We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mediterranean on Mindoro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Out of the Blue Resort
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I've stayed on a few Greek Islands and arriving at Out of the Blue is a bit like arriving at Mykonos. No donkeys though. The way the villas stretch up the side of the hill is bit daunting at first but the views are worth it. Great restaurant too - I couldn't believe the steaks and not your usual cheap plonk to go with them. Another surprise - the nightlife in Sabang. Just a stroll away (and a stagger back!!). Patong and Chaweng and Pattaya - eat your hearts out. Overall, not at all what I expected.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Merlyn011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2010

We are frequently going South for the weekend and the Out of the Blue Resort became one of our favorite places. It is easy to reach, nicely done and comfortable, good food and excellent service, whether in-house or for a boat trip. Very nice place!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chipolata99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Despite what the date on this review says, we stayed here in June 2008.

After having a God awful time in the Portofino Beach Resort, we actively sought different accommodation in resort and stumbled upon "Out Of The Blue Villas" by complete accident. The long concrete path (and many steps) is located right next to Action Divers (right hand side as you look at it) and in June 2008 it was advertised by a really tatty illuminated sign that puts you off. However if you walk along the concrete path (and up the many steps), you will find Geckos and heaven.

We moved in here frazzled, bitten and unhappy and left ten days later on a fog of bliss. If this Villa it was closer to the UK (about five hours flying) and the diving was more my thing then I'd certainly book in here in a heartbeat. However I'm not a fan of 'muck diving' and that's what primarily brought us to PG.

I'd agree with all the comments made about this is the only place to stay in PG etc. We had a one bedroomed apartment, with a large kitchen, lounge diner that could sleep more people if needed. I loved the way the wall to ceiling windows could be fully opened and we'd often sit there and soak up the view in the evening. It also offered brilliant seats to watch nature's amazing and dramatic lightening shows at night.

The place was spotless and from memory well equipped. We made friends with a local fruit lady, who'd plod up the steps and we bought delicately flavoured fresh juicy lychees and bananas (for flambéing) from her on a daily basis.

If we didn't fancy making breakfast, then we'd toddle down the concrete path, past Action Divers and up a couple of steps to Blue Moon. They did great Toast, Jam and cups of tea and such an amazingly clean toilet you could have eaten your toast and jam in there.

Back to Out Of The Blue Villas and the pool was peaceful and again had amazing views.

I have many happy memories of this place. Something to be treasured.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Le_Scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOTB-JB, Owner at Out of the Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

HI Le_Scribe. Thank you very much for you kind comments. You will be pleased to know our beach sign has been replaced. The one you saw was the aftermath of a very nasty tropical storm!
Also, we have come a long way since your visit with the addition of 4 Private Spa Villas and a great restaurant and bar called the Verandah, which is receiving great reviews. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

Spent 10 days at Out of the Blue in room S3. Lovely double room with spa bath on separate patio. Immaculate room with everything you could need. Staff were very attentive and treated you like royalty.
After eating out at various places such as Capt'n Greggs and laguna Beach, the top place to eat was the Verandah at out of the blue. The food was superb, well presented and as you would find in any top london restaurant. On my birthday, they made me a cake and sang happy birthday. We don't usully go back to the same place twice but if we were to visit this area again, we would book.
Only negative point was the room information on the mini bar stating all the contents were complimentary and once they were used, tey would re-stock and charge. What they actually mean is the first 2 bottles of water are comlimentary.
The staff are commendable, Ems and Beth in the restaurant in particualr. They very quickly learnt how many cups of coffee we usually had and always had a smile.
The filipinos were very friendly and work very hard to make your stay a pleasurable one, we felt they all deserved a good "tip", it is a shame that some guests do nothing but complain and then either "tip" them in giving them 3 bottles of beer from the room fridge (£1.80) or state that they didn't go on holiday with enough money to pay for tips (on the way to the duty free shop) - all I can say is - shame on you.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilidhmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OOTB-JB, Owner at Out of the Blue Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2010

Hi Chamberpots.
Thank you for your nice comments. It was great having you here. A real pleasure. And we have already fixed the room notice re bar drinks so other guests will not be confused too. We appreciate constructive feed-back, just as much as compliments, as it all helps to ensure we just keep getting better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

i love this place!!! great rooms.. very clean and cozy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamstarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

When me and my Canadian husband reached the place, we were surprised by its cleanliness and beauty plus the service of the staff is so warm and they would do everything to please you. I intend to go back there with my family and friends too someday.

Their rates are reasonable if you consider that they provide all things that makes vacations perfect.

We're so pleased! Btw, thank you Bing!

Mr and Mrs Allingham

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

My Husband and I stayed at Out Of the Blue during our Christmas Holiday for a week. The hotel was immaculate and defiantly the most beautiful place to stay on the beach. The crisp, Spanish style decor was new and so clean, especially compared to some of the overly themed or aged hotels surrounding it. We were upgraded the first night due to an incident they'd had with another guest, but our room was one of the new additions and they hadn't solved the mosquito problem. However, the staff was quick to address our complaints and offered to relocate us, but the room was so beautiful we didn't want to take the downgrade. This was the worst part of our trip, but all of the positive things well outweighed this aspect. The restaurant was still being sort of tested while we were there and not open to the public and we had this pearl all to ourselves. The food was OUTSTANDING. So delicious and reasonably priced. We also dined there for New Year's with the owner and his family and friends although it had been advertised as open to all hotel guests. He was so welcoming and made us feel not at all out of place, took the time to know our names (which wasn't too hard, the hotel wasn't that full) and treated us like family. He seemed to be very networked with the other business owners in the area and we had such a nice time with them. During our stay, we got our Open Water Dive certificates with Action Divers, located straight in front of the Villas (the villas are built up into a hillside with beautiful views and breezes and Action Divers is right on the water's edge). Both businesses worked together to help arrange our pickup and travel from the airport, delivering our dive manuals to us and making sure everything was squared away. I highly recommend both of them.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ashleynatasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
166 reviews
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
234 reviews
4.5 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#7 of 54 in Puerto Galera
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#2 of 54 in Puerto Galera
230 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 54 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
2 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#27 of 54 in Puerto Galera
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Out of the Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Out of the Blue Resort

Address: Small La Laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines (Formerly Out of the Blue Luxury Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Galera
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £73 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Out of the Blue Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Out of the Blue Resort overlooks Verde Strait, lovely Small La Laguna beach and the popular dive shops and other resorts lining the shore. The striking villas and suites, with their stunning views and soothing sea breezes, provide the perfect environment for a family vacation, romantic getaway or those seeking something out of the ordinary. After a day's diving or exploring by boat, relax in The Verandah - our great bar and restaurant. Alternatively, sip cocktails on your own spacious terrace or just relax poolside at either of our 2 swimming pools. Choose from 1, 2, 3 or 4 bedroom apartments or a private jacuzzi suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Out of the Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Out Of The Blue Private Villas Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing