We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No more repeat check in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tribal Hills Mountain Resort
Ranked #5 of 53 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tacloban, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“No more repeat check in”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We have the most memorable weekend getaway (Aug. 25-27).

We have booked in advanced. I called up Tribal Hills to make sure that we are getting a legit deal. After making sure, we bought the coupon and reserved our dates.

The coupon:
3-days/2-nights in Puerto Galera at the heavenly Tribal Hills Resort
Enjoy the famous white beach and relaxing music and entertainment
Situated on a hilltop 60m above sea level with breathtaking panoramic views on Mt. Malasimbo and the surrounding peaks
Spacious air-conditioned rooms with big, comfortable beds
Free WiFi internet within the resort
Daily luxury breakfast
Inclusive of 10% discount on food, local beers and spirits at Treetops Restaurant
Use of swimming pool included
Includes guided trek to Aninuan Falls
Roundtrip transfers from the pier

Upon arrival at Puerto Galera muelle, we expect a Tribal Hills resort shuttle service to be there to fetch us. However, we were told that they will get us from White Beach.

We saw the road up the resort and it was very steep. Steeper than the grotto in Baguio. Some of us were riding at the back of the pick up and there was nothing to hold on at the back of the pick up if not for the spaces between the back of the seat.

At the front desk, the house rules were explained rather hurriedly and impatiently by the receptionist. She repeated at least 3x that we should have our lunch at their restaurant. Php 240 for an order of adobo. Less 10%? I would rather eat out.

Now, the check in time is 2pm. We got there earlier and they did not prepare the room ahead of time. One guest was irritated already and the receptionist was answering her back, also raising her voice at the guest. Seriously?!

Remember how the check in time was 2pm? Shuttle service to the beach was 1:50 and we can only avail it after we checked in. I don't see the logic. However, there's a consolation. They will bring you downhill for free and the rest is up to you. Php20/pax for a tricycle going to the beach. You really have to ride. And it is indicated in their website that:
It sits on a hilltop 60m above sea level but still only a few minutes walk to the beach.

I would say that the rooms are okay. The bathroom has only one drain - in the shower area. Then we were told not to wet the other area since there's no drain. However, it is impossible because the partition is small and there is no shower curtain. One guest complained about it and she was told by one of the owners that perhaps she doesn't know how to use the shower. Neat, eh?

Luxury breakfast - I doubt I'd describe it as such. It's a simple breakfast.

Free wifi if it reaches your room.

Everything was great during the second night because of the performers at Hiyas Bar. It covered up our irritation from the previous day.

The day before we're about to check out. we asked the owner for clarification if we are still going to get a free ride to the muelle (free bec we've already paid) and he said yes. On the day that we are about to leave, we are in for another surprise. There's no free ride bec according to the driver, they don't bring guests to the muelle. Then when we arrived at the muelle, we saw other guests from the same resort getting a free ride.

To summarize, we appreciate the rooms, the pool, the jacuzzi use, and the free breakfast. However, the service we got was very lousy. Their website can also be misleading.

No more repeat for us at Tribal Hills.

Room Tip: Find some place else. There are plenty of other accommodations near the beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Larissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManilaChief, Owner at Tribal Hills Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Here at Tribal Hills we exert every effort to ensure that our guests will find their visit relaxing and restful. It is with some regret therefore that we discover that your group apparently did not enjoy their stay. However we do find some of the observations in the review inaccurate and slightly odd.

For example you state that you' expected to be picked up at Muelle in Puerto Galera town'. We send a confirmation of booking to all of our guests, yours was sent to, and received at, your email address. This contains all of the information about your stay including that the point of collection / drop off for transfers will be White Beach. We will be happy to forward this to you again should you wish.

You refer to the steepness of our approach road and compare it to another in Baguio. We are not able to comment on the accuracy of the comparison but can assure you that, while the road is indeed steep (we are after all a Mountain Resort as our name suggests) we do provide a rugged 4 x 4 vehicle to ensure the safety of our guests and that many find it particularly enjoyable, likening it to a roller coaster ride .

You make several references to your perception of the treatment offered to other guests not in your party. We consider this inappropriate as this is a forum for comment on your own stay. We can assure you however, that with only one or two notable exceptions, our guests are more than happy with their stay.

You make observations on the check in and shuttle service timings. Both check in time and a detailed timetable for the free shuttle service are posted on our web site and therefore were available to you before you booked?

You say that you arrived early and were cross because the room was not ready. Please forgive our bafflement at this observation, the room was cleaned and ready for you by 2.00 pm as arranged.

Your statement that our website being 'misleading' without offering any substantiation for that statement is quite improper. We take great care to ensure that the website is informative and accurate. If you can point to any specific inaccuracies we will of course correct them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    28
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
15
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

My wife and I had a two nights, three days getaway at Puerto Galera and we lodged at Tribal Hills. The view of the mountains is so majestic! The room is indeed large for a standard room. The staff are very helpful, courteous and accommodating. The place is also clean and well-maintained. Two things though. First is because the lodge is some distance to White Beach there be a way or mechanism wherein Tribal Hills will be able to provide guests a staff or a place in White Beach where guests can entrust valuables (cameras, cellphones, money, etc) while they are swimming. Second, Keep the videoke contained in a separate soundproof room rather than in the poolside. But certainly, we'll return!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elitoribio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I love Tribal Hills! I almost canceled the voucher i bought in groupon (conflicts in my sched), and I thank God I didn't. The place is so relaxing, the service crew will give you beyond expectations special mention to their receptionist, ate me-anne. She's very nice! She upgraded our room hehe.. =) Still looking forward for another promos in groupon/ ensogo/ metrodeal and the like. =)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank castanedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Nice ambiace, relaxing good staff. :)
Hopefully will be back soon if they have promo again like in metrodeal. <3 that place so much... :)

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

My stay in this hotel is a so-so experience. It lived up to its claim as having the largest standard rooms you'll ever see. However, that's all there is to it. To our disappointment, the 140 m2 roof deck their site is boasting of is still under construction! Also, the view is not that breathtaking since the hotel rooms are facing the mountains and not the beach. The location is very far from the White Beach and the way to the hotel is verrrrry steep. It is really perfect if you want to get isolated from the hustle-and-bustle of life and you just want to be in your room your whole stay. The free breakfast is not that good and the food offered in the restaurant is a little expensive compared to the delicious food in White Beach.All in all, it's a nice place but doesn't give that much value for money. P.S. Their website is kind of misleading.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Kimi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taguig
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

While looking for a place where we could spend our second year anniversary, I came across Metro Deal's website. They were selling vouchers for a 3D/2N stay at Tribal Hills Mountain Resorts and it was only for P3,499! ( Well, I don't suggest purchasing a voucher from Metro Deal I think some group buying companies are also tied up with Tribal Hills).
If you're someone who enjoys quality time with your loved ones well, this is the perfect place for you! This resort is located on top of the mountain so you get to see different views.
The food was good and the serving was pretty generous (well except for the free breakfasts). They also provide free shuttle service so you won't have to pay P100 for a trike! :)

Plus, they have EXCELLENT customer service.

It wasn't my first time to visit Puerto Galera but Tribal Hills Mountain is truly a taste of heaven.:)
We're definitely coming back!

Visit their Website: http://tribalhills.com/

Room Tip: It's true! Their standard room is probably the biggest standard room you'll ever see - this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank alaine y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
4.1 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
5.4 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Mountain Beach Resort
Mountain Beach Resort
#8 of 53 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
#10 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Solana Suites and Resort
La Solana Suites and Resort
#16 of 53 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribal Hills Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribal Hills Mountain Resort

Property: Tribal Hills Mountain Resort
Address: Baragay Aninuan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tribal Hills Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting on a hillside overlooking the sea and with breathtaking views of Mt. Malasimbo and the surrounding peaks, Tribal Hills offers the best of all worlds. Close to Aninuan and Talipanan beaches, breathtaking mountain and sea views and a short distance from the nightlife at White Beach. With our own beautiful swimming pool, excellent food and free shuttle to local attractions we are a family friendly resort. Come visit us at Tribal Hills! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tribal Hills Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribal Hills Mountain Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing