We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Lil' Resort...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Portofino Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I just returned from 2 weeks of Diving and ''Frolicking and Cavoring" with the ''ACTION DIVERS''. While there, I stayed at the "PORTOFINO RESORT". I must say that I was impressed by the Portofino resort and it's GREAT STAFF. Everyone at the resort catered to my needs and if an issue ever arose, they dealt with it in a smooth, friendly manner...Thank you all for the great memories. If I ever return to the Sabang area, I will stay at the Portofino Resort. Shalom. JOSE' LUNA, NUEVO, CA. U.S.A., MARCH 2009.

Thank Nuevo_Ca_Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2008

Stayed here when diving with Action divers next door.

The Portofino is a great, clean beach hotel. It is built on the beach itself so you cant really get much closer. Rooms were of a good size, the bar was entertaining in the evenings. Food was reasonable, it is just sustenance.

The hotel management made a point of keeping the beach dvd/sword hawkers off the property, so it was nice not to be hassled.

Theres quite a few diving resorts on Sabang beach, but I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Jim from Arizona, I stayed in November 2006. I completed the PADI open water and advanced crs with Action Divers located next door. Their instructors were great.The hotel staff was very friendly and the food was good, rooms very clean and the pool refreshing. Roger,the owner made it a point to greet each guest.
The resort is located on the water and a 10 minute walk to Sabang,the local entertainment area.The resort can arrange for boating for fishing,and land tours. The view from the outdoor dinning area is very colorful and less busy than Sabang. The beach isn't for sun bathing as the volume of boats keep people
from swimming. Mostly dive groups stayed, they came from Australia,and other international destinations. The value you get for the peso is worth it and I plan to return in 2007. Great people ,great place.

Stayed: November 2006
9  Thank goldret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
132
Reviewed 18 October 2005

I have visited Puerto Galera for vacation several weeks each year for the past 4 years. I have stayed at several of the hotel / lodging /resort facilities there. The one I found to have all I wanted to ensure that I had an enjoyable yet relaxing and trouble free vacation was Portofino Beach Resort located on Small Laguna Beach. It is only a 5-10 minute beach walk to the night life / noise and shopping of the Sabang entertainment district. Portofino Beach Resort has outstanding facilities and customer service that meets Western Standards. It is safe and very clean. It is quiet and relaxing with a small swimming pool and and an excellent beach front view. The in house Chef and bar offered very good food and drinks at competitive prices. A very well established / outstanding diving / snorkeling business is located next door to Portofino BR. I found that package deals to combine Diving / snorkeling activities and lodging at Portofino BR were available. An American expat and his Filipina wife own and manage Portofino. I Highly recommend Portofino Beach Resort !!!

32  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 도균 홍
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank SU H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Caro813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Galera
0.6 mi away
Bamboo Beach Resort
Bamboo Beach Resort
#44 of 54 in Puerto Galera
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#15 of 54 in Puerto Galera
138 reviews
2.5 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#51 of 54 in Puerto Galera
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Badladz Dive Resort
Badladz Dive Resort
#3 of 54 in Puerto Galera
317 reviews
15.2 mi away
Eagle Point Resort
Eagle Point Resort
#1 of 7 in Mabini
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Beach Resort

Address: Small la laguna Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £41 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portofino Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofino Beach Resort is located on prime beachfront in the lovely Small La Laguna Beach area of Sabang, Puerto Galera.The Spanish-Mediterranean style buildings nestled among a grove of coconuts and other exotic tropical plantings combine to create an environment of quiet intimacy and relaxation. Our restaurant menu combines the best of Mexican, Philippine and International cuisine. Your privacy, comfort and leisure are assured. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Portofino Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing