We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and green but pricey”
Review of Garden of Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden of Eden
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
India
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice and green but pricey”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I liked the location of Garden of Eden more than el galleon and the resorts on the other side of the jetty. The restaurant is pricey, but you can eat at the other places closeby (captain greggs is an especially good place to eat - with a sea facing restaurant on the 2nd floor). Rooms are good - especially if you like greenery and nature all around you. However, if you are looking for a sea facing room / beach facing room ,garden of eden is the wrong palce to be in.

unlike what you read on the net, sabang does NOT have an intrusive nightlife - the girlie bars are all tucked in an inner street - so the beach is quiet peaceful at night (except for Big apple whihc has some loud music playing - but that does not reach garden of eden)

So even if you come with your family, Sabang is a good palce to stay (I felt it was better than white beach since the resorts are much better. the hotels in White beach felt more like a city!)

Room Tip: Remember to bring mosquito repellent and you will enjoy all the rooms. If you like greenery, ask to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JabberwockyIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

...not for handicap man:steps up,steps down,thrue the hotel is a way not so flat,,,

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seoSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2010

This was our first diving adventure to the Philipines. I read about Garden of Eden in a Dutch dive magazine and booked our stay at Garden of Eden over the internet (cocktaildivers). We booked a bungalow with breakfast and unlimited diving. The flight we booked separately. We arrived at Manilla Airport and there was a friendly lady who arranged the car with driver to drive us to Batangas, a 3 hours tour through Manilla and the country side. During the tour we had contact with Chris, the dive school manager. In Batangas we took the boat to Sabang, this took about 1 hour and we arrived at Batangas, just in front of Garden of Eden.
Chris welcomed us and we got the bungalow at the top end of the resort. The view over the bay of Sabang was fantastic but it was quite a climb. But do not worry, there are also bungalows in the flat part of the 'resort'. The bungalows are not extremely luxurious, but you only use it for showering and sleeping. Shower was ok (hot water) but our air conditioning was a little loud. I used ear plugs but my wife had no problems sleeping.
Breakfast was very good. We could choose of 8 different ones from omlet to fresh fruit. Also the lunch and diner were very good. Big disches and very cheap. Also try the milk shakes with fresh fruit. Delicious!
All the staff is motivated to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The diving takes place in several sites, from a few minutes to 20 minutes by a small boat and always guided. You have to register the evening before and the number of boats (maximum 10 persons per boat) are always sufficient and depending on the number of guests. You visit Sabang for the small things you see under water. The guides are happy to show you the pigmee sea horses and ghost pipe fish. Without the guide you would probably not see them at all. Also the soft corral is very nice. You don't see big fish here. Besides fish, nudybranches, shrimps, octopy we saw snakes and turtles. The snakes are extremely poisonous but they just ignore people. We are not on their menu.
Wat we liked best:
- good organised resort and dive school (German, so you woudn't expect different).
- good food and very cheap, both in the resort and the restaurants in the little town.
- small town directly beside the resort.
- nice diving sites
- very friendly people, even if you don't buy anything from them.
What we liked least:
- the beach is not kept clean.
- diving in the bay, there is a lot of rubish in the water, I advise to go with the boat to other sites.
Very nice place to go scuba diving!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterLimburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2009

We just came back from Puerto Galera where we stayed 4 nights at garden of Eden.
Very nice resort but the manager was not nice at all, did not even say hello when we arrived until the 2nd day by asking us to pay the whole stay. A little bit disappointed...
In a few words...the manager looked like an ex-prison guard.
However, the staff is very friendly mainly composed of Philippinos.
the Diving center is managed by a German guy who is not friendly at all- will not recommend to dive there...we dove with the Dojo diving center (just next to the resort)which is much more friendly. I strongly recommend to dive with Trendy who is a very competent and patient dive master.
Enjoyed the stay but I think that there are other places in Puerto galera as nice as the garden of Eden...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank estelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.1 mi away
Mermaid Resort
Mermaid Resort
#17 of 52 in Puerto Galera
134 reviews
1.0 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 52 in Puerto Galera
65 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
1.5 mi away
Utopia Resort & Spa
Utopia Resort & Spa
#23 of 52 in Puerto Galera
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dream Hill Condos
Dream Hill Condos
#21 of 41 in Puerto Galera
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden of Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden of Eden

Property: Garden of Eden
Address: Sabang Beach | Oriental Mindoro, Puerto Galera, Mindoro Oriental Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#13 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden of Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden of Eden is a resort for scuba divers. Our in house dive shop Cocktail Divers conducts guided dive trips as well as PADI and SSI courses from beginner to pro level ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Garden of Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Of Eden Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing