We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French cuisine in Muelle Pier, Puerto Galera”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Bistro

Le Bistro
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Puerto Galera
Cuisines: Philippine, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“French cuisine in Muelle Pier, Puerto Galera”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great food, a group of five of us ate there on 2 occassions and each time it was very good. Very friendly staff. They had French Onion soup on the menu but I was apprehensive about ordering as we had an awful (2) French Onion soups a few days earlier at Big Apple in Sabang. We had left them both after tasting just a spoonful full but we were still charged for them. The waitress in Le Bistro said that if we didn't like it we would not be charged. The soup was great as was the salad Nicoise which tasted very similiar to the many that I have enjoyed in the south of France.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlingDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great location, excellent service, great food; steaks were perfect and the fish dishes well thought out with a real Mediterranean feel.
Wine list was severely limited.
It was more expensive than other establishment, but the cost reflected the quality and service.
We returned a number of times.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ExSandPit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Came for desert and enjoyed it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We ordered the Halo-Halo, and we really liked it. The service was great, and we ended up talking to a fun expat couple who lives in the area. Overall, worth a stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Delicious Break from Phil style Food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

After seven months in the Philippines, my taste buds were begging for a change of pace from the usual restaurant fare here. One of my hobbies is cooking French and Italian style foods. On Valentines day I took my girlfriend to the Bistro for dinner. With its white tablecloths, romantic atmosphere, and some French inspired selections on its menu I had to give it a try. My taste buds thanked me, as did my girlfriend for the dining experience. Their tomato based fish soup had an intense rich flavor to it. I have eaten in some of the finest French restaurants New York city has to offer, have been to France, and have eaten my fare share of Portuguese fish soups. I would rate this soup as amongst the best I have ever tasted. Its not a chowder, its a soup. I then had the dorado ( mahi mahi aka dolphin) kinilaw or kilawin ( similar to ceviche). It was delicious in a French inspired citrus based sauce. I had never had dorado in a kinilaw before.

Prior to coming here I had spent 3 months in Davao where seafood is cheap and plentiful, and I made a point of having malasugue (blue marlin) or barilas (tuna) kinilaw at least three times a week. I had been somewhat disappointed with the lack of variety of fish on most restaurants menus in Puerto Galera.

Before dining at the Bistro, I had only seen and tasted tanigue (Wahoo) kinilaw in Puerto Galera,
which was good but not great. I have since returned twice to the Bistro, and will be going back again soon. This is one of the best dining experiences I have had in the Philippines.

MERCI

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good enough food :)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We ate here while waiting for the ferry back to Batangas. The food was tasty and pretty good for the price. Comfortable and friendly.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank beachedmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Bistro also viewed

Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province
 

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing