We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“photos in their site are deceiving”
Review of DreamWave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DreamWave Hotel
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“photos in their site are deceiving”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in February to celebrate Valentines's day in the island. The price for what looks like a budget room is way too steep. The bed was made, but that's just about it. The bathroom's tiles, sink and toilet were filthy and needs cleaning. Apart from that, the maintenance crew sprayed insect repellent before we moved in. This wasn't a problem at first since we will be heading out for dinner. But hours had passed and we could still smell the strong fumes of chemicals Which also stuck to our clothes and bags. I was forced to leave the window open from 12am til morning because of this. We also noticed that the window curtains were sheer and we could see people passing by. Since bars are just a couple of blocks away, we could hear the non-stop noise. We were more concerned about the smell rather than The noise or people walking by. Note to the staff: the smell of Bug spray could be lethal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HippieInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    14
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The rooms are on the small side for what you pay, but they are well designed and clean. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is oke. But you need to have some patience with checking in or the breakfast. The location is also not very good because the only have very expensive seaviewrooms, the most have no windows at all.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014

First time to visit Puerto Galera with my family. Had to book this hotel at the last minute (literally) online before leaving the house.

Pros: Beachfront..Although the staff said the only room that has a view of the beach is the suite, still it was nice to have your breakfast right in front of the beach..sipping coffee just staring at the waters was an awesome and restful experience.

Friendly staff.. most of the hotel's sfaff were friendly and attentive to our needs. they went out of their way to assist us with anything that we needed. like when my nephew developed a fever. one of the staff even went with my sister-in-law to the mini pharmacy that they have in white beach so she could get the medicine for him.

Cons:

Room.. We stayed in the family room consisting of two double beds and one single bed for PHP 3,500. The room was okay but it was very small..Not a lot of space there though. They must have built and designed the room with no children in mind..Bed was alright. The main thing that really got us disappointed was the strong stench coming from the sink and the bathroom..Really very annoying..The toilet flush was not working so we had to request for that to get fixed twice..finally got someone to come after I went to complain the second time.

Rate: Locals said Dreamwave is the most expensive hotel in White Beach.. Probably so..I really didn't mind paying that much if they had provided a roomier family room without the stinky smell emanating from the sink.

Location from boat boarding area: Although it is just about a 5-10 minute walk, if you have quite a baggage, it is still cumbersome. The shipping company and the hotels don't provide shuttle service to pick you up from the hotel and bring you closer to where the boats are docked.

All in all, as a first timer, we enjoyed going to Puerto Galera, regardless of the hotel..It was an experience we'll never forget..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riyopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
171 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We hot a room with 2 double beds which were comfortable (not too soft not too firm) which suited me after tiring beach activities. While the room is clean, it is not sound proof (as you can hear people out in the hallway) but it is about as peaceful as it can get away from the beach party noise.
Downside in our room is the lack of working outlets (for charging batteries and phones etc) as there was only 1 working.
Food at the restaurant is better than those which we tried outside.
Ms. Maricar at the Reception is very friendly and approachable.
I would have liked to stay for a bit longer here.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Babut_Bacena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Nice hotel located right on the White Beach. Nice and friendly staff – the main plus of this hotel. They also provide beach towels, that also counts.
Transport can’t bring you direct to the hotel, you should walk down to narrow path along ugly buildings. Rooms are quite OK, but very small, with old furniture (bed was quite comfortable) and mainly without windows. Tiny bedroom with leaked toilet and broken window. Room cleaning per inquiry. No Wi-Fi in rooms. Poor breakfast and poor choice of dishes in restaurant (always empty) . A lot of masseurs sitting right next to hotel and they are very annoying. This place (White Beach) is quite boring by itself; I’d better live in Sabang.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrej M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Booked a bed and breakfast the same day we arrived with my partner for 8.500 php, the room was good and had a good air-con, although the toilet was not working properly (not really a big deal).

10 minutes away from the boat station, and near to the centre of the bars and restaurants over there.

We had a good experience and we may recommend this hotel to our friends if they ever ask for an acommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

This is actually my 2nd time at this property, but this time i went with my family (5 adults & 1 child). Unlike the 1st time I went there with an online reservation, this time we preferred to just walk in. We approached the reception and they suggested room no 14 at the ground floor which includes 2 double beds and just add an extra bed. Room price was approx 9,600pesos for 3 days and 2 nights including breakfast. The room was clean and the double beds were big and comfy, but really small. Bathroom was clean and has a separate shower room. Food at this property is pricey and not so good. There are not enough choices for the complimentary breakfast, and you can't exchange coffee for juice :( service at the dining area was okay, however i remember that in the reception we had to wait for about an hour to check in and same thing during check out, luckily there's free wifi so we didn't get bored. The staff is friendly and always smiling. Just a friendly reminder: when entering the room check how many towels are there, because we had a small issue with the towels, staff said we had a total of 6 towels but we only found 4. We didnt even used them thats why we didnt inform the reception, however toiletries we found are good for 2 persons (isn't is supposed to be for at least 4 since it has 2 double beds and 4 towels?), the answer i got was "thats our standard"..oh well..luckily i was not in a mood to argue that day and they just "compensate" the towel issue with a Dreamwave shirt...ok ok!

It's not a bad hotel, but the only strong point of this hotel is the location.
Don't forget to get a henna tattoo at Dreamwave Tattoo Studio which is located inside the dining area of this property. The artist Randolf, a jamaican looking guy is cool, friendly and very talented! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
3.4 mi away
VM Beach Resort
VM Beach Resort
#41 of 52 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hollywood Palm Beach Resort
Hollywood Palm Beach Resort
#40 of 52 in Puerto Galera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#45 of 52 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Jewel Beach Resort
Sea Jewel Beach Resort
#28 of 53 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DreamWave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DreamWave Hotel

Property: DreamWave Hotel
Address: | White Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — DreamWave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your DreamWave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing