We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sabang Oasis Resort
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stay here all the time when I'm in Sabang, and I just got back to Manila after spending a weekend there.

Room:
As always, the room was clean. Ref, TV, hot water all worked, they've added a couch though but knowing I was in Sabang I didn't want to use it without a blanket over the upholstery.
The room cleaning was better this time around, as the housekeeper offered to change my towels and did a good job of cleaning and making up the room.
Check in was standard Sabang Oasis, where you have to go up to the third floor, turn left at the landing and then go up the steps to where the owner lives and then check in. Room assignments are better organised as check ins were listed by date and name on a white board.

How to get there: Just ask one of the boat crew to take you there and give them a tip, it's only a 5 minute walk from the pier anyway, and it will save you the headache and frustration. They're pretty friendly and if you're a female traveller like myself, they're happy to help.

Food: go for the local food, the western food I've had in Sabang doesn't really taste right for me. I normally go to the restaurant owned by a really nice Filipino woman that's just up the little side street right after the entrance to Hammerhead. For breakfast, I order my latte and croissant from The Rocks Cafe which is just in front of the side street going to the restaurant I just mentioned, their croissants are really good and buttery with just the right crispness.
At the restaurant (which I keep forgetting the name of) I usually order the Lomi after a long day of diving, the fat noodles in the super hot thick soup hits home and chases the cold away. It's cheap and filling too at 55 pesos for a big bowl. If I want something spicy with rice, I go for their curry. You can have it either as hot or as mild as you want it :)

THE UPDATE: Right now, there's construction going on behind the building, so be aware that there will be construction noises (power saws, hammering, masonry work) starting from around 7pm until the sun sets. Since the buildings are pretty close together, you WILL hear the noise despite having the aircon on and windows closed. Also, the women living in front of the hotel tend to get really chatty at night, so you'll also hear them. If you're the type who can sleep through anything then it will be fine, but if you're like me, you'll probably end up grumpy in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DeepSeaAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SabangOasis, Owner at Sabang Oasis Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

WE must apologise for the current construction noise on site. Our neighbour has assured us that the alterations will be completed this week...weather permitting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed at the Sabang Oasis Resort with a friend for a couple of nights. We asked for a room w/ 2 beds, but they didn't have any, but they were able to provide an extra mattress to place on the floor for 200P/night. While I have no major complaints about the place, it didn't really stand out as an enjoyable place to stay. It was simply a clean and inexpensive place to sleep. Here are the good things about the place:
* The bed that came with the room had a real mattress, not the foam mattress that is common at lower-end Philippine hotels.
* The room had air conditioning.
* The hotel was located far enough away from the night clubs that we could sleep soundly.
* The hotel complex itself was reasonably well taken care off and looked nice overall.

These were the drawbacks:
* The swimming pool on the roof was not functioning- there was no water in it.
* The shower room was a bit dingy and there was no shower curtain so the entire bathroom floor got wet.
* No shampoo was provided- had to go out and buy my own.
* The mini-fridge door wouldn't shut tightly and hung open, so the drinks were not too cold.
* The hotel was difficult to find and we had to ask to be shown where it is. You have to walk through a few narrow alleyways to get it. It was not problem for me, but I wouldn't think that a single woman would want to walk to the hotel in the dark at night.

So in sum, the place was pretty plain but it was adequate. The price was very low so I was satisfied with my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I have been stying here for years. The owners are friendly and very helpful. The rooms clean & quiet. The pool relaxing. Just the place for a break

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamerongeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stay 5 mos. ea. yr. for 4 yrs. now at Sabang Oasis, & clearly, we keep coming back becoz this hotel & suite where we stay is the best there is in Sabang. Check it out yourself.

Room Tip: Just ask for Rooms 6 & 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curayreini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Recently stayed here for two weeks after the New Year and felt we had made the right choice booking at the Oasis. English owner Peter and his wife Viola run an extremely clean hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

The hotel is perfectly located just off the main ‘strip’ of bars, so that you’re only less than a minute walk away from an ice cold San Miguel in the Broadway Bar yet far enough away from the load music to get a good night’s sleep.

Bed sheets and rooms were changed and cleaned thoroughly every day. As for the rooms themselves they offer exactly what you need, the rooms are extremely spacious, they offer a quality double bed, mini-bar, TV, air-con and good powerful shower (something we found hard to find in previous accommodation in Manila).

We had friends who had been hotel hopping around Sabang and generally stayed in accommodation further down the beach but agreed that the rooms in the Oasis were of far better quality and size than most of the places they had stayed in around the resort.

On the roof of the hotel it boasts a terrace, bar and swimming pool which proved invaluable for cooling off after having a few beers in the sun. We also enjoyed a couple of barbeques on the terrace in the evenings, in which we invited a few friends up for. Viola and her family were more than happy to cater, providing enough wonderfully cooked prawns and steaks to feed a small army.

Overall, the Sabang Oasis offers exactly what you need from a hotel in terms of location and room quality but goes the extra mile in terms of likeable staff and good service. We had a wonderful two weeks here and would highly recommend the hotel to anyone going to Sabang for vacation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hdwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2010

This is a new place up the hill from the centre of town, so its reasonably quiet. Get a room with a kitchen as eating out is crap in the Philippines, there is plenty of fresh fish and chicken here is great, free range and very tasty, also pork is good too. If you can cook you will eat well. No shortage of fresh fruit and veg in the markets. The room we stayed in were clean and barely furnished but the bed was comfortable. Don't expect yr room to be cleaned, just ask if you want it done, or better still just ask for the broom and do it yrself. Staff are friendly but keep to themselves, don't expect them to be your new best friends. If you stay for a month like we did the room works out to be very cheap, very good value. Theres a roof top terrace with a gas bbq they provide gas for and a bar they will open if you ask. Most guests dont use it so if you want a private party this is the place. Great view from the top. I liked it here.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank divetraveller999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

The place couldnt have been better for us just a stones through from Sabang centre with all the hustle and bustle in lovely quiet spot Perfect!!! We were a family of 5
1 granparent 2 parents and 2 kids and this place was great for all of us.
We had the 2 bedroom and kitchen with extra mattress, the appartment is large so plenty of room to move around, The roof has a pool which the kids loved and the views and breezes up there were lovely.
A family run business Peter and Viola couldnt have helped us more with orginizing all our trips and advise on best eating spots.
We will return for sure :)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lokbobpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.3 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#15 of 54 in Puerto Galera
139 reviews
6.1 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
2.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 54 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 54 in Puerto Galera
95 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hollywood Palm Beach Resort
Hollywood Palm Beach Resort
#36 of 54 in Puerto Galera
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabang Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabang Oasis Resort

Address: Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £27 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sabang Oasis Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a newly built hotel finished to a European standard which opened in October 2007. Located close to Sabang Beach in a quiet residential area but only 5 minutes walk from most bars and restuarants,we are proud to say that recommendations from other operators in the area have made our first year a sucess. We look forward to welcoming new customers from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sabang Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabang Oasis Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing