We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and well kept place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coco Beach Island Resort
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I have been here twice and love it here. Awesome people and the place reflects the Filipino Heritage, Yes, some areas have no hot water (like the rest of the Philippines) but you get used to it. The rooms are made from bamboo and done beautifully, Being from Canada I appreciate the warm atmosphere the staff provided. The onIy complaint i can see people mentioning is the LONG walks up the hill to get to the rooms, ha ha ha, but the reality of it, we all need the exercise and I got used to it quickly. Just dont forget anything in your room. I will keep returning to this resort everytime I come to the Philippines.

Room Tip: If you worry about hot water, make sure you request it. Philippines usually do not have a hot water...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Coco Beach Island Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

coco beach is one of the best resort to stay... all the staffs are accommodating.. nice, clean and spacious room.. i love the concepts of each rooms with the touch of modern native style. i can say the resort is not nice when you see in the picture but once you where there its very enchanting. nice place to stay....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lito G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

If you like getting back to nature, with lots of it in the room with you, then you'll love this place. It's very much a matter of personal opinion. One of us enjoyed the basic bamboo and palm built rooms and one of us didn't. There was no hot water in the cabin (or at least not in our Deluxe one) but that is by design. The resort boasts 101 different activities to do or take part in and the ones that we did (dolphin watching - saw two pods and with a boat to ourselves plus boatman, glass-bottomed boat and massages) were all very enjoyable and good value for money. The food served in the restaurants (those we used) was all good quality and well-priced plus the menus were extensive. However, it was quite difficult to find a waiter sometimes and we did have to wait 25 minutes before anyone appeared on one occasion. There isn't much of a beach and there seems to be very little change with the tides. If you are a scuba diver, this place is ideal. There are lots of different dives available, to coral reefs and wrecks etc. There are two swimming pools - the main one and the "Silent Pool" up the hill. We found the Silent Pool with it's poolside bar very relaxing. There is plenty of wildlife to see on-site because the resort has been sympathetically built retaining as much of the tropical scenery as possible. Each cabin has a Filipino family that lives close by and on whom you can call to bring hot water, carry bags etc by pulling a wire to ring a bell. We felt a little uncomfortable using the service (images of Upstairs Downstairs!) but it does give a lot of Filipino families safe and secure employment. Tip them well if you stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark_Bath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My siblings and I enjoyed a 2-night stay at the Coco Beach Resort in Puerto Galera, Mindoro. The rooms are comfortable and all made of local materials. The beach is clean and is maintained well by the resort. There are 4 restaurants - Carabao Coffee Shop (for bkfast, lunch and dinners), An Italian restaurant (Great oven-baked Pizzas!), Cowrie Grill (for Asian grills and dishes) and there's fine dining in a revolving restaurant! Food is good and we enjoyed the meals we had in the F&B. The staff is wonderful - always ready to help with a smile. What we truly enjoyed is having a family as our host in the resort. We loved Angie and her husband who were so welcoming and helpful - a nice touch to our stay. We're glad to discover Coco beach and would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank esmodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I was only here for 1 night and wish it would have been a week. The grounds are amazing with little huts up in the trees. You really feel like you are in the jungle. The staff was amazing and really friendly. The lack of air conditioning was actually nice. The food was solid and the mango smoothies were the best. The only downside was the massage. It was average, but I'm spoiled after being in Thailand and the US.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nathanmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Beautifull setting and a great place for Danish kids to meet and play with other Danish kids. Its part Danish owned and Danish travel agent cc travel sends most of the guests from Denmark. Rooms are very very basic, and very expensive for what you get. No hot Water, Lots of animals gets into your room and no aircondition so very hot. Restaurants are ok but nothing more and quite expensive for PG area.

The Best is the diving and snorkeling, but that again is great everywhere in PG.

Summary - if you go to PG go elsewhere - families should consider Aninuan area. We will not return.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
4  Thank Tommy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Everything natural as described on their website is blunt and true to the point. As long as you can put up with termites, other insects, cold water (excepting Heritage), a lack of western grade toilets and few western fabrics such as towels then this can definitely be described as going back to nature.

In summary the pricing is way too high for what you get in terms of accommodation and food and beverage. Be sure to read all reviews before you commit to booking.

On the positive side the landscaping is beautiful, the service families are fantastic with the little resources they have (don’t blame them for the lack of towels and bedding, that’s down to the management) and the staff are top tier. Kids loved the activities and the absence of TV was not noticed by them. The silent pool is also a great place to get away from kids and enjoy a few cocktails.

There is a feeling that money comes before anything and their priorities are not in the right place. A typical example was New Year’s Day when patrons had to queue for breakfast as tables were not cleared from the night before and all the staff were more busy preparing for the New Moon party that night. Bad decision as attendance at said party proved and attendance was eventually free to fill up the numbers.

Our worst experiences revolved around the organized day excursions. Do not believe the quoted price, the boatmen are like unlicensed Manila taxi drivers and will immediately be searching for additional revenue. They will organize vendors ahead of your arrival on that beautiful deserted beach to sell you rubbish at 3 times the local town prices. They charged us for the kids using life jackets to swim (out of our control sir says Coco Management), they shared our food with the boat crews and locals! They took drinks out of our cooler which we were charged with. They refused the minor refund highlighted on the activity list when we failed to see any dolphins. Pretty unacceptable all round.

Note to management – get in contact with “Hotel Impossible” as I doubt you get many repeat customers. In summary could be so much better with so little work.

Room Tip: Just be aware of the steps when choosing room location
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marky2Times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.6 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 52 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 52 in Puerto Galera
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
92 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 52 in Puerto Galera
66 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#8 of 52 in Puerto Galera
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Island Resort

Address: Behiya, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines (Formerly Coco Beach Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £39 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Beach Island Resort is a sprawling 10-hectare beach resort with facilities made from all-natural materials... Everything is designed to compliment each facility and its natural surroundings. Definitely, an idyllic place to recharge frayed nerves, with its cozy ambience of bamboo and nipa hut in its very Filipino type of hospitality and accommodation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coco Beach Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Puerto Galera
Coco Beach Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing