We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Island Resort
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Friendly and great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our group of 19 stayed here for a week last July 2013. The staff were really friendly and provided good service. They have a few in house restaurants and activities were being offered by the resort as well. The only problem was the insects in our Nipa Hut room. We talked to the staff after our first night about the insects falling on our bed, they said it fell from the roof, and they fixed the problem right after.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    182
    62
    23
    21
See reviews for
127
138
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calapan, Mindoro Oriental, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Good service, good food, good amenities, and good place. We enjoyed it very much. The service family are really helpful, they will treat you as their family (i mean with love). We had a seminar in the conference area above the heritage rooms, the operator of the projector is always missing, if you have seminars request them to have an operator every time. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast, very good pastries. :)

Room Tip: no hot water in almost every rooms except for heritage rooms. If you're on a budget and just wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dollar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We went as a family in April 2013. We had two rooms joined by a baloncy which was ideal for my granddaughter (aged 3) as she could go between the two rooms on her own. It is kept nice and clean. the bathroom is rather basic, and there was a nasty step down into the bathroom. Probably not suitable if someone has mobility problems as most places have to be reached by going up and down steps.
The food was OK. The service OK - like all places some staff are better than others. The "trainees" seemed to have to go and ask rather than actually know the answer to simple questions which was tiresome.
The free boat trip in the morning to other snorkeling sites was great. Good snorkelling too, although we were bombarded by people trying to sell us things which is normal in The Philippines unfortunately.
Nice pool. Bit of a shortage of sun beds at peak times.
Overall a most enjoyable relaxing trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

went here in january 2013 with my husband, and we enjoyed it so so much!! The staff is really really nice, friendly and helpful. The "bamboo huts" are really cosy and all of them have a great view. I like the way almost everything on the resort is build in bamboo - it makes it feel really authentical. The whole concept with having a service family, and them working there, as chefs, carpenters or at the soap workshop, is so amazing!
The restaurants in the resort serves nice food, and the houseband puts on a nice and happy atmosphere. A couple of times during a week, there is some kind of entertainment in the big restaurant (band, BBQ, theme etc.).
If you are into walks, you shouldn't hesitate taking the "walking trials" into either Sabang or Puerto Galera. In my opinion Sabang is the nicest of the two towns - there are more restaurants and it really comes a live at night time. Here is also lots of diving shops. And If you are into diving, you should not hesitate to go talk to "coco divers" - they took us diving, and we really enjoyed it!

One of the only down-sides is, that it can be hard to go anywhere at night. Because if you take a boat into Sabang or Puerto Galera, to have dinner or so, you can't be guaranteed a boat-ride back, because of the tide. It makes some strong currents that can make it difficult to get back - and the walking trails are not really good at night-time, as it gets completely "pits black" - and some of the trials are a bit slippery.

All in all I will give this place my highest recommendations - it is really relaxing and cosy spending time here. And if you are a "globetrotter" there is several things to do and trips to go on - just ask the staff, and soon you are off to a new adventure.
Only thing - "be careful, this place is addictive" - and hopefully we can soon go there again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEP84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Been here once to stay and in Feb 13 visited for 2 days to use their friendly diving facilities.

Staff are so friendly, good food, good atmosphere, and not expensive.

Dive service is great, often 1 on 1 diver / guide, not the normal hoards from the centers at Sabang around the corner. Happy to let you dive even if not staying, even picked us up in Sabang.

Hotel itself has great, natural rooms constructed as mountain huts, not so many with AC so think about that one and time of year. Swimming pools are great, especially for kids and there is a separate silent pool for the adults tucked up higher in the resort. Always something going on.

Room Tip: Think about air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medmonds69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

I should like to say first that the welcome we received was very moving and heartfelt. With all the genuine smiles and a beautiful song they sang to welcome us. The kubo house we stayed at was very beautiful, most importantly clean and spacious. They have a very stylish ladder going to the second landing, ladder that's good only for agile people I should say. The beach is very nice and clear, they also have a swimming pool, and the food, it's great! Service is wonderful. They also provide us with a free boat transfer when we went snorkeling the following morning.

The whole experience - simply great and memorable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aoibheal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Sorry for the late review. Hubby and I with our 3 kids stayed there last April 7-9.I made a reservation in their office near Robinsons Ermita together with land and boat transfers from manila to coco beach and vice versa. Our sevice picked us up at Diamond hotel where we had our overnight stay.We were greeted by singing staffs and giving each one of us a shell necklace and welcome drinks upon arrival at the resort. We stayed at the heritage room, which is their only airconditioned room.It was very hard for us esp for our kids to climb the ladder going to the 2/f of the room because of the steepy ladder so we ended up sleeping at the ground floor.My kids slept on the queen size bed while hubby and I on the couch.Heritage room was too big yet the ladder were not really advisable for the kids nor for the old ones.What I also don't like was they don't frequently change your towels.Every other day was their schedule of changing towels and bed linens. We were 5so they only gave us 5 towels that we used for 3 days and 2 nites stay.I have been to diferent resorts but this one, you have to rent a towel if you need one on the beach.The sand, is not that powdery. It has lots of shells. So my kids ended up swimming on their pool. It has free island hoping so we availed it.What I like most in this resort, is it's privacy. If you need some actions esp at night you have to book to the hostels/resorts in whitebeach.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xeryl_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Galera
0.6 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#25 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
14.8 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Island Resort

Property: Coco Beach Island Resort
Address: Behiya, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines (Formerly Coco Beach Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Beach Island Resort is a sprawling 10-hectare beach resort with facilities made from all-natural materials... Everything is designed to compliment each facility and its natural surroundings. Definitely, an idyllic place to recharge frayed nerves, with its cozy ambience of bamboo and nipa hut in its very Filipino type of hospitality and accommodation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Coco Beach Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Puerto Galera
Coco Beach Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing