We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place to stay and dive”
Review of Mermaid Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mermaid Resort
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Reviewed 31 October 2013

we had stayed at the Mermaid for 5 days and i can say that it was an awesome experience for me. Staff are very accommodating and food are great. We did hidden treasure trip and snorkeling which i enjoy it very much. If you are a diver looking for a nice place to dive, i recommend you this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mochuslar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Recently stayed at the Mermaid, I had stayed here before in 2012 for 10 days and enjoyed the location and service.
My stay this time was cut short and had to return to Makati for work, I had payed for a week in advance with my Visa card. After 1 night stay went to the receptionist and explained that I had to leave early. I was told I could get a "voucher" for the other 6 nights that was valid for 6 months because the was no way to credit my account...they certainly had no problem charging my account. I asked could they cancel the transaction and I would pay cash for the 1 night I stayed and was told it wasn't possible. I am no stranger to hotel stays and have never had this happen before. Also there was no cancelation policy when I charged my room (I did it in person at the front desk).
So just be forwarned that if you pay in advance with a credit card at the resort and have to leave early...you will only recieve a voucher for the balance valid for 6 months.
I did give them 2 stars because it is a nice place to stay and the service is good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan-D-flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Resorts in puerto gallera are over crowded...too commercialize. So the accomodations depend where you checked in. Staffs in mermaid diving resort are polite, wifi is strong, in lobby they offered beers and snacks and incase you check in request a room facing the shore if possible. Because as ive said resorts are over crowded and some of the rooms located at the back of other resorts kitchen.so its a bit noisy at night and smoke and smells of food went to bathroom windows,just like what happend to us.

Over all if you went there to experience diving...the resort is fine and its amenities. But dont expect that you could swim in front of the resort because it dirty, like theres diving service boat everywhere and not so clean water, sometimes theres motor oil on water. You can swim a little far from the shore line. Or if you want you can go to sabang beach resort, other side of the island thru tricycle at 50 php to 100php (TRANSPO ARE NOT REGULATED so sometimes its up to you...if you think the price is not practical look for another ride and negotiate the price).

The diving location is very nice and i can recommend thier diving spot a good choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opium30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed in a few different hotels in Sabang but this was easily the best, great rooms, good food and staff, also very private compared to other hotels, will deffo stay there the next time im in Sabang. Laundry service was an extra bonus and cheaply priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leelo84664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We've stayed a few times now at the Mermaid Resort. The rooms, the resort, are always clean. Air con amazing and great water use. We travel with our youngest child and our nanny when we go. We get a two room place and it has a nice sitting area with a great big window overlooking the pool. The down sides for me are the noise from the pool table if you have a roudy all night group going. The room we stay in is right over it. The food is ok. Not great and not terrible. It is off the beach so away from the clubs. You do hear street traffic especially in the early morning when everyone is coming in.

The staff is very nice and polite. We've never had a problem.

As to the money thing. Yes it is quoted in US dollars. No, we can't reserve with our credit card. We can't reserve a flight on the major airlines either with a card from home. It has to do with fraud. Painful yes but, we use PayPal and so we do have some recourse if we ever needed it but, we have not. Even when it comes to exchanging money, which is arbitrary in many countries unless it is at the bank, the staff directs us to where we get the most PhP for our dollar. We've used our credit card to give final payment. Credit cards cost the owner about 3% so many places add it around the globe, even a few places here in the US. Ever notice the cash or credit price differences at the gas pump? Out bank and the Philipine banks charge a conversion fee. At some of the major stores there is an option to get your charge in Pesos, USD, or Euros. That's to avoid the conversion charge.

We missed diving for a big Typhoon. Our package was prepaid so we received a credit voucher for the dives we did not make. This does mean we need to return for the diving but I just returned from Key Largo and guess what their policy is if you miss prepaid dives due to weather? Yup, you get a voucher to come back and do those dives.

Well, we returned for those dives and they were as amazing as all the others. Some sites are definitely better than others but as a whole, this is the beast place we've been. The dive masters are amazing at finding all sorts of critters everywhere. They're friendly, responsible, and good at what they do. We're planning our next trip and it will be with Mermaid!

They aren't the most luxurious place in the Philippines to stay but they are certainly above average in every way.

Room Tip: The rooms close to the road are noisier. The rooms facing the street behind have a hovel view but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gigidiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had no choice but to stay at the mermaid, rooms were massive and was right by the pool, cool if u like swimming.. Staff were very friendly, nothing was a bother for them....was a good stay was just a bit pricey compared to other places there but a nice hotel and would stay there again

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank launchmaster20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

3 nights in the pool suite were a bargain. Close enough to the port to walk, far enough away to allow a great nights sleep .the rooms are huge , the bathrooms are fabulous and the air con ferocious .
The staff are friendly and the food is good ,

Had a super stay and wouldn't hesitate to return

Room Tip: The pool suites are worth the money , step out of your room onto the pool terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
0.4 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#5 of 54 in Puerto Galera
175 reviews
2.3 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#4 of 54 in Puerto Galera
251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#15 of 54 in Puerto Galera
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
El Galleon Beach Resort & Hotel
#14 of 54 in Puerto Galera
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manarra Seaview Resort
2.1 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#23 of 54 in Puerto Galera
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Resort

Address: Sabang Beach | Sabang Beach, Puerto Galera, Mindoro 5203, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range: £41 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mermaid Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mermaid Resort Puerto Galera is the finest dive resort in Sabang, Puerto Galera. The waters around have been dubbed the center of the center of marine biodiversity in the world. Mermaid Resort features 40 large guest rooms and suites -- all exclusively furnished with the comforts of a modern hotel resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mermaid Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Puerto Galera
Mermaid Resort Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing