We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Views in Sabang Beach”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Galera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steps Garden Resort
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Views in Sabang Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

In late September 2012, I stayed here for 2 nights and my experience was delightful. For an air-conditioned, clean, simple room with an amazing view the price was P1500. Skip all the dive resorts (even if you are a diver as I am) and relax with a view in Sabang. They also have decent wi-fi and a great pool/lounge area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    40
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
42
25
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
243 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Basically the resort has reasonable provisions in terms of stay - but for the restaurant they have a tendency to serve Caucasian diners first. My dining experiences there have been bad - always having to wait at least 40-60 mins which was totally unpleasant because they serve Caucasian guests first prior to us. I think this sort of distasted the overall experience at Step Gardens. The management really need to tell their waiting staff to be more consistent in priority to serve meals and not everyone had an hour to wait because of their unjust Prioritization. Prices are Fair and not the cheapest and palate wise you have better competitors around in Sabang to give them a go for their money,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

The views of the ocean from the hotel rooms are great indeed.Although we were a bit tired up climbing all the way up for check-in,it was compensated with a marvelous view of the ocean from the room.The service there is great.Another noticeable add on is the pool,which is being maintained in a good manner with a bar.The break fast though included in the room package,came up really well.The HK section is also maintaining its standards.The only difficulty we have experienced is the up climb to reach room every time while we return.Any how,this hotel is really great value for money!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krishnakumar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Fantastic break with the staff becoming friends within hours of arrival, nothing too much trouble, overseen by the benevolent eye of the Front Desk Manager Lhiza. Very efficient and clean comfortable accommodation. Fantastic dining at Steps, Pool Bar, Le Dan and Tamarind all with discount for guests. Exclusive pool area very nice and well equipped, private and secluded yet close to all amenities, food can be sent in from any of the Steps restaurants to compliment the well stocked adjacent bar. Can reccommend this resort for singles, families and very child friendly, the staff love kids as they. Left very relaxed and destressed and will defintely be going back.

Room Tip: Ask for Lhiza to advise you on your requirements and availability, Rooms range from ultra modern Sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaitchJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We picked this resort because it is a bit withdrawn from the beach but close enough to get there in a few minutes. Additionally they also have a nice pool, which is nice to chill out sometimes. The bungalow we had was a superior room. It was clean, in good general condition and spacy. There is also a table, a cabinet, 4 chairs, a fridge and a tv. Mosquito nets on the windows are ok. The room was cleaned every day!

The Staff was friendly and helpfull, and the food in the restaurant was good also.

Only minor point that you may concider is that there might be a lot of steps to get to your room if it is situated in the upper part of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoutnik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

Really loved my recent stay, quaint little bungalows,super friendly service with plenty of smiles.. I stayed a few places in Sabang,most are good value but think steps is worth paying the couple of extra $$£ for as it has excellent facilities,a nice pool,restaurant & bar & also its peaceful even though only a couple mins walk from big apple(great 24hr beachside bar). Only fault would be Wi-fi is weak but thats pretty much the norm i find in Philippines.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theabsentee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Steps and Garden is at the Western end of Sabang, which makes it easy to get to from Batangas, and means you can walk (stumble) home from the bars if you like, or totally ignore the bar scene if you don't. Sabang's a dive town so it's friendly, boozy and there are groups from many places around the world. I'm not sure why, but diving focused towns never seem to go over the top on the accommodation front, and Sabang is no exception. So while Steps and Garden is not world class, it's up there for Sabang and surrounds.

Due to its position, S&G has a great outlook from the rooms - the higher up the less you notice the higgedly piggedly roof tops dropping all the way down to the water's edge.

Steps and Garden looks like it's been around a long time - it's a group of smaller huts at the lower levels with much larger, newer rooms built in blocks up higher. Room numbers 17 and above are the new larger rooms. One of the older huts was being rebuilt, larger, while we were there, so it would pay to ask about the rooms when booking. The staff are very happy to help with questions.

Take cash as the credit card surcharge is a very hefty 4.8%.

The wifi is surprisingly good given the spread of the resort, and internet in the Philippines in general. The power goes out from time to time as it does in a lot of places here. The resort is really clean, including the rooms and bathrooms. The mini bar is really well stocked - the best I've seen in the Philippines, and really reasonably priced. The pool is pleasant - and was very warm when we went, in summer. There's a pool bar too.

Steps and Gardens is affiliated with, or has same owner, as Tamarind restaurant which is quite pleasant.

We organised private (ie not shared) transfer through the hotel. It cost about $150 USD each way for private van to pick us up in Manila and drive us direct to the boat and we got a large boat to ourselves. There would be cheaper ways, but you will spend time waiting and negotiating etc so if you want to ease into the trip and maximise the time at Sabang. For the return journey, public boats stop running from Sabang to Batangas by about 1pm. But our private boat left closer to 4pm, which we thought was worthwhile. The boats can't do the crossing after dark and the public boats need to get back to Sabang before dark, whereas our private boat stayed in Batangas after it delivered us.

Steps and Garedns is an easy walk to the smaller quieter bays of Small La Laguna adn Big La Laguna, where you can take boats to Whites Beach, and beyond. The prices are on boards at each beach which takes the uncertainty out of it.

There are roads between the beaches too, and tricycles are cheaper than boats, but not as pleasant.

Overall, Steps and Garden seemed well run and good value. We'll go back again.

Room Tip: Suites are just newer, much larger rooms, but worth it (room numbers 17 and higher)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LookingLooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.9 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.2 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
4.5 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#7 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steps Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steps Garden Resort

Property: Steps Garden Resort
Address: Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing