We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paradise found”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Galera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sandbar Boquete Beach Club
Ranked #42 of 53 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“paradise found”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

puerto galera and sabong beach are were all the action is.at the end of the day if you want peace and solitude.away from the noise and pesky venders,you have found the right place.very nice and private tucked away in a calm cove.you can relax undisturbed,swim in the upscale pool ,injoy a quit out door meal
Or you can relax and pray at the cute little chappel.all the action is minutes away in your own private batong or water taxi and the guys will wait for you as long as you like then carry you back for a nice nights rest.Injoy your stay and tell chuck paul sent you.take care always

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruicaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    6
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Sandbar Boquete Beach Club in Puerto Galera is the best. When you are here, it is as if you own an exclusive island complete with everything you would need for your vacation. Friendly and courteous staff. Very accommodating owner. Clean rooms. Crisp linens. Delicious food. Nice swimming pool. Tennis court in an island?? THEY HAVE IT!! Dive center? Of course!!

We came as a big family of 25 (with seniors, teenagers, kids) and all of them got what they were looking for. Private and exclusive yet lots of activities to make your stay very worthy of the trip to Puerto Galera.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AemilioJavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

I'm a mid-twenties Brit who fell in love with the Philippines a few years ago. I've been there 10+ times and visited many islands. But Midoro was definitely an unexpected highlight. Taking into account it's proximity to Manila and it's beauty, it's one of the under-rated places in Asia.

As for Sandbar, there is nowhere better. I've been to white beach, sabang, etc and although this place is more expensive than some of the others, it's worth paying the few extra pounds/dollars/pesos/ whatever to make this your base for a few days.

Lovely pool, incredible scenery (in the beachfront room you wake up, look outside and wonder how to make every morning begin so perfectly), good food and friendly staff.

There are more expensive places that won't be as good so I say spoil yourself and head to Sandbar. Take a Kayak (no charge) and row around until you find your own private slice of paradise or play some tennis! Visit Puerto Galera/ Sabang/ White Beach very easily or lounge by the pool. Do what you want, but do it in style.

They even have actual hot water and a real bathtub!! Now that is rare for a cheap place in the Phils!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smoth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monchengladbach, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2009

Went to Puerto Galera to spend the holy week and found this fabulous resort. To get there, you'll have to take a 1.5 hour boat trip from Batangas Pier to Muele Bay in Puerto Galera. You in for a surprise when you arrive within the bay. With numerous windsurfs and sailboats racing around the bay, Muele is arguably one of the most beautiful bays in the world, this spot is absolutely breathtaking.

The resort is right smack on a sandbar connecting Boquete Island with the bigger Mindoro Island, with it's own beach and no neighboring "noisy" resorts. Complete with its own pool, the rooms are well catered for, and have CableTV, AC and fridges.

The hotel is served by a single restaurant which fronts the beach, A windsurfing school run by the resort owner, Melo Garcia, a former windsurfing olympian, a dive shop run by Gunther of the Sabang Divers Outfit, and a tennis academy. There is a wet bar by the pool, and numerous cottages which overlooks the beach where breakfast, lunch and dinner may be served. The food is of eurasian influence owing to the majority of european guest who frequent the resort for its top notched scuba shop.

Enchanting and awesome, diverse and dynamic, Sandbar resort is loaded with good stuff for families. Kiss a fish or pet a ray; or snorkel over the house reef; sail with the wind or hike in a jungle; gaze at the stars or better yet greet a sunrise or walk on the beach at twilight. At Sandbar, the choices for fun are endless.

Do everything or do nothing. Naturally I have a list of suggestions. The water sport activities include windsurfing, ocean kayaking, long board surfing, scuba diving and dinghy sailing. All equipments on site may be rented for a minimal fee. Lessons in windsurfing are handled by the able coaching staff of Melo Garcia, his brother Ed Garcia, his son Gio Garcia and his nephew Aricks Garcia, all of them national windsurfing contenders.

Better yet check out the resort website for more details at www.boquetebeachclub.com

Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank one3mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

The food is okay and one part of the beach is kind of dirty (although Ive seen people cleaning it up). Also there is a part of the beach that has sea urchins so I would advise to enter only with shoes. despite of all thos bad qualities I would say that this location takes your breath away. It is a perfect private place with a breathtaking view of blue/aquamarine/turquoise waters with the possibility to sail, kayak, windsurf, snorkel and go island hopping. The people are very friendly and eager to please. You also get picked up with a van and brought back to the boats upon arrival and departure. The rooms are also very clean and big. The price, I believe, is perfect taking into account that it includes a complimentary breakfast. We were three people and were charged 2500 php. there is also a swimmingpool and a tennis court.

Puerto Galera is also one of the safest places I know. What we did was go to Sabang in a jeepney and stay there until late at night and then go back with a tricycle. Because the way to the Sandbar is a little difficulty, we walked the rest (about 20 min) in complete darkness (except for our cellphone light). But it was completely safe and we had a beautiful view of the starry sky.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lastern87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.0 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
VM Beach Resort
VM Beach Resort
#40 of 52 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#10 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mountain Beach Resort
Mountain Beach Resort
#8 of 53 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dolphinbay Beachfront  & Dive Resort
Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Re...
#30 of 52 in Puerto Galera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Utopia Resort & Spa
Utopia Resort & Spa
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandbar Boquete Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandbar Boquete Beach Club

Property: Sandbar Boquete Beach Club
Address: Boquete Island Sto. Nino, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Sandbar Boquete Beach Club Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing