We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful beach resort embraced by mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 61 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at Mountain Beach Resort from September 1 till September 5. Actually, we would have stayed longer, had we not been invited by a friend to visit her rice farm near Calapan. It was a snap decision to go to Mindoro and we arranged our stay by telephone from Manila just one day before arrival. We were looking for quiet place away from bustle of tourist hubs and we found exactly that. The resort is located on Talipanan Beach next to outlet of the small brook. The place is beautiful, surrounded by jungle covered mountains, which you can appreciate best by swimming or boating some distance from the beach itself. It really deserves its name.
The resort obviously underwent some development in recent years since there are different buildings from simple bamboo huts, bungalows with fan, up to block of air-conditioned rooms, which are obviously the most recent addition. The curiosity is the presence of small enclave of local family that refused to sell their property during development of the resort and remain in the middle of it going about their daily business.
We rented AC room with cable TV for 1800 peso per night. The room was quite scantily equipped with two double beds, nightstands, small table and chairs. It was OK because most of time you will spend outside, but what I really missed was a reading lamp. The room had tiny private toilet and bathroom with electric water-heater and shower. There is a small veranda with massive wooden table and chairs in front of each room to enjoy a drink and absorb the atmosphere of the place. At the other side of the room beyond the flimsy backdoor you will find open cooking place with gas-stove and sink, but no pots or utensils. Anyway, we did not plan or need to cook our food, because open-air restaurant served all our needs. There were only two other guests during our stay so understandably it was necessary to plan our meals and order ahead of time. Classical Philippine dishes were well prepared and ample; we especially enjoyed fresh grilled seafood. None of the items on menu we ordered exceeded 200 peso. Icy San Miguel beer was always available for reasonable 40 peso. There is WIFI available free of charge in the restaurant, but it doesn't reach the rooms.
The beach is partly sand and partly pebbles. Swimming is excellent and on the right hand side of the restaurant (facing the sea) there is a coral garden offering easy opportunity for snorkeling and watching underwater life. At the west side, the beach ends with rocky promontory. There are several other resorts at this end on of the beach. If you swim around the promontory, you will find yourself on completely secluded white sand beach surrounded by steep cliffs and jungle. Walking eastwards, you can reach busy White Beach after some 45 minutes, but be ready to climb over some rocks and get your feet wet, especially during the high tide.
The owner and her staff were pleasant and helpful, they arranged for us a trip to Tamaraw waterfalls as well as transport to Puerto Galera when we cut our stay short.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salmiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2013

Nice cheap rooms right on the beach, pretty basic accommodation but its all you need. Fan and cold shower. The ladies who run the place are nice and accommodating and can pack picnic lunches etc for you. Heaps of people say they dont like the beach because of the rocks but this wasnt a problem for us as you only have to go in 5 meters and they disappear, and to have the beach to yourself its a small price to pay.

Room Tip: Cheaper rooms are away from the water, pick one in the middle away from the walkway as to avoid peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

im writting a review because i want to return the favor for the earlier reviews for this resort and other resorts in puerto galera.because it is my first this to visit the place i only rely on reviews by past guests of different resorts.first i think i have 10 resort to choose from but due to budget friendly and schedule changes we decided to go to mountain beach resort.we definitely enjoy our stay there.but i will name some cons to be fair to guest that will visit the resort.1.it is true that the beach has lot of stones.2.room locks are functional but need improvement.3.no security personnel.pros:1.easy to book,just text maam ephay and she will arrange the booking even in boat from batangas.2.a peaceful place were you can enjoy nature and relax,unlike in white beach that every minute your sitting un the sand,vendors,massue,snorkeling and other tour agents is asking you to try or buy.3.very friendly staff,and because there are only few guest here,it seems you have your personal butler.4.they can arrange almost everything for you,i.e tric to the market,boat for snorkelling,massage,etc.5.room rates are low only 1k for fan room good for 2 even its peak seasons.6.as if you own the beach because almost all of the guest are in the white beach.7.you can cook or you can ask them to cook your fresh goods with a reasonable price.8.garden is as good in the pictures.9.you can check-in anytime but checkout time is 11:30am.10.food is good as advertized like the cordon bleu and personally i like the kind of rice they are using.but to complete the galera experience you must try snorkelling in coral garden,underwater fish feeding,underwatercave plus the giant clam farm and also try to eat sea urchin which is available outside the cave which worth 2.5k per couple including boat,guide,bread for fish feeding,eating sea urchin,snorkelling equipment and life jacket.you can see different kind of fishes,sea urchins,colorful corals and i also saw 1 sea turtle.thats a bonus considering sea turle is not usually seen in the place.even my friends which are earlier want to cancel the tour consider it one of the most great things they did and saw so go ahead face the water and see the nature under water.its worth the money and the sunburn.hehe.i wish to have underwater camera the next time i go to coral garden.hope this review will help 1st time guest of mountain beach resort.thank you mountain beach resort for the unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joshua L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

budget fan rooms are dark, small and don't have proper bathrooms. 750pesos fan rooms are more comfortable and offer small bathroom with hot shower and toilett and a cute little veranda. if you could give stars to the restaurant it would be 5! it takes some time until your meal is served but it's worth the waiting.
the resort is not overrun by tourists so most of the time the white beach (half stoney half sandy) and clear blue water is all yours! the staff is helpful and friendly.
they can also organize trycicles and some activities (e.g. diving, snorkeling, tracking) for you.
all in all we enjoyed ourselves a lot over there!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank estefaniakelentha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had here 3 full days, with our 6 years old daughter.
Some of aircon rooms are small and if you want to fit a third bed they become tight indeed; but they also have wider rooms, that we chose.
Room was simple and with limited storage furnitures, but spotlessly clean. No ants upon our arrival, but then a few present after a day or two, partially maybe because we had fruit in the room, but also there was no daily housekeeping, like frequently in the Philippines.
The food at the restaurant is good and they cook it on purpose, this means that they need some more time to prepare: for us it was not a problem to wait 30-40 minutes at the reastaurant while using the wi-fi, but if you ask for dinner in advance they can prepare for a specific time.
They also have a choice of western food for the young girl (while we preferred local food). Very tasty curry dishes!
Staff was very friendly and discrete.
Position is ideal, towards the end of Talipanan beach, and far from the noisy white beach. Snorkeling is excellent, with many corals and anemones, a great variety of fishes, a lot of starfishes.
The wonderful garden, full of hybiscus, orchids, bouganville made me die for envy!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stefania3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oetipetoeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mimicorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
6.3 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 54 in Puerto Galera
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#22 of 54 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
0 mi away
Amami Beach Resort
Amami Beach Resort
#3 of 61 in Puerto Galera
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Puerto Nirvana Beach Resort
Puerto Nirvana Beach Resort
#32 of 54 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
6.2 mi away
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
Papa Fred's Beach Resort
#17 of 54 in Puerto Galera
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bamboo House Beach Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Beach Resort

Address: Talipanan, Aninuan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £15 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mountain Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing