We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, clean, friendly, and quiet place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceana Beach Resort
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Puerto Galera
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, clean, friendly, and quiet place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

After researching for a decent beach resort, I came across Oceana Beach Resort. The general manager, Jenny, was SO helpful from beginning to end. I had a group of 11 people that I needed to take care of and Jenny really helped me to transport all of us from Manila to their place with ease. She also upgraded our whole group from the garden cottages to the beachfront ones for FREE! So let me break down the different things:

Service: Service did not waver one bit even though it was just the 11 of us at the resort. The personalized attention and hospitality of ALL the workers was amazing. The owner, Peter, was also around to make us feel at home. Our rooms were cleaned on the second day, and although the toiletries (shampoo and toilet paper) weren't restocked, they were promptly given when I asked for them at the front.

Location: This place is away from the loud, touristy White Beach area. You should definitely come here if you are looking for a quiet, secluded place away from vendors and loud music. It's a small island so it's not far from White Beach if you want to go for the day.

Rooms: The beachfront cottages were really clean and simple. The towels were so big and fluffy and there was HOT water! The little balcony was awesome to sit, relax, and stare at the ocean, which was a stone's throw away.

Food: AWESOME! Can't go wrong with anything they serve. Try the icy, corn drink. I'm not sure what was in it, but it was so good.

Grounds & equipment: Beautifully landscaped. You'll see occasional frogs jumping around. The pool was fun. They only had 1 usable kayak at the time which was fun, but it would've been nice if they had more because we had a group of 11.

All in all, I would definitely come back to this place if I ever go back to the Philippines. The location, service, PRICE and people were just so great. Thanks Oceana for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watergurl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
7
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

Probably the most relaxing, care-free, pampered vacation ever!
The owners, Peter and Julie, and their incredible manager, Jenny, and her staff, could not have possibly have done more to assure a perfect vacation. They anticipated most of what we wanted and had all sorts of other options. Snorkeling, our main interest, was amongst the best we have seen anywhere. The lunches they sent along were perfect. The resort is away from the noise and dirt of Puerto Galera and Sabang. When we needed to go, transportation was always arranged within minutes and, as most everything, very inexpensive.

Keep in mind this is a Philipine Island. The rooms and decor are simple, very clean and done with taste. We chose the beachfront cottage. The lighting in the bathrooms is actually better than the Four Seasons or the JW! The towels were amazing.

We ate out twice at highly recommended places. They were good, but the food at the resort was absolutely the best. Everything is purchased fresh daily. We told them to put golden handcuffs on their cook. Be sure to try their watermelon shake. if you're really a good guest, you could probably get Julie to buy fresh prawns, prepared so deliciously, one evening.

I took off my watch, plugged in my iPhone, and never touched them for the 8 days we stayed. A first for me!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPAShenzhen_China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

In May we went to PG for the first time. Friends had recommended us to Oceana Beach Resort and we weren’t disappointed. It’s really private and a great place to chill out. The grounds are beautiful and large and it felt great to go to sleep and wake to the sounds of the waves and with a sea breeze. The food is good, the margheritas are fantastic and its all so cheap compared to Bali or Thailand. The staff couldn’t do enough for us, and even though we ventured out a couple of times to the bars of White Beach and Sabang, I was so glad we weren’t staying there. At the end of a week we really felt rejuvenated. A few great massages by their guy there, in the cabana, topped the whole thing off.
We plan to come back to try out their new spa. Good Job Guys!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Trip:
-our transportation (c/o of Swagman Hotel) had a broken airconditioner so the 1.5 hour drive was very uncomfortable. We already complained to the driver but they just said the owner won't have it fixed
-boat ride made me more tired because of the strong waves

Oceana:
-great staff and manager, very accomodating
-food was good, good price and serving
-rooms were okay, a bit small but good for a 2 people
-place didn't look like the pictures they posted in their website but it was very quiet and serene
-beach wasn't that nice, very rocky and not nice to swim in
-30min tricycle ride going to White Beach where it was crowded but the beach was nicer

My friend and I stayed at Oceana for 3 days and 2 nights. The trip really made us tired so we slept most of the time when we got there. Overall, I think that Oceana resort can still be made better. I hope they get to do something about their beach because if it was a little more like White Beach, then their place would've been almost perfect. Their location is also isolated from all the busy beaches in the area so I'd recommend it for people who just want to chill and relax.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohmyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

Yes the staff was friendly, relaxing ambiance, and thats about it, those are the only positive things in oceana beach resort. Stayed in a graden room, its small and has no tv...but if your looking for a beach with a good nice shore, this is not the place to go, dont let the pictures in their site deceive you. If you can settle for a swimming pool, a shore and beach front full of rocks (huge and small rocks) then you can settle for this one... believe me there is no sand in their area, its not a beach resort, even the price i paid just for that is too much for that experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adventureseeker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterOceana, Owner at Oceana Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 May 2010
We are sorry that you were confused by the photos on our website. The photo you are referring to is of course the beach just up from ours. However we like our little beach, as do many others as it provides snorkelling just in front of the resort. We will remove this photo from our website, in case others have the same confusion as you. Many of our guests avail themselves of our white sand, man made beach which overlooks the water, and of course our crystal clear swimming pool.
You obviously missed our big screen plasma TV in the bar for guest use.
You may wish to try one of our beachfront cottages with ensuite, balcony, and anteroom for your next visit if you require more space, than our garden rooms.

Owners of Oceana Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

We had planned to stay at Oceana for four days but ended up staying for eight! It was peaceful, beautiful and we were surrounded by fantastic people. We don't know any other place that can match the level of service that Oceana offers. It is personal but also very professional. Jenny (manager) and Peter (owner) made our stay something really special. They helped us to arrange motorcycles, boat trips, barbecue evening, driving us to the village and much more!!! Everyday Jenny met us with a smile and coming back to Oceana after a day trip was like coming home.

We recommend Oceana for anyone who is after a relaxing holiday! Rooms are clean and the bungalows are very nice with the sea only meters away from the balcony. It is also very good value, both in terms of accommodation and food.
we are hoping to come back some day!
Thanks for everything J and P!!!
// Johan & Johanna
PS: We will add some photos within soon

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ_Gothenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Oceana last March 19. We are so impressed with the beauty of the place. We even decided to stay 1 more night.
Staff are great. Specially the manager Ms Jenny. Kudos as well to all staff and crew.
They really took care of us.
Hopefully we can come back soon.. :-)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queensweet_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Galera hotels
2.7 mi away
The Manor at Puerto Galera
The Manor at Puerto Galera
#24 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
1.3 mi away
Badladz Beach Resort
Badladz Beach Resort
#5 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Montani Beach Resort
Montani Beach Resort
#11 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
Blue Crystal Beach Resort
#23 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lalaguna Villas
Lalaguna Villas
#9 of 52 in Puerto Galera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
2.1 mi away
Encenada Beach Resort
Encenada Beach Resort
#47 of 52 in Puerto Galera
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Resort

Property: Oceana Beach Resort
Address: Puerto Galera, Mindoro, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mindoro > Oriental Mindoro Province > Puerto Galera
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Galera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana Beach Hotel Puerto Galera

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing