We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Very close to paradise”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Approach by boat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Approach by boat
Puerto Galera Bay from the top The villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
45 reviews
Approach by boat
Puerto Galera Bay from the top
The villa
The villa and access road
The entrance and parking space
Side view of villa
Side view of villa
Side view of main terrace
Side view of villa
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom terrace
Master bedroom terrace
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 terrace
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 terrace
Bedroom 3 terrace
Bedroom 4 - family Room
Bedroom 4 ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 5 private terrace
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Cable television and Bose sound system
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main terrace
Main terrace
Main terrace
Main terrace
Main terrace
Entrance terrace
View of cove from the terrace
View of entrance channels to the bay
Pathway to the beach
Pathway to the beach
Pathway to the beach
Pathway to the beach and the lower villa
Pathway to the beach
The private beach
The private beach
The private beach
The private beach
The private beach and gazebos
Beach loungers
Beach shower
Gazebos and kayak
Beach bar
Beach bar
Beach bar
Beach bar
Beach bar
Beach bar
Massage gazebo
Steps down to viewing platform
Paddle boarding off the beach
Enjoying the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province, Mindoro

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bigdosh
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very close to paradise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Private white sand beach, beautiful accommodations, great staff and friendly owners. All in all a really good experience.
Our group rented both the main house and the guest house as we had 6 adults and twin 15 month toddlers, but just the main house would have been more than enough space, in fact there were three bedrooms that went empty. Each room has it's own bathroom and shower, although apparently there was no hot water in the main house for the first few days (the guest house had plenty), but once the problem was mentioned to Mike, he fixed it right away) After an initially bumpy start with the cook/house keeper (a young man named Jan, who possibly didn't understand English or maybe had trouble hearing anyone through his earphones, but fortunately had to leave suddenly) we settled into a great routine with the replacement, Bernadette. Each day we would tell her what we wanted for dinner and she would shop and cook. We usually ate out for lunch either in nearby Puerta Galara (5 minutes by local taxi-trike), Sabang (half an hour by boat) or just at the top of the road at a great place oddly named Easter Island. Both houses also have full kitchens but after a few days of shopping for food in Puerta Galara and cooking ourselves, we were happy to eat whatever Bernadette whipped up for us.
There was snorkeling equipment, a kayak, and a couple of paddle boards available, plus the house next door is also a dive school, so there was pretty much something for everyone, including the twins who were more than happy to paddle in the crystal clear water and marvel at the schools of little fish, bright blue starfish, and occasional tiny crab that were all to be found in the shallow water.
A couple of things to be aware of when staying here are: 1) The mosquitos are relentless so plenty of bug spray, lotion, what have you is a must. I brought my own plug in mosquito repellent machine for the bedroom and slept great, others without weren't so lucky.
2) There are A LOT of steps. The house is built on the side of a steep slope which means great views and a serious climb to get down to the beach, guest house, or anywhere else. On the plus side carrying the twins up and down the steps was really good exercise, but it might be challenging for anyone with dodgy knees, and young children definitely require constant supervision ( then again, when don't they?). There is also no lighting on the stairs at night, so that can be exciting.

At the end of the day though, the bugs and stairs were minor inconveniences, easily balanced out by the fabulous house, stunning views, and beautiful beach. I would go back with my girls anytime, no question.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beach and Bernadette
Liked least: Mosquitos.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SonnyYup
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!! Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a truly wonderful stay at Wilma and Mike's property. There is nothing else anyone would wish for except to stay on forever. The "Home away from Home" is truly a rarity and no expense was spared in any of the fixtures in the house as well as the garden.
Wilma and Mike are hands-on property owners and ensures that their guests are well taken care of. Our visit was a week after typhoon Haiyan and they ensured that the guests are not affected by power outages as Mike would quickly run towards the generator to crank it up.
The private beach in the property adds so much more value to the experience as compared to other properties in the area with no private beach.
The private staff supplied with the rental are an amazing duo who ensures that everyone is well fed and the house is spotless for the guests. The master's bedroom's view is breathtaking - one can just fall into a trance.
The boatsman recommended is a great tourist guide - but not a fishing guide.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: some mosquitoes - not a big deal insect repellant did the job
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2013
Sorry the fish were not biting Sonny but glad you enjoyed the experience!It was interesting to hear about the connections your family had with Puerto Galera so long ago during the occupation.Hope to see you back! Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The hague
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OR
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful
4 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 4 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 4 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Oct 2013
Dear Emily,Veronica and All,

Sorry I did not manage to say goodbye before you left - I was so tired that day I fell asleep! Anway glad you enjoyed the night crossing and your stay and we would be delighted if you return sometime.

Best wishes,

Mike and Wilma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mvmalli
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“WOW, You have to see it to believe it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I was torn about writing this review, I don't want to share my secret oasis!

Contacting the owner was a breeze and he arranges all transportation for you from the airport in Manila to the beach in front of the villa (transportation is by van and then boat- how cool is that?!).

The set-up is amazing. The house is huge, the AC in the rooms work great, the landscaping and private beach are beautiful. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable, and are great cooks. We had a wonderful and relaxing vacation. The week flew by and we wished we could stay longer.

There is good snorkeling right off the beach, but the best is a short five-minute boat ride away. The owner had arranged a boat to get us each day to take us for a small fee. He also suggested some worthwhile sightseeing around the island.

On the last day of our trip we had some rain and high winds from a far-away typhoon. Even though the public ferries were not running the owner was able to get us onto a private boat with a very skilled crew to make our way back to the airport. It is very helpful that he has a lot of good and reliable contacts.

The owner is also willing to make accommodations for the guests. We were three families traveling with kids, one a baby, and he was able to provide a crib and a highchair.

I do need to mention that the villa is on a steep hill, which make for some gorgeous views. But that also means that there are a lot of steps from the beach to the villa. I would not recommend this villa for anyone who cannot handle stairs.

We definitely recommend this villa. And we will be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2013
Your group were great company ,Michelle - I certainly won't forget the evening when we had the the roast pig party with the two Dutch families.
When are you coming back?!!
Mike and Wilma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$250
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing