We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing place to stay, perfect for family bonding”
other travellers have booked this property
Approach by boat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Approach by boat
Puerto Galera Bay from the top The villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Approach by boat
Puerto Galera Bay from the top
The villa
The villa and access road
The entrance and parking space
Side view of villa
Side view of villa
Side view of main terrace
Side view of villa
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom ensuite bathroom
Master bedroom terrace
Master bedroom terrace
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 terrace
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3 terrace
Bedroom 3 terrace
Bedroom 4 - family Room
Bedroom 4 ensuite bathroom
Bedroom 5 private terrace
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Cable television and Bose sound system
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Main terrace
Main terrace
Main terrace
Main terrace
Main terrace
Entrance terrace
View of cove from the terrace
View of entrance channels to the bay
Pathway to the beach
Pathway to the beach
Pathway to the beach
Pathway to the beach and the lower villa
Pathway to the beach
The private beach
The private beach
The private beach
The private beach
The private beach and gazebos
Beach loungers
Beach shower
Gazebos and kayak
Beach bar
Beach bar
Beach bar
Beach bar
Beach bar
Beach bar
Massage gazebo
Steps down to viewing platform
Paddle boarding off the beach
Enjoying the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro Province, Mindoro

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Tricia Ma...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing place to stay, perfect for family bonding”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The boat ride to the location was a lot wavy because we traveled in the afternoon and most of us were nauseous and were not feeling well, but all that faded upon arriving because of the beautiful view and the staff that greeted us like we were family. Every villa had the comforts of home and more. The rooms are very spacious, and has that touch of elegance, its also nice that every balcony has a great view of the cove. They also have paddle boats and a kayak, which are great activities for the calm waters, and a bit of exercise as well. I also liked that it was near other amenities such as the zip line and also near White beach (less than 30 minute ride) for water activities like the banana boat. I would definitely recommend this to friends who are planning to have a vacation with their family.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting, and the comfortable villas
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_La...
Provo, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most epic house of our entire vacation!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The 5 bedroom villa was a dream! Everything at the property was just as outlined on the listing. Mae took such good care of us. She went to the market and cooked for us every single day. She is a fantastic cook and is so nice and caring. It felt like my own mother was there taking care of us. She knows all the right people as well. If you need a boat, a driver, a tricycle, snorkeling, or a massage she knows someone and can get them to the house ASAP. She know's all the right people. The rest of the staff is also very helpful and does a great job at keeping the house and property in tip top shape.
The property is absolutely beautiful. The pictures almost don't to it justice. The view from the deck is breathtaking. I've never seen anything quite that stunning. All of the rooms are spacious and nice and cold with wonderful air conditioning. The beach is beautiful and has great sand. There isn't any sharp coral or anything bad about the beach. The beach has soft sand, beach chairs, paddle boards, and kayaks available for use. There are a lot of steps going to and from the beach, but it keeps you from gaining too much vacation weight. One thing about the house is that the main living area doesn't have air conditioning so at night it does get a little warm when you are just inside the house relaxing.
Wi-fi was also great during the stay.
Another plus is it's far from Sabang or any other loud areas. It is a ways away from the hustle and bustle of things so it's very easy to relax. Again, just ask Mae for anything you need. She's the professional as far as the island goes.
I would wholeheartedly recommend this property to anyone! It was fantastic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing view and the house help
Liked least: The lack of air-conditioning in the living area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REnglish2...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa and views!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed staying at this villa! The place is beautiful and the views are amazing. The staff (Linda and Romeo) were great and were very helpful! The cook, May, was amazing! She planned our menus and came up with great food complete with yummy dessert day after day!

If you are planning a visit you won't be dissapointed as the place is fantastic but to save headaches, it would be best to clarify the payment options with Mike (Owner) in advance, in order to ensure everyone is on the same page. We didn't think to clarify this up front and paid the first half through paypal in advance, expecting to pay with paypal for the second portion also. We found that Mike actually very much prefers cash for the second payment and asked we settle in USD or Philippine pesos. Although it is certainly possible to make a trip down to the bank and withdraw a large amount of cash, we didn't anticipate having to do so, nor plan it into our schedule so late in our stay.

For convenience, we ended up paying approx. $30-$40 USD extra in order to cover Mike's additional expense in having the payment go through paypal (i.e. apparently there are paypal fees & currency conversion losses). The payment issue was quite distracting and did take time away from the holiday mentality, so is something we would avoid in the future by clarifying payment details in advance.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bigdosh
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very close to paradise”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Private white sand beach, beautiful accommodations, great staff and friendly owners. All in all a really good experience.
Our group rented both the main house and the guest house as we had 6 adults and twin 15 month toddlers, but just the main house would have been more than enough space, in fact there were three bedrooms that went empty. Each room has it's own bathroom and shower, although apparently there was no hot water in the main house for the first few days (the guest house had plenty), but once the problem was mentioned to Mike, he fixed it right away) After an initially bumpy start with the cook/house keeper (a young man named Jan, who possibly didn't understand English or maybe had trouble hearing anyone through his earphones, but fortunately had to leave suddenly) we settled into a great routine with the replacement, Bernadette. Each day we would tell her what we wanted for dinner and she would shop and cook. We usually ate out for lunch either in nearby Puerta Galara (5 minutes by local taxi-trike), Sabang (half an hour by boat) or just at the top of the road at a great place oddly named Easter Island. Both houses also have full kitchens but after a few days of shopping for food in Puerta Galara and cooking ourselves, we were happy to eat whatever Bernadette whipped up for us.
There was snorkeling equipment, a kayak, and a couple of paddle boards available, plus the house next door is also a dive school, so there was pretty much something for everyone, including the twins who were more than happy to paddle in the crystal clear water and marvel at the schools of little fish, bright blue starfish, and occasional tiny crab that were all to be found in the shallow water.
A couple of things to be aware of when staying here are: 1) The mosquitos are relentless so plenty of bug spray, lotion, what have you is a must. I brought my own plug in mosquito repellent machine for the bedroom and slept great, others without weren't so lucky.
2) There are A LOT of steps. The house is built on the side of a steep slope which means great views and a serious climb to get down to the beach, guest house, or anywhere else. On the plus side carrying the twins up and down the steps was really good exercise, but it might be challenging for anyone with dodgy knees, and young children definitely require constant supervision ( then again, when don't they?). There is also no lighting on the stairs at night, so that can be exciting.

At the end of the day though, the bugs and stairs were minor inconveniences, easily balanced out by the fabulous house, stunning views, and beautiful beach. I would go back with my girls anytime, no question.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach and Bernadette
Liked least: Mosquitos.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
China
Reviewed 5 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SonnyYup
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!!! Paradise”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had a truly wonderful stay at Wilma and Mike's property. There is nothing else anyone would wish for except to stay on forever. The "Home away from Home" is truly a rarity and no expense was spared in any of the fixtures in the house as well as the garden.
Wilma and Mike are hands-on property owners and ensures that their guests are well taken care of. Our visit was a week after typhoon Haiyan and they ensured that the guests are not affected by power outages as Mike would quickly run towards the generator to crank it up.
The private beach in the property adds so much more value to the experience as compared to other properties in the area with no private beach.
The private staff supplied with the rental are an amazing duo who ensures that everyone is well fed and the house is spotless for the guests. The master's bedroom's view is breathtaking - one can just fall into a trance.
The boatsman recommended is a great tourist guide - but not a fishing guide.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: some mosquitoes - not a big deal insect repellant did the job
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2013
Sorry the fish were not biting Sonny but glad you enjoyed the experience!It was interesting to hear about the connections your family had with Puerto Galera so long ago during the occupation.Hope to see you back! Mike
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The hague
Reviewed 21 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing