We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coco Beach Island Resort
Ranked #22 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We just headed down to Coco beach for a weekend getaway from Manila, we weren't sure what to expect despite researching Puerto Galera. In the end we were extremely happy with our decision to base ourselves at Coco Beach. We explored some other beaches in the area utilising the local boatmen((Emil) which offer there service to the resort. Our guide was great. One thing our trip made clear is that Coco Beach has been ideally situated. There is nice snorkelling immediately out in front of the resort with a wide variety of fish and coral species. The resort offer a wide range of dining options. Reasonably priced and of good quality. One highlight that stands out was the quality of the staff. Tristan and Arvin looked after us extremely well. And our 'service family' Emma and Eugene kept us informed and comfortable. We loved the concept that Coco beach operates. We will be returning again for sure. Great escape from the Manila heat and traffic.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a bit of walk from the beach, but the paths are in good condition and well mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

We live in Manila and decided to get away for the weekend. We booked Coco beach as it looked to have everything we need. It was fantastic! 4 restaurants provided options when we chose to done onsite. The pool is stunning, and the beach right outside is excellent- great snorkelling if you don't want to go for a trip somewhere. The staff were the best part- all very friendly, really personal attentive service and great senses of humour. The room was great, we booked a classic deluxe. No there isn't air con but the fan was enough, and while no hot water the shower was still warm thanks to the heat of summer. Excellent balcony, views and mosquito net. We will definitely be back- in fact already planning another trip in 5 weeks!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Terri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a short weekend getaway from Manila and choose to stay at Coco Beach Resort.
Only a 2 hours drive from Manila and then 1,5 hours barka boat to the resort to meet a small paradise. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. We stayed in small native cottages without aircon, but with fan and mosquitonet and it was nice and not hot. Furthermore, we had a large balcony with perfect seaview made for relaxation in the sun set. There were several small restaurants on the resort and we tried 2 of them, excellent food, good service and not expensive. The staff was so friendly and service minded. They have a nice pool and you could swim from the beach. However as there are seaweeds/stones in the water and best to wear shoes. Perfect for snorkeling. Tried also the spa and they were very professional. Saturday evening we had an open fire and entertainment on the beach and it was a very special experience. The resort can be highly recommended to everyone that are tired of big fancy hotels with no personal atmosphere.

Room Tip: Cottage 3 A and B are perfect for seaview. Enjoy your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lalina_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a very relaxing resort if that's your choice, or else there are plenty of activities you can do. The accommodation is very sympathetic to the natural environment , with rooms made from local materials, wooden floors...you can see through...and grass/straw roofing...slide shutters as windows, no AC, and no hot water...but it really is very 'natural' and very nice. This is not, nor intended to be a 5*resort, but it is well done with excellent staff....and your room comes with a built in, local ' service family', at your service at the pull of a cord...
The staff are extremely friendly and attentive...and look out for the singing chef, frederico...to be found at the Trattoria..brilliant chef....and singer!
Dive centre also to be recommended...as too is the spa....but watch out for the eastern strong massage pressure!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MJK0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I found this place relaxing and we had spent a great weekend here with friends. Whether you are locals or or foreigners, they treat you like a king and queen of their resort. I'd definitely recommend this place...safe, quiet and relaxing...

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Want to share the diving experience my 2 teenage kids had at Coco Beach Dive Center. They said it was very colorful with beautiful corals and abundant marine life. The dive guide, Neil, was knowledgeable and helpful. During the dive my son lost his brand new Go Pro camera and was heartbroken since he took lots of pictures. Fely and the whole Coco Beach Dive team did an awesome job in recovering the camera! Thanks to Fely and the dive team for a wonderful and positive experience!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having stayed in Puerto Galera many times, we were familiar with the area. When booking the resort, it was not evident that the only access is via a boat. The map shows a road leading to the resort so we hired a motorbike to get there. After a couple of hours of frustration, we finally found a small track barely fit for walking (luckily I had hired a trail bike). This was a rather disappointing start to the stay, there should be a more accessible road to the resort for those who wish to drive there.

The rooms are very rustic built using traditional methods and materials which is different, but not for those who want a fully enclosed room without bugs (although a mosquito net is supplied). The facilities are mostly run down and tired, the place could do with a major refurbishment and any areas are in dire need of proper building e.g. Breakfast area is on the dirt with a tarpaulin hastily assembled to cover.

The Asian restaurant was horrible, presented with laminated menus that were falling apart, the food choices very limited with nothing that looked appetizing, the wine choices were not available and the food was poorly presented and over cooked.

Breakfast selection was poor, mainly catering for Filipino's. I gave up on the egg station after having to wait long periods first to place an order, then wait for the egg selection to be cooked. (one of my pet hates, please place fried eggs on the buffet)

On the plus side, the staff where friendly and attentive, along with the stunning views, they are the assets of this resort.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MattNiemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.6 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 54 in Puerto Galera
340 reviews
3.8 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#20 of 54 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
234 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#27 of 54 in Puerto Galera
94 reviews
4 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#7 of 54 in Puerto Galera
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coco Beach Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coco Beach Island Resort

Address: Behiya, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines (Formerly Coco Beach Resort)
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Galera
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £55 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coco Beach Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coco Beach Island Resort is a sprawling 10-hectare beach resort with facilities made from all-natural materials... Everything is designed to compliment each facility and its natural surroundings. Definitely, an idyllic place to recharge frayed nerves, with its cozy ambience of bamboo and nipa hut in its very Filipino type of hospitality and accommodation... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Coco Beach Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coco Beach Hotel Puerto Galera
Coco Beach Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing