We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera
Ranked #2 of 61 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

The resort is “in town”. It wasn't initially but the town kind of grew up around it. I expected a resort on a quiet beach but not so. However, it wasn't loud at night. Lots of bars and restaurants which are definitely not high end and we stayed only on the resort. You'll just want to stay and eat at the resort. The food at Atlantis is good and fresch.The restaurant staff is wonderful.

The diving is very efficient and done extremely well. The dive masters are onr of thebest we’ve had anywhere. They know their stuff. Be sure to tell them what you want to see and they will take you to sites to find it. Visibility was in the very good. But since it’s mainly critter diving it doesn’t matter so much. If you are a photographer you’ll want the best macro lens you can get your hands on!

There are really only two “reef” dives and you’ll want to do both. “Canyons” can have current but the soft corals are beautiful. The dive is kind of backwards as it starts in the shallows and ends in 85 feet and you do a blue water ascent.

The other one is Verde Island. Here you will find a BEAUTIFUL pinnacle and all the reef fish you imagine plus generally clear, blue water. You’ll want to dive the pinnacle twice. It is an extra charge to go out there but I highly recommend it. It’s a three dive day with lunch on the island.

All the other dive sites are within 10 minutes of the resort.

If you are interested in nudibranches, frog fish, and the small stuff it’s really great.

The spa was great and a great bang for you buck. We use it evey other day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DIVE60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 238 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

I had to add this review to refute the previous reviewer who doubted that it is possible to get a full 5 dives in one day, as advertised. I've just come back from a week at Atlantis Puerto Galera, and that is exactly what I was able to do. Here are the figures from my dive log on the second day of my trip:

dive #1 9am 25 metres 53 minutes
dive #2 11am 17 metres 55 minutes
dive #3 2pm 17 metres 67 minutes
dive #4 4pm 15 metres 55 minutes
dive #5 6.30pm 17 metres 51 minutes.

All dives on air using an Oceanic Veo computer and accompanied by a dive master from the resort. Dive times include a 3 minute safety stop at 5 metres.

I was the only diver up for a night dive that day, but Kris was more than happy to accommodate me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My son and I spent a fortnight there in order to dive. It was phantastic. Especially the quality of the food was outstanding. The dive sessions were professionally accomplished. Every was very good organised. Well done, we recommend this Resort!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abuabDul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I was there with a group of friends just before the Easter week-end. The rooms were clean and comfortable, service by the resort staff and dive crew were excellent. (Comparable to their sister outlet at Dumaguete, Negros Orietal ) Hovever, the location of the property was along the strip of beach and shared very crowdedly with other dive resorts. I preferrred the exclusivity of Dumagute's resort.

Food was excellent and the restraurent staff were attentive and generally helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper levels are more private, buts its a long walk to the Restraurent and Dive Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Van K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed here in January with a large group. Our room was very nice with a nice view of the water. The food was good but the wait staff was a little slow. We had long waiting times to get served. They also did not do well with special diet requests. I do not eat gluten and they would constantly bring me bread. They did not seem to be very organized. The best part was the mongolian grill option. You pick what veggies, meat and sauces you like and they prepare it for you. I had this many times.
The diving was ok. The water was cold - 73 degrees. We saw a lot of nudibranchs, sea horses, anemone fishes, giant clams, pygmy sea horses, etc. There are not any large fish in this area. No pelagics of any kind!
Overall it was a pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4funRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I booked a last minute trip to the Atlantis dive Resort for Chinese New year - 2013. The resort is all inclusive - dives and food. I was a bit worried about the food selection and rarely go to an all inclusive resorts because the food and service can be overlooked. The resort is about three hours from the Manila airport - van ride = 2 hours, boat ride= 1 hour. From the arrival (with back massages at the table) to the first and last meal, I was pleasantly surprised with great service, outstanding food and an awesome dive staff. For each meal, you have three or four specials of the day (beef, chicken, fish and a local dish) and the choice of Mongolian barbecue. The desserts are also served with an artistic flare and are very tasty. The dive staff was diligent for both safety and a fun experience and going to all the tops spots on the island - The Canyons, the wrecks and also pointing out all the coral and aquatic life!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

I have been staying in Atlantis, Puerto Galera, every time I go diving to Sabang Beach. They are by far the best diving operation there and the ones that put the most emphasis on safety. A lot of the divemasters and instructors have been with Atlantis for a long time, and that speaks very well of the way Andy Pope and the local manager runs the place.

Rooms are clean and comfortable and the restaurant (Toko's) serves very well prepared dishes.

Definitely recommended as THE place to stay in Sabang Beach!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomOpazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.3 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 54 in Puerto Galera
340 reviews
4.7 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#6 of 54 in Puerto Galera
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 54 in Puerto Galera
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandi Divers
Scandi Divers
#2 of 54 in Puerto Galera
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera

Address: | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £92 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puerto Galera is well known for its numerous scuba diving spots; the area was designated a Man and Biosphere Reserve of UNESCO in 1973 and has some of the most diverse coral reef diving in Asia located at the very heart of the 'Coral Triangle'. The area also features numerous pocket beaches and stunning tropical scenery. Atlantis Puerto Galera is beautifully built into the hills of Sabang Beach of Puerto Galera and has a great beachfront location; in many travel guidebooks and magazines Atlantis is quoted as one of the most outstanding resorts of the Philippines with its award winning (Flintstones) design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantis Dive Resort Puerto Galera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Dive Resorts Puerto Galera Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing