We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Tropicana restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Castle Resort
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Sabang, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Avoid the Tropicana restaurant”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My girlfriend and I went to the Tropicana restaurant for their much-advertised "Special Christmas Dinner.". I don't like beef, so I ordered something else, but they ended up trying to charge us 800php for that Christmas dinner, which consisted of 1 small salad, 1 piece of cake, 1 glass of wine, and 1 beef medallion entree with mashed potatoes. The entree came out too salty to eat, and this after a 45 minute wait. We sent it back, and after another half hour all we got was the cake. When we asked for the bill to leave, they tried to charge us the full 800php for an inedible meal. Worse still, my girlfriend doesnt like salad and had given it to me, and shared the piece of cake with me too! So all told, 800php and all she got was half a piece of cake...and to cap it off, after arguing about this for more than half an hour, they offered to reduce it...by 250php. An additional 15 min had us reduced 150php more to where we were paying *only* 400 php for that half piece of cake (and the delightful experience). Paid it and left forever, and went to go get nachos at Big Apple, lesson learned.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
6
13
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seoul
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I stayed here thinking this hotel was one of the posh places in Sabang. Well, it was and the room I got was good and roomy but the hot water problem was a big negative. I couldn't take a shower with hot water my first night, and when I complained, the front desk clerk was less than sympathetic. They said they fixed it but I still had problems.

The place is in the form of a castle and is run by an Austrian. Overall, the hotel wasn't bad but the hot water problem made it negative for me. I might try the place again but I don't see myself going back to Sabang.

Room Tip: See the room first and test the hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkim07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Beautifully designed hotel atop the hill in Sabang. As you arrive by boat, it is the first thing you see. We remarked, how strange that there is a castle on top of the hill, here in the Philipines!
We stayed for 4 nights, and the room itself was beautiful, tatefully decorated in caste style with the best mini-bar I think I have ever seen. Stocked to the brim with drinks and well priced too. Comfortable bed and a brilliant bathroom. A delightful swimming pool too.

2 rather annoying things though, breakfast was rubbish, and also you only get one free with the room, which is odd. The restaurant is next to the hotel too, so you have to leave the premises. One day we had one free breakfast and paid for the other, the next few days we either took it in turns to have breakfast or didn't bother. Also, wifi was woeful. I know this is the rule rather than the exception in SE Asia, but it really was a new height of dreadfulness. Frustrating connection issues, not a powerful enough signal for the size of the hotel.

Sabang is a weird place anyway. As we are not divers if we hadn't hired a motorbike I think we may have gone stir crazy. The island is beautiful, Sabang, (other than the bay) is not! A bit seedy around all the alleyways in the centre of town. Lots of what I like to call 'True Love' stories! Hmmm.

Overall, the experience of the hotel was great and I think with a few tweaks it could be brilliant. I find travelling in off season can always change opinions of places, but there was little real service and it was not a 'budget' hotel by any stretch of the imagination.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahindra_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

We booked for 3 nights and stayed 6. The place is like a mock castle on the side of a hill. There are som mnay good things to say about the hotel that there is not enough space here! Dont book it if you have a physical disability or are in a wheel chair as there are many many steps to climb. when we got here we could not stop taking pictures of the place...even the bathroom door was worth a shot! Rooms are huge and very highly speked

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.0 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 52 in Puerto Galera
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#49 of 52 in Puerto Galera
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 52 in Puerto Galera
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#19 of 52 in Puerto Galera
58 reviews
0.0 mi away
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
#17 of 52 in Puerto Galera
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oceana Beach Resort
Oceana Beach Resort
#46 of 52 in Puerto Galera
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Castle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Castle Resort

Property: Tropicana Castle Resort
Address: Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Castle Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropicana Castle Dive Resort in Sabang, Puerto Galera. It is a romantic castle resort in tropical surroundings of Sabang Beach. The hotel offers spacious well-furnished rooms, scuba diving activities and its roof-garden restaurant with a great variety of local and international dishes on the menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Tropicana Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Castle Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing