We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portofino Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Lalaguna Villas(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Out of the Blue Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Deep Blue Sea Inn(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Scandi Divers(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabang Oasis Resort(Puerto Galera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
20
23
16
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
23
16
3
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2010

the hotel looks nice at the brochure. but all is manipulated, no white beach in the front. impossible to swim there because the water is not so clean there and there is in fact nearly no beach, the water just ended by the wall from the terrace from the hotel. the rooms are all very old and they need a complet restauration. I booked 5 nights, but cancelled all after 1 night. the room smells so bad and there was mood everywhere. the walls are wet and and this gives the bad smell.the roof lets comming water through in your room. the furniture are very old and all rooms are very dirty and dark. i changed the room after one hour, but the new room has the same problem.
would never stay there again. not good stay for holidays. we moved to tropicana hotel and this was also 20 dollars cheaper and great stay like as a king in a castle.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 November 2010

Pvboo, we are sorry that you did not like your room but we must respond to several naccuracies in your review.

Your statement that the brochure is manipulated is simply untrue. The main picture in the
brochure and an updated one on the home page of our website clearly shows the beach and the fact that it is not big. This is true for most of the Sabang waterfront in Puerto Galera
although it does vary from place to place. We accept that ours is on the smaller end. It
should not have surprised you that at high tide the sea comes all of the way to the seawall.
We do not hide this fact and many customers enjoy dining and drinks along the
seawall at high tide and people watching at low tide. And the beach is white sand even if it isn't very big. This is a world class diving area and the proximity to the house reef just offshore is part of what makes it so and also contributes to the smallish beaches. We make no apologies for that.

The water quality in Small La Laguna where the resort is located has very clean water that
people regularly swim, snorkel and dive in. At low tide the tidal pools are attractions for
explorers of all ages. The Philippine Department of the Environment and Natural Resources
(DENR) as well as major universities have done extensive water quality testing here. Small
La Laguna has always met the standards for water safety.

The room you were originally booked in is one of our more popular budget rooms and is
regularly requested by returning guests. The dampness on the wall was the result of a slowly
leaking pipe in a solid concrete wall that was just beginning to leech out and caused some
paint to peel. I don't believe that it smelled but that of course is subjective and we
respect your opinion. We should have caught this in our pre-arrival room preparation but we
regret that we did not. There is no mold in the room. Your comment that the roof was
leaking is not true. Had you looked you would have noticed that you were on the second story
of a three story building. The "roof" you refer to is actually the floor above and it and
the roof above that do not leak.

After you complained about the damp wall we gave you a free upgrade to a one bedroom unit.
You didn't like that room either which quite frankly was not a surprise. If a guest does not
like it here we would willingly help you relocate if you did not find our accomodations
acceptable after giving us a chance to correct the problem. You did not ask for help.

As far as the rooms being old you are correct. While management and owners are working
behind the scenes to plan for a renovation, that does not mean that the rooms are not clean
or not serviceable even if they are well used. Not everyone likes older hotels and I suspect
that is the case for you. We understand and accept that. If you look on our website you will
find recent pictures of nearly all of our rooms. These pictures were intentionally not
staged other than turning on the lights so that potential guests can see exactly what the
rooms are like since this is an older resort. What you see is what you get. We have never
misrepresented the resort and never will.]

Again, we are sorry that you did not like your room and wish you had given us more
opportunity to resolve your complaint but as the guest that is your choice which we will
respect.

Bill Moore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Reasonable value for the location but the resort is VERY tired and needs some serious attention. The staff were all excellent and accommodating. At one point we asked if our bed could be fixed as it was squeaking and they happily moved us to another room. Our second room was fine except that my wife got a very nasty electric shock from the ceiling fan which left her in tears and shaken for hours. When we brought this to the managers attention (Bill) his response was "yeah the wiring in this place is not real good". An appology would have been nice but none was forthcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OztravelsAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

This is our 3rd stay at the Portofino in the last 2 years and it only gets better each time.(THANKS CHARLIE AND BILL (MANAGER) ).We have stayed in 3 diffrent rooms each time and all have been great but our last stay in a beach front apartment topped it off. (WHAT A VIEW !) Can't recommend this place enough.GREAT service,staff,food.location and value. My husband and I will be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah73_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My family and friends are very regular visitors to PG (UK ex-pat in Manila). The Portofino is THE place we choose to stay in PG. It’s on Small La Laguna Beach which is the “Goldilocks” location not too far from the nightlife of Sabang but far enough away to enjoy peaceful daytime relaxation and nice views.

The rooms are really apartment units that are owned (I think) by different people. So the “rooms” are really big enough to live in with separate lounge/bedrooms etc and most have their own balcony too. So it’s like having your own holiday home at the beach instead of just staying in a standard hotel room. The rooms having separate owners and have variable standards of maintenance/refurb/finishing touches but are good value for the size/price point.

Very big factors for me in choosing the Portofino are the excellent food, staff and atmosphere they create. It’s a home from home where you can treat the place and get treated as resident not just another nameless guest in a hotel. If like my wife you want a particular fish for lunch tomorrow the staff will pick it up for you at the market on their way to work and the chef will cook it. It’s not a problem just ask and make yourself at home. As a diver I like the fact it’s right by Asia Divers which is the biggest/best dive outfit in town.

If you’re looking for a quiet/secure laid-back base of operations with a big room and good food this is a great choice.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talk2mrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Everything here exceeded our expectations. The staff is all very friendly and helpful. The property manager, Bill, went out of his way to assist us. It is right on the beach, with a beautiful view. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in in months. All of these wonderful attributes helped us overlook some small inconveniences, such as no toilet paper in either bathroom and a 'less than spectacular' shower. I would highly recommend this place and we hope to return to it when we have more time to spend here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nederdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews