We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luca's Cucina Italiana & Lodge
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at Luca's just this May 2013 for 3 days and 2 nights and we really enjoyed the beach and the food!! Gosh! We cannot resist not to come back and eat almost all meals during the stay!!The food are so delicious and 1 order is big enough for 2 persons to share! The owners, Luca and Anabel are so accommodating and humble. The beach front is so amazing, quiet and serene, that you will truly appreciate God's creation!! The water is so clear and warm! We really enjoyed our stay here!!! Coming back again for sure!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simpleLin009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

LUCA'S Cucina Italiana and Lodge is a quiet, peaceful and affordable accommodation at Talipanan beach, Puerto Galera This is for the people that wants a quiet and relaxing vacation. The room is spacious but very basic. It has 2 double bed, ref, ac, hot shower and ancient tv. :D But at least they have a good wifi which is very important for us.
Food is mostly Italian, and it's actually pretty good. And they do have big servings so even better if you are with a big group.
What I love most about this place is that they are literally just few steps from the beach so it's easy to go back and forth to your room, very quiet
The downside though is that it is far from everything so you'll need to take a tricycle going to other area which cost 100 pesos on daytime and 150 at night time. And be sure to have flashlight with you at night time for there is this part where in you would have to trek going back to the hotel.

Other than that creepy trek at night we had a lovely stay at this place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildpinkfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight Nice view, the food was great! But NOT planning to go back soon on this hotel.
Reasons:
1. Location
-I don't like the idea that I need to buy a boat tickets that bundled with transfer (someone told us that theres a boat line that can drop us directly to this beach hotel)
2.i feel so unwelcome
-.there is that certain bad vibes I dunno why.

gave them an average score just to be fair. Did I mentioned the pizza was great?

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaMiTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

After reading other reviews and a recommendation by Lonely Planet we booked a room at Lucas for 3 nights. I have to say we were pretty disappointed with the whole place. The staff were rude and unfriendly, and every time we ate at the restaurant we felt like we were nothing but a 'hassle'. However, on the positive side, the resort is literally meters away from the beach, and the beach is lovely and clean. For us, the location itself was a problem, as we had to catch a tryke into the town each time, after walking a very steep hill to meet them on the other side.
The rooms are just ok, a little pricey for what you get. The food was bearable, but mainly Italian dishes and unfortunately no Filipino cuisine. We ate next door at the Octopus resort which served some great Filipino food, and we were always greeted with a smile.
There are much places to stay closer to White Beach and Puerto Galera.

Room Tip: Lucas is very quiet, so stay closer to town if you want more action, and good restaurants to choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthTravelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

The rooms here are cozy and clean. It is no five-star hotel (and we stayed in our share), but what makes Luca's Cucina so special is that it is located in one of the best nooks in Puerto Galera. Sandwiched between the cliffs with its own stretch of fine sand, this was one of the most memorable vacations we had in the Philippines.

But enough about the lodging. The restaurant here is phenomenal.
The owner orders his pastas, Italian cheeses, oils, spices and meats not from Manila, not from China or the US, but straight from Italy. The pizza is mouth-watering deliciousness. The vegetables and pastas are cooked wonderfully. The fish is fresh - in fact, little jetties come by in the morning to sell their catches-of-the-day. The prices are also very reasonable. We tried some other restaurants for the sake of trying, but ended up eating the rest of our meals here, nothing nearby even comes close.

Seriously, this jewel is worth a visit. If you don't mind distancing yourself from your 8000-thread linens for a bit, this is will be an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ml8878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

We did a lot of research before going to Talipanan Beach, Puerto Galera. And on a tight budget, we decided to go to this famous lodge that serves free breakfast for overnight stays vs one that offers free use of swimming pool w/out free breakfast. My boyfriend and I had the room for 1500 (per night) on a November weekend. The room is not fancy so don't expect a five-star hotel interior, but it suited us well (because it lacks the luxurious look of an a-list hotel, it actually felt homier and really "beachy"). It had a small ref, air-conditioning unit, and a cable tv. There were two queen size beds for all rooms regardless if you're just a couple or traveling alone (which was nice because we had additional pillows!). They also offer free toothpaste, soap and towels. The CR was okay with a bidet and hot-cold shower option. The only thing lacking in the room were clothing hangers (and mugs?) -- but we got them on the second day from the housekeeping staff.

The resort is literally beach front so it's really easy to go back and forth to the beach and to your room. What's also great is that you can easily stargaze at night and go back to your room at once when sleepy. But the best thing about Luca's lodge is its in-house restaurant. They have huge servings usually good for 3-4 people. So we always had leftovers and have them reheated by the kitchen staff for free. We were surprised when asked our pizza and carbonara to be reheated the next day because they served them as if they were new orders, complete with new dish presentations without extra charge! But I think they have limited liquor selection -- we didn't see the usual tanduay ice and san mig apple/ lemon selections -- but they sure have san mig lights, red horse, and some hard drinks we are no longer familiar with.

The staff treated us nicely too. They welcomed every question we had and even gave us advice on some tours. I was also able to reserve the beachfront room by a simple phone call (got the number from their website) the day before we arrived. They also had free and strong wifi connection, but you would have to ask for passwords.

In short, the entire trip was lovely and much credit belongs to Luca's lodge and their food!

P.S. Talipanan Beach is a bit of a long walk to and fro the party place called White Beach, but should definitely be easy for fit walkers and on daytime. There are huge but passable rocks in between that you would have to conquer so it would be hard to walk on nighttime without flash lights. Tricycle trip at night from White Beach to Talipanan would cost you P150 for two. Be sure to bring flashlights even on a tricycle trip at night because there is a portion wherein you would have to trek to reach Talipanan shore (where all the Talipanan-based resorts are). Could be creepy when you're alone.

Room Tip: Get the rooms closest to the beach, there are only two of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I was there with my family for a very short WE (just 1 nght). The lodge is part of the Luca's famous Italian restaurant and uses of his popularity. I spent a very nice day and think to go back, still I have to admit that many things could improve on the side of the lodging (cleanileness).
Good points:
-Luca, the Italian owner, is really nice and friendly;
- the beach is quiet and secluded (very good for a quiet, relaxed, short get away)
- the food is very very good and average priced;
- straight on the beach at the very bottom of the beach itself.

Bad points:
- room, even if cheap, have just average prices for same type of lodging;
- staff, even if plenty, is not smiling and totally invisible for hotel part;
- rooms are creepy and not well maintained nor cleaned;
- no rooms have direct sea view;
- too many vendors.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iaia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.1 mi away
De Luna Resort
De Luna Resort
#21 of 53 in Puerto Galera
57 reviews
4.6 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 53 in Puerto Galera
310 reviews
6.4 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 53 in Puerto Galera
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mountain Beach Resort
Mountain Beach Resort
#12 of 55 in Puerto Galera
46 reviews
4.8 mi away
Puerto Nirvana Beach Resort
Puerto Nirvana Beach Resort
#30 of 53 in Puerto Galera
71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#8 of 53 in Puerto Galera
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luca's Cucina Italiana & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luca's Cucina Italiana & Lodge

Address: Talipanan, Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £20 - £20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Luca's Cucina Italiana & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing