We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view,but..”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Galera
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steps Garden Resort
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Angeles City, Angeles, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice view,but..”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Had a pleasant stop here, room very nice but you need to be pretty fit to get the most out it, I had 85 steps and ramps to get up the hill, but once there it was worth it.
Minibar very resonable prices, but be very careful with any of the linen/towels, if you get the slightest mark on them, they will charge you for the item with a very nice profit added, I got stung with a towel at 600 pesos! hair products on it?? I actually wiped the floor with it after the aircon flooded the room and my property with it, so the hair products come of the floor?!
Also try and pay cash for your room because they will charge you 4.8% surcharge for cards, which is is agaist the law in the Philippines!
The staff were nice, food ok.

Room Tip: If you are fit get the newer rooms higher up the hill,its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    40
    16
    1
    4
See reviews for
10
42
25
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I stayed a few nights in this hotel in Sabang. It is a beautiful location close to the village, but still very quiet. I loved the garden, but less the steps. My room was almost the last one up the hill and that was quite a sweaty climb in the end.
The biggest asset is the positive and friendly staff! They are very helpful and do everything to make you feel comfortable. The girl from the restaurant kept on singing and smiling and prepared the best mango-shakes in town! Would definitely like to come back for diving and will then stay for sure in this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sander Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Really helpful staff in a hotel with great views of the bay.
Bit of a trek up the steps but I guess the clue is in the name! The hotel has a smallish but very pleasant pool with a bar. The food is good and served well.
The best recommendation is that I hope to return here next year.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bill_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

After some research we decided for the Steps & Garden and we enjoyed every minute there. We even extended our stay by 4 days and skipped a planned Boracay trip.
We booked 2 new suites on the top floor with fantastic view. Many steps but it was worth it. The rooms are very spacious and so was the bathroom, very clean, a huge balcony with nice furniture overlooking the resort and the sea. The cottages looked older but cannot comment on them.
All the staff is very very friendly and always have a smile. Lhiza, the resort manager, was always very responsive and helpful with any request we had.
We arranged diving with South Sea Divers right next to the S&G and this was also a very good choice. Nice and friendly people there and it's not too big.
Definitely will go back there.

Room Tip: Rooms up-hill have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarstenSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Steps has built an extension going even further up the hill.
Although I didn't stay in the new part.
I did look at the rooms, and I was impressed. Very modem and functional.
I stayed in one of the older cottages which have all had new bathrooms installed to nice standard.
A lovely place to stay,
I tried another couple of cheaper places further along sabang beach for my first week.
But found myself longing to be back at Steps, so bit the bullet with the 300php price difference. ( what was I thinking )
And went back for my fifth stay.
Just love the place.
Only drawback with the whole of Sabang is Internet connection it's never been up to much, wifi or fixed line, despite the huge comunication tower that looms over the town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petethepipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

In late September 2012, I stayed here for 2 nights and my experience was delightful. For an air-conditioned, clean, simple room with an amazing view the price was P1500. Skip all the dive resorts (even if you are a diver as I am) and relax with a view in Sabang. They also have decent wi-fi and a great pool/lounge area.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
243 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

Basically the resort has reasonable provisions in terms of stay - but for the restaurant they have a tendency to serve Caucasian diners first. My dining experiences there have been bad - always having to wait at least 40-60 mins which was totally unpleasant because they serve Caucasian guests first prior to us. I think this sort of distasted the overall experience at Step Gardens. The management really need to tell their waiting staff to be more consistent in priority to serve meals and not everyone had an hour to wait because of their unjust Prioritization. Prices are Fair and not the cheapest and palate wise you have better competitors around in Sabang to give them a go for their money,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.9 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.2 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#12 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#7 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
3.2 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.5 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steps Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steps Garden Resort

Property: Steps Garden Resort
Address: Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing