We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great weekend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceana Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oceana Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Quezon City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Thank You so much Ms. genny and staff! You made our team bonding memorable. Oceana is the best, very relaxing, sound of waves soothing, good food, great service! I love Oceana! see you again soon!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

I have been to Oceana Beach Resort countless of times and every time I go there, the place gives me a serene and peaceful feeling. Being in the opposite of White Beach, the resort offers privacy and safety to tourists.

I especially commend the warmth of the owner and his staff. I also love it that they have many recreational facilities such as kayak, freshwater pool, billiards, pool, basketball courts, etc. to keep me and my company entertained.

Breakfasts here are fantastic. The slow-cooked / grilled porkloin is also delicious, very tender.

Of course, Puerto Galera is known for its underwater attractions. The coral garden in Muelle Bay is only 15-minutes away from Oceana.

Oceana Beach Resort is located in Dulangan Beach, far from Sabang and White Beach. The beach is clean and private.

Will definitely come back.

Room Tip: For families travelling together, the pension house is the nicest. It has a veranda fronting the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kayesale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

Under new management but it's really relaxing and very quite We really want to come back here again and stay. Beautiful people.....We recommend it to all our friends all over the world!!!Go Oceana We'll see you all Cristmas Time!!! Love it Love it...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ellesingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Place: 20 minutes away from Muelle port, 25 minutes away from the hub of White Beach life and 25 minutes away from the bustling night life of Sabang, Oceana Beach Resort is an almost perfect get-away. though the resort was undergoing a lot of renovations, noise was so minimal it did not disturb the peace and quite we sought from the hustle and bustle of everyday city life. the lawns were landscaped and carpeted with lush greenery (a little trimming might do some good though). pool was not that big but it served its purpose without a hitch so we had much fun using it. the deck chairs were comfortable especially for reading or just lazing around or having your suntan. we also enjoyed having our suntan at the sandy volley court with comfortable deck chairs while reading or just gazing at the ocean or passing small bancas.

there was also a mini library where you can borrow books during your stay, a lounge area with big sofa chairs where you can sit and relax and sip a cold drink from a wide choice of cocktail drinks from their mini bar.

Rooms: the cottage was spacious for two PAX though air-conditioning unit was a little on the old side and can emit a not-so pleasant noise. the small balcony was a perfect place to relax during the night where you can see the glimmering lights from the civilization of the other islands and the bobbing lights from the fishing boats, not to mention fishing trawlers. we also enjoyed a cable TV, the comfort of a big bed and lots and lots of pillows and the room had its own hot and cold shower.

Service: nothing beats Oceana in terms of services rendered. what service they can offer, they do it first class with you in mind. super great service especially given by the new owner Mr. Michael Cha and his resort manager Jenny Latap. so with Jenny's assistants Kat-kat and Rizza. personal accommodation given was really amazing.

Food: choices can be found in their menu and you can ask them for specially prepared food to your own specification. Michael and Jenny can go out of their way to cook for you personally with whatever your requests are.

Equipment: my partner loved playing table tennis with Michael who remained unbeaten until the time we said our goodbyes. beach volleyball was available. there were also two kayaks, one for double and one for single use. we enjoyed using the kayak exploring the coast and finding a good place to snorkel. Jenny can also arrange diving and snorkeling activities with only minimal fees as what she did with us.

hopefully by the end of the year that badminton court/basketball court which was halfway into construction will be operational.

Beachfront: though a little rocky, we had a great time swimming during high tides as then the sand along the beach was covered by the water so we get to stand on it instead of the rocks from further down deep. but there's a good sandy beach a hundred or so yards away from the resort which was isolated and great for swimming.

a little improvement on their infrastructures, amenities and with additional equipment, Oceana Beach Resort will go a long way.

CHEERS to Michael and Jenny who really made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. this really is a place you can call a home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hazool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

My boyfriend and I planned to go to Puerto Galera. I was looking for a relaxing place near the beach, and I found this place via Tripadvisor. Our schedule was hectic, we had to visit his cousin near Baco near Calapan and 2 days after we had to go White Beach so I was looking for a resort between these locations before going to White Beach. Then I found this resort through Tripadvisor. I contacted this resort and Ms Jenny was very helpful. She was even concerned to text me asking where I was because at 2pm we were still on the road. When we arrived, welcome drinks were served and immediately showed us the room. The resort was very nice, Ms Jenny introduced us to the owner of the resort..they were very hospitable. It was like a second home from us! The place and the room were very clean. There's no tv in the room but it was fine because overall we enjoyed every minute of our stay. They even showed us the beach front cottages. As for our complimentary breakfast, they informed us that they are going to serve bangus and tocino..so I was expecting just a small portion of tocino and a small bangus..but no I was totally wrong, they served the biggest bangus I ever seen! Tocino, rice and egg..that type of serving was actually brunch for me :) My boyfriend fell in love with this place, this resort is a must try!! My boyfriend said that we can't go to Puerto Galera without visiting Ms Jenny and staying at Oceana! This place is already included in our next trip to Mindoro. We will try the beachfront cottage and hopefully their spa service! I strongly recommend this resort for couples,families and group of friends that are looking for some quality time and a relaxing ambiance!!thank you so much Ms Jenny :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed overnight at the resort's beach front cottage. I was with my husband and two little kids. Perfect service, beatiful resort! I would have given the resort a perfect rating had our room been equipped with a television and wifi coverage (although there was wifi coverage in the dining and pool areas). Still, overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back with our friends! :-) For a more detailed review and to view several pictures, you can go to http://www.graceinfullmeasure.com/2011/03/oceana-beach-resort.html.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GraceInFullMeasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Aust
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We loved the family beach cottages right on the ocean. They were nice a clean with a great Pilipino style to make you relax. The kids loved being able to walk out the door to play on the beach or have a swim in the pool. Us adults enjoyed the hospitality, great bar selection and wonderful spa experiences. The staff were excellent and catered for all our family dietary needs.
We will be returning to this value for money resort with class.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherylMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
1.3 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.3 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#13 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#21 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dolphinbay Beachfront  & Dive Resort
Dolphinbay Beachfront & Dive Re...
#28 of 51 in Puerto Galera
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.9 mi away
Puerto Nirvana Beach Resort
Puerto Nirvana Beach Resort
#26 of 51 in Puerto Galera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Resort

Property: Oceana Beach Resort
Address: Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Oceana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing