We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to relax, very quiet, probably not so great for children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Utopia Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Certificate of Excellence
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to relax, very quiet, probably not so great for children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Great place to stay, fantastic rooms, well fitted out and very spacious.

Good facilities and staff very willing to help, free shuttle bus to get you around whenever you want, so quiet location doesn't mean you have to miss out on the busier areas.

Great massage too

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medmonds69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    3
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

I was married at this hotel on Sat 18th May 2013. Our experience from start to finish was AAA+. Staff were friendly & accommodating, nothing was too much trouble for them. The owner Kelvin, his wife, Bellen & Tina coordinated everything like a fine swiss clock!

The food, entertainment, hospitality- whole experience is one we will never forget- what an amazing experience from start to finish-
fantastic..

The views from Utopia are stunning, across 2 bays either side of the elevated gardens.. All our guests shared our experience which ultimately was made extra special by the team effort of everyone at Utopia Resort & Spa.

I will be going back to stay at Utopia Resort & Spa and thoroughly recommend you try this jewel in the crown if you are considering Puerto Galera- you will be pleased you did!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarriedinPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metro manila
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

This resort has a nice view of the bay. Peaceful and away from the red light district. The employees are very accommodating. Food is okay in general...we had fun with their free happy hour 5-6pm. Rooms are big and clean enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raquelbrouwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Booked this place because it was described as quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of Sabang and White Beach. Turns out there was a techno party nearby that kept us awake until 2 o'clock at night. Bed at our Lily Villa was creaking everytime we turned. And a road runs straight beneath the windows creating noise from early morning. Pool didn't seem well maintained and was unserviced.

After two days we had enough and went to check out (we had booked 5 nights). As the resort claims to have 5 star service we did not think there would be a problem. But the ass. manager told us that the owner wanted us to pay for the full stay claiming that they had rejected other guests wanting to stay these days. As the resort was almost deserted and we seemed like the only guests there we found it hard to believe. Also they had not informed us about a 21 day cancellation policy. After a long discussion during which the owner Bruce Kelvin has fled to his upstairs office leaving the ass. manager on her own, they finally let us go after having offered to pay for 1,5 day more than our actual stay. We found this a very unprofessional and odd behaviour from the owner.

It is true that it is far away from White Beach and Sabang, and there is no beach nearby so you have to pay for the hotel's shuttle to drive you 400 pesos each time (12 dollars). So if you have gone to Mindoro for the beautiful beaches this is NOT the place to go. The view over the hills and to the sea is beautiful though, the service staff very nice and rooms are clean and well maitained with a nice private terrace.

Food and restaurant is advertised as "the best on the island". Even though the Phillipines might not be the food mecca of Asia, the food was plain and bland seeming to stem from a micro owen and from our experience NOT the best. Advertisement brags about french inspired cuisine, but when we asked for a bottle of red wine they told us the only had wine by the glass. Not very cuisine-ish and the wine tasted like it had been opened for weeks and stored in the fridge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank EspressoDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

Utopia has spectacular views across the bay and is great retreat from the hustle and bustle of Sabang & Whitebeach (both are rather dirty and smelly). We felt like we had the resort to ourselves and the staff are very friendly even when they struggled to understand us (English is not their first language). The owner made an effort to meet us and it's clear he is really committed to making his guests welcome and that his establishment maintains a high standard! The Orchid suite has a great design with two levels, amazing views plus a covered private patio.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

One of the more luxury, or perhaps one of the most luxury resorts in Puerto Galera. Sure it is not a five stars hotel, but it has a breathtaking view of the bay and the hills, big rooms, free happy hour between 5-6pm, free Wi-Fi, free breakfast, free transportation to town, which takes about 10 minutes. Things to watch out: water pressure for the shower is not the best, it is a topical country, so it might have a few small bugs. It is not located in the town center, but there is a free private shuttle that takes you there as well as picks you up, and each trip is about 10 minutes. It is a great place to stay if you want to stay at a quiet and more luxury resort with a great view away from the noise and sleazy of town. Their staffs are friendly, so as the boss, who is very accommodating to meet your requests. Overall, a very lovely resort in PG Island.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

When we arrived we were presently surprised to find a beautiful resort. It was even cooler when we found out we were the only 4 people on the property for the night. We had the whole hotel to ourselves.

The food was great we had breakfast late but since we were the only people at the resort they still served us breakfast well after the end of breakfast :)

Our rooms were very nice we had a upgraded suite with connecting rooms. The room itself was two floors with the bedroom upstairs.

Outside the room was our own balcony seating area. We spent much of the night enjoying the sounds of nature while sitting on the balcony.

Overall the place was excellent. The staff was very accommodating and the food was good. We will definitely be returning to Utopia. With only 7 rooms it will never feel over crowded.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade the cost isnt much once your in their lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesJestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.9 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
Sunset at Aninuan Beach Resort
#10 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#7 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort & Spa

Property: Utopia Resort & Spa
Address: Barangay Palangan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Utopia Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Utopia Resort & Spa .a luxury Five star resort in Puerto Galera!Philippines Utopia Resort & Spa is perched on top of the hill at Palangan, the first Barangay on the peninsular of Puerto Galera. Showcasing the most awesome views South-East across Varadero Bay onto the misty slopes of the majestic Mount Halcon and West across one of the most beautiful bays in the world, Puerto Galera harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Utopia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing