We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place close to Sabang, Mindoro”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 53 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Beginning November it was almost empty and was all available for the few guests. The nicest about this property is that it is right on the beach. The hotel's restaurant , a beautiful alfresco setting with parasols and lovely decorated sitting area and pool is barely a meter away from the sea at high tide!
The room we selected was nice and large. It had en-suite bedroom, living room and bath. A baby cot was graciously put at our disposal.
Breakfast was OK. The restaurant did serve some good dishes. Wifi was not working well in our room but was OK in the restaurant.
The access is difficult, as no road leads to the hotel, only small pedestrian tracks from the nearby boroughs. We arrived with a motor-tricycle at the back of the "Small la Laguna Beach" and had to walk 200m up a small hill to the "Big la Laguna Beach" with our luggage - fortunately with the kind help of employees of the hotel.
We booked via booking.com and these told us 50% of our bill would be charged right away on our CC at the booking date by the hotel. But they did not and therefore charged us 100% at the checkout time! This is very awkward, as you are usually not able to check the veracity of this when you are checking out, standing in the hotel lobby on your way to your next destination.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Out of the Blue resort before I decided to stay here. I wanted a sea front apartment so that I can have a great view, hear the waves and pay a lower price. This is not 5 star resort and is basically sufficient for an apartment. Go to OOTB if u expect top class. The bar and dinning is infront of the beach. At high tide, the water is at the resort door steps. I dive With Action Divers and they are just next door.- which is a plus point. The night life Subang is about 10 mins walk from here. It is more quiet and peaceful over here. The staff are friendly and I had a good memories staying here. Wishing u a safe and fun holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We rented the 2b/r beachfront villa and it was perfectly accommodating. We arrived during the low season and after a typhon so the place was quiet, but the staff was helpful. They let us play our own music, make our noise and party as hard as we wanted till late at night. The staff also told us where to go and what to do in regards to food and activities and even came out partying with us one night.
There's a 5-10min walk to Sabang where you can rent a bike and drive to other places at the island. The walk is not bad and a small road has been made to follow. It's perfect if you want soem privacy than the hectic noise at Sabang.

Room Tip: If you are a larger group, select the 2b/r villa which fits 5-6 people if they bring in extra beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The pictures are accurate. The boat brought us up to the rocky pier in front of the hotel. Staff and management are friendly and knowledgeable. We traveled with a large group and were able to sample almost every room. Rooms could use some updating, but still had a rustic charm. The food at the restaurant and bar was good. Sabang is about a 15min walk along the beach making other night life and attractions within easy striking distance. Enjoying the stay.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank saintel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Visited Puerto Galera with my family and stayed at Portofino for a week, the resort is in good location, beach front, away from city life noise but still walking distance to pubs and shops. They have a nice swimming pool specially if you got kids, staff are friendly and good service but food menu in their restaurant is a bit pricey compare to nearby restaurants and yeah I think the rooms need a bit of remodelling but overall it is ok to stay. The highlight of our stay was the boys enjoyed their diving adventures and drink lots of San Miguel while the girls enjoyed swimming and shopping at Puerto Galera.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mabelle09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My family and I stayed Portofino last year and it wasn't bad for a 3-star hotel. The location is excellent - on Little La Laguna Beach about a 10-minute stroll from Sabang. The hotel is right on a pretty OK beach (but its condition can vary from month to month). Good for the kids. The building is a charming, Spanish-style affair but the rooms (individually owned I believe) can be a bit run down. Ours could have been cleaner too. The food was adequate and there are plenty of alternatives nearby. This is a good place for a relaxing family holiday IF the price is right.

Room Tip: Check the rates at other local hotels to ensure you pay a competitive rate. Portofino can be good va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Merlyn011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Overall, Portofino is nicely situated, about 5~10min walk from Sabang so it's quiet and next to Action Divers (where we took diving classes) and a wonderful restaurant called Full Moon.

The staff is friendly and accommodating, after we checked-in we asked to see if we can take a look at other rooms and potentially change our room. The staff was kind and arranged another room for us. Every staff we met there had a smile on their face, which was great.

The rooms, unfortunately, are a bit worn down and some of the rooms have a dark wood furnishing. While the rooms are spacious with kitchens, the kitchen counter tops were occupied by ants and the cooking-ware weren't clean.

I would say that the rooms here are good for travels who travel in groups and can utilize the nice big living room but not so much for couples looking for a romantic or pampering getaway.

Room Tip: Ask to see rooms because rooms are furnished differently. Personally, we thought room 21 was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.0 mi away
Out of the Blue Resort
Out of the Blue Resort
#1 of 53 in Puerto Galera
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#4 of 53 in Puerto Galera
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mermaid Resort
Mermaid Resort
#16 of 53 in Puerto Galera
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#50 of 53 in Puerto Galera
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 53 in Puerto Galera
221 reviews
5.9 mi away
Infinity Resort
Infinity Resort
#8 of 53 in Puerto Galera
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: Small la laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £44 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Beach Resort is located on prime beachfront in the lovely Small La Laguna Beach area of Sabang, Puerto Galera.The Spanish-Mediterranean style buildings nestled among a grove of coconuts and other exotic tropical plantings combine to create an environment of quiet intimacy and relaxation. Our restaurant menu combines the best of Mexican, Philippine and International cuisine. Your privacy, comfort and leisure are assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portofino Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing