.I had a very comfortable holiday with my hubby and his mum.
A month holiday is not enough,and hope i will be back again and stay here in the future...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wengster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We planned to spend a month in Puerto Galera which I gather is longer than most people plan to and picked this resort based on other Tripadvisor reviews. We were very happy with the holiday and in particular with our choice of accommodation. I booked online and although I messed up the booking dates (twice) they were very accommodating and no trouble at all to deal with. We decided on the private van/boat transfer option and I can highly recommend this as it sets the tone for the rest of your stay. The pick up was on time the driver was courteous and his van modern and clean. The boat was waiting for us when we arrived and our luggage was loaded by the boatmen. When we arrived on the beach we were met by the resort staff with a welcome drink and the boatmen carried the luggage to our room. Perfect.

During the stay we had extra family arrive so we got to sample 3 different rooms. The Poolside Jacuzzi Suite, the 1 bedroom villa (Villa4) and the 2 bedroom villa (Villa 2). The rooms were all clean, serviced daily and had good water pressure and very good air conditioning. Villa 2 and 4 both open to the ocean and have great views and balconies with the views from villa 2 being particularly stunning but of course it has the most stairs. Be warned that the free internet is very slow but having said that we didn't find it any better anywhere else in Puerto Galera either.

All the staff from the front desk to the maintenance guys were friendly, smiling and very obliging with nothing being too much trouble. We booked some day trips, massages etc through the front desk as well as followed their recommendations for dive schools etc and were always very satisfied the services we received. The food in the restaurant was as good as anywhere on the island and check out and boat pick up on departure all went without a hitch.

A month is a long time in a small resort but we were always made to feel welcome and in the end the time still felt short. The view from the room was good enough that some days we never left the balcony and there were special meals, BBQs etc over the Christmas & New Year period that made the experience special. Thanks very much to the staff and management who helped make it such a memorable trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank WJohnston65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

If you've read the other reviews you'll get the picture, I'm just adding to the accolades. OOB is without doubt the premier hotel in Puerto Galera, quite some way above the rest. I wanted somewhere special for my wife as she'd had a tough few months at work, just needed to have everything to hand, no hassles, no complaints and a relaxing atmosphere. We got all that and more for five nights over New Year, and I had a very long face when I had to leave.

We stayed up by the top pool for two nights as villa 5 was the only one available then. Cheapest room in the house but actually I'd recommend it. Though the hotel was full we had the upper pool to ourselves, and stunning views over the bay. The room is more than comfortable with a little kitchen and a massive shower! We then moved to one of the suites with a spa bath, very spoilled we felt too. This looks over the main pool, you could almost dive into the pool from our balcony, though I'd not recommend this. But sitting having a sundowner on our terrace, looking at the beautiful blue pool, the palm trees and the waterfall into the baby pool was amazing. Sabang and the two La Laguna beaches can get a bit hectic with all the folks rushing around diving etc but as OOB is set back a bit and well protected you'd hardly know - hustle and bustle doesn't happen here.

The staff were exemplary from the first enquiry with the ever helpful and courteous Trish, to the reception, bar and housekeeping staff. Everyone smiled and asked if we needed anything, without being overbearing. It has a nice family run hotel type vibe, the whole staff seem to pull together.

They're on good terms with Action Divers too, where I did my diving, and it's just at the bottom of the steps, so I could sit by the pool, head downstairs and 15 minutes later be dropping onto the reef. As I didn't take enough cash I even got them to put the diving on my bill at OOB.

If you're a couple, or a family taking one of the bigger suites I can't recommend this place enough. A slice of relaxation heaven indeed. I'll be back.

Room Tip: The rooms up by the top pool are good, don't think because you're not near the main pool you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rovingscot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We studied and studied and studied where to stay here in pg.... We wanted ocean views, a nice room and air conditioning.. Plus pools....

Our room is around 90sqm... Huge one bedroom with dining area, lounge room and living roo area which looks over a balcony... I have one pool literally out of my front door which few people use, because there is a new and large pool on ground level...

But here is the winner for me.... Solid brick walls... None of the typical noise issues and due to the configuration of the rooms and the plants ... You feel like you are in a house ... Which isn't surprising because it use to be a holiday house which has simply been expanded on and done to a level I would expect in noosa (Queensland Australia). So well done, we will be back and will be recommending out of the blue to anyone looking for a relaxing quality hotel with friendly staff and owners.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

this is really a wonderfull resort boutique hotel with luxe villas never seen before in Mindoro
located on the beach of small Laguna steps away from the beach, its romantic here
no car no scooter only the sound of the sea and the bancas,
arrived so easy with privat transport from Manile just on the entry of of resort, easy checkin
and wow the villa rooms are a dream so clean and well equiped with a lot of towels and
rif and soap etc... SUPER
The veranda restaurant upstairs a small walk with easy steps verry easy the restaurant
offer a wide choise of food well cooked and perfect served by the staff
excellent wine choises and the vieuw is amazing from the veranda terras

Here i will come back asap

Room Tip: the rooftop appartments are the best a lot of space and light and so romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mindanaoSchilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I went to this hotel both in November and December taking different friends and family there for a diving trip. I am thoroughly pleased with the resort. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, view gorgeous and service excellent. I took both times the private boat / car option which although a little pricey was definitely a very convenient option. Just beware that the car part actually takes 3-4hr, not the advertised 2-2.5 hr depending on traffic. Manila traffic is horrific. The return boat ride is a little too choppy for my 8mth old nephew.

Overall, I think the service is so excellent that I would recommend anyone going to PG, especially if you aren't on a tight budget. I even had my own room on both trips! My diving school stayed at lalaguna dive resort but I didn't want to stay in a dorm like setting - I am told most hard core divers do that. But if you are like me, you want to just pay a little more and get some quality sleep and be ready for your morning dive!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
174 reviews
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#2 of 54 in Puerto Galera
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 54 in Puerto Galera
317 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#7 of 54 in Puerto Galera
178 reviews
2 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#23 of 54 in Puerto Galera
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of the Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of the Blue Resort

Address: Small La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Out of the Blue Luxury Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Galera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £80 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Out of the Blue Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out of the Blue Resort overlooks Verde Strait, lovely Small La Laguna beach and the popular dive shops and other resorts lining the shore. The striking villas and suites, with their stunning views and soothing sea breezes, provide the perfect environment for a family vacation, romantic getaway or those seeking something out of the ordinary. After a day's diving or exploring by boat, relax in The Verandah - our great bar and restaurant. Alternatively, sip cocktails on your own spacious terrace or just relax poolside at either of our 2 swimming pools. Choose from 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedroom apartments or a private jacuzzi suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Out of the Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of The Blue Private Villas Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing