We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but in need of renovation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Simon's Heritage Resort
Ranked #11 of 53 Puerto Galera B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant but in need of renovation.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Booked here through a hotel website.
The staff were nice.
Decided to change hotels after a night. The room was small for 4 people. The linen threadbare. The AC ineffective. Really poor water pressure. Cracked and sharp broken tiles in the room. Old horrid wardrobe which the door refused to stay shut. No in room safe.
Door knob was loose and hard to unlock.
Not worth $60 a night.
Breakfast was bare minimal quality.

I feel sorry for the people working there cause they do try their best.
The owner really needs to fix this place up.
At best a 2 star hotel...
Many better rooms at a similar price around white beach.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank plateman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level Contributor
283 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My family went here for the mother's day celebration. The place is not at the beach front, but white beach is just a good 1 minute walk away. I especially liked the fact that it's not near the beach because you can really have a peaceful stay away from the noise.

What I liked best is how the resort manager accommodated us. She entertained all our queries and assisted us properly. You can also ask her for guidance with the transportation from Batangas pier to the beach with the Minolo Shipping Lines. (MSL was decent enough, though there were just some issues, but that's a different story and I will not reflect its performance with the resort. I can't think and haven't heard of any shipping line to Galera that's worthy enough of 5 stars, so please recommend if you know one).

First, the hotel. It's decent and it provides the basic needs. The rooms are clean enough, with cable TV and airconditioning. Another thing I look into an accommodation is the toilet area. Our room's CR is just ok. It has hot and cold shower, but the water pressure isn't that strong enough. Nothing in the room is extraordinary, but with its affordable price (3K for 3pax overnight), it's a good enough deal. Every room has a set of table and chairs outside, where you can sit back and relax.

It also has a pool area, but it's not that big where you can do laps. But it's a good addition if you don't want to soak in the beach. But I think night swimming isn't possible because there's not enough lighting in the pool area at night.

For the food, they do provide 2 free breakfast in each accommodation. They have 4 choices: American, Filipino, French and the other one I forgot. Breakfast is nice, and they even agreed to serve it earlier for us. But then again, it's not something extraordinary.

For the service, the manager is especially accommodating. As for the other staff, they are comprised mostly of teens, and I think they are having their summer jobs. They are courteous enough and we've encountered no problems with their services, but I think they could still learn a lot more.

This has been a good, pleasant stay. But a lot of things can still be improved. Nevertheless, if you want to have a decent and peaceful accommodation, do book in Simon's.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We kicked-off the Summer season by attending the Malasimbo Music Festival in Puerto Galera. Our home during the festival was Simon's Heritage Resort. Nothing fancy about the resort but surprisingly, everything you'll need is here!
No buffet-- but breakfast, lunch and dinner ala carte are being served everyday. Their average-sized pool is enough to contain a group of 12 persons for a great summer bonding experience with their cute nipa hut-inspired mini bar. To top it all, every staycation's make or break moment is really about the resort's hospitable, friendly and helpful staff and boy, they have truly delivered!
Plus, it's only around 2-3 minute walk from the white beach and it's really affordable! (very ideal to budget travellers)
Next time you visit White beach in Puerto Galera, make Simon's Heritage Resort your first choice. Satisfaction guaranteed!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
78 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during the Malasimbo Festival.
Our room was very spacious and clean. I was surprised they even offered us welcome drinks!
No tv yet and shower water pressure isn't that strong but they do have a bidet and a simple yet comfy bed. They also have a pool and you only have to walk for 2mins to reach the beach. Staff was super friendly! Thanks to Shirley, Manny and John for making us feel at home!

The fee already includes breakfast. The price is very reasonable for budget travelers. Highly recommended! We'll definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mae I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwin Y, Owner at Simon's Heritage Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2016
Thanks to your honest review. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Don't be fooled by the other resorts. Jon and his staff are super nice and always ready and willing and please. The rooms are clean with nice hot showers. The free breakfast is always great. They helped me and my new family have a great time. Thanks Jon and staff!

Hunter and Cherry

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erwin Y, Owner at Simon's Heritage Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2016
Thanks for your honest review. We currently improving our facilities to make your next visit more pleasurable and exciting. Hope to see you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
3.9 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
Marco Vincent Dive Resort
#6 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
5.0 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sea Jewel Beach Resort
Sea Jewel Beach Resort
#27 of 53 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mountain Beach Resort
Mountain Beach Resort
#8 of 53 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Beach Resort
White Beach Resort
#46 of 52 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon's Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon's Heritage Resort

Property: Simon's Heritage Resort
Address: White Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon’s Heritage Resort, a dream resort in a tropical country, where nothing has been spared to bring the finest in accommodations, facilities, dining and relaxation. Simon’s Heritage Resort, tucked away in the seaside town of White Beach Puerto Galera, Oriental Mindoro, Philippines, a 100% square meters landscaped, tropical resort with half mile long beach fronting the Batangas Strait . It is a secluded hideaway where tranquility and activity meet.A place which sets one free to do and enjoy things out of the ordinary in a convivial setting of sun, sea and sand. Laze in a hammock under the palm trees, dive or snorkel for a look-see at beautiful marine life, explore the resort by pathways or jet skies or simply enjoy beautiful tropical setting. Simon’s Heritage Resort offers a variety of accommodations to suit your needs. There is a wide selection of rooms to choose from, from air-conditioned rooms to standard rooms with fan. All rooms are equipped with private shower & toilet and double or single beds. Extra beds are available upon request. Be mesmerized with the ambiance and light effects of the patio hall. It will add an enchantment to an already romantic mood you would experience.Excitingly, we are Wi-Fi hotspot for free! Poolside Bar offers you fruit juices or spirits to revive you by the pool. Feast on the freshest catch from the sea beside the ocean. Mini Cuisine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Enjoy and unwind to our pool beside the bar. Feel and be relaxed to the gushing sound of our mini-waterfall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Simon's Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing