We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolarog Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I am surprised that people can criticise when staying in such a beautiful spot! Seriously people! The beauty of the place is the rustic feel - the porch areas of the bungalows complete with hammocks are lovely. The included boat tours (complete with all snorkelling gear) each day really make it - so much better than using the operators in the town.. we met some great people and as a group were able to go out as a group on the boat snorkelling and then stopping in El Nido for lunch.... I thought breakfast and dinner were just fine. Sure people we spoke to had major issues with the owner but from our perspective staff were lovely and Xmas Eve celebrations were really nice.

Room Tip: We had a great time and met some wonderful people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    32
    22
    22
    32
See reviews for
13
87
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Food is at the lowest standard:
- Breakfast far below what is currently offered in a small and cheap guest house. Overcooked eggs, scarce pieces of bread, canned juice. Beg for an additional cup of coffee.
- Dinner is likely to be below your Company’s canteen level. Arrive early when grilled fish is prepared and fight for it as quantities are limited.
- No drinking water provided in the room. You will pay USD 1,60 for a bottle in a USD 260 bungalow per night!!. There is no small profit...
Service and maintenance of the hotel is poor (water leaking in flows for 3 days without being repaired).
You might wait 1h30 for the boat shuttle to be completed with other guests. The hotel owner probably wishes also to reduce cost of gasoline…
All the above is so unfortunate while the location is among the best at El Nido, with an amazing view and considering what could be delivered with a minimum of professional management and less greediness.
As a conclusion, I recommand to avoid this hotel pending a change in management.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jerome p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Nido hotels

Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We went to Dolorog because of its location. There are amazing views and a beautiful beach (if you ignore the rubbish). On the first night the room was suddenly filled with thousands of ants on the bed, the towels, the bathroom and in the luggage, we asked for a new room.
On the second night a Typhoon began at midnight and the roof leaked, the room was flooded with water, the bed was soaking wet. We were looking for one of the crew to give a solution to the problem but there was no one in the office and everything was dark. we had to sleep in a wet bed...
In the morning we asked to check out because of all the problems. Price per night was $ 120 and we asked for a discount because the room was flooded with water. We asked to see the manager but he refused to leave come out of his office and sent the waitress to tell us it is 440$ a night instead of 120$ (!!!) and that the problem is the weather itself ... We asked to speak to him again and waitress came back with an answer that he will not talk to us and if we do not pay him 440$ he will call the police... We realized that we are dealing with a crook and after many arguments we paid 120$ per night and got out of there as fast as we could!

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Yael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good place to stay away from crowded El Nido.
Pricey, but Island Hops are included, these make your day!(100€/night in a Bungalow)
They will surprise you each day! just paradise.
The Hotel itself is very simple, located at the beach, which is not so pretty.
Food is OK, don´t expect nothing all over Philippines...stick with Pizza and you won´t get so disappointed, the cuisine which uses Coconut and spices is extinct in most places.
But the dinner is at least a feast for 2 , easily and will brighten your evening after a long day of snorkeling through dreamlike fantasies of beaches.
The best Beach: Sitting Commando and Elephant Island.
Something what you guys must change: Put a freaking silencer on the boats engine!
It is really seriously Tinitus threatening!
Nice to take the Kayak and just cross over to the beach , all by yourself!
All other resorts cost over 300 $ per night, so it is quite alright.
Electricity? 1800-2400, 1000-1200.
Are you going to miss it? After the first evening? Nai.
Warm Water? Nope, no need...at 28-32 C!
Air condition? What for? the fan goes until midnight...it was alright, not too hot when I was there during my 4 days.(2 have AC,)
1 Cockroach in the Bathroom, killed her, in the morning the was eaten away...recycling jungle high tech!
Not much privacy, rooms have no keys, side walls are fin like openings.
Good for you? for Honeymoners, go to Maledives, or another place.
Salt water Pool: Almost empty. Who needs a pool in this Bocait tranquility of seas anyway?
Wanna see fishes: Yeay!Diving Paradise, never have I seen so many ! Even better than Seychelles, Maledives,Mariana,Mauritius!
Big Fishes? Nay, go to Coron, lots of wrecks, the guide says, 12-65m deep.
Waves? Rather mirror like flat most times.
Saw my first Tornado over water!
Perfect place to unplug, but expect no luxury.

Room Tip: The Rooms on the North look better situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maia, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Dolarog Beach resort is a resort in a remote location but with paradisiac views. The cottages are beautiful and comfortable overlooking the baicut bay. There was only electric light between 10 am and 12 am and 06 pm and 12 pm but the hotel has many options for entertainment and hiphop travel across the Baicut bay to all hidden beaches and lagoons. A TV room with blue ray movies, billiards, lecture room and salt water pool are fine. The food is plentiful and above average for the Philippines. The staff was very friendly, especially Angela. The italian owner although not very talkative was friendly. I with my wife and teen daughters liked the Dolarog and the surrounds and we went in low season with some rain.

Room Tip: Beach view cottages for sure !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xicosperto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

I made the mistake of skimming the bad reviews... DO NOT make the same mistake as me! As soon as we arrived we decided to check out (unfortunately we had to spend one night since it was too late to leave). We lost our money, but saved our vacation. This hotel is TERRIBLE.

First, they are too cheap to pay for the wharf fees at El Nido so they pick you up on the boat in someone's backyard. To get there, you walk down a muddy road, step over BARBED WIRE into their yard, and then wade into water up to your waist (in travel clothes) to get into the boat. Even if it is raining, they have no cover for your bags. Other resorts (obviously) use the wharf, give lifejackets, put your bags in a dry space. Not the Dolarog!

Second, the rooms are infested with bugs, the mosquito net has holes, the room is dirty (there are wooden planks in the place of windows - which means people can see inside at all times), and perhaps my favorite part - the DOORS don't lock! Two sliding doors lock together, but you can slide them both over a little and walk right into the room. Do you want to spend a night trapped in a room that anyone can enter? Do you want to leave your things there during the day?

Third, the website is all lies. There is NO HOT WATER, NO ELECTRICITY passed midnight - which means no fan or aircon as you sleep - or try to sleep throughout a miserable night. The pool is green and disgusting. The beach falls away quickly and is not really for swimming.

The service was awful. The main girl was constantly on the phone. The owner came over and even though we were the only ones at the resort - he never came over to greet us or see how our trip was. We were shocked at how cold this place seemed. The food was disgusting. The eggplant tasted like the propane used to cook it. The minestrone soup was from a (very cheap) can. And, the menu is fixed so we couldn't just choose something else.

Overall, this hotel just seemed decrepit, neglected, and bad. Perhaps if it cost $20 per night I wouldn't have this reaction, but for $200 a night I just kept being shocked at how terrible everything was. Don't even consider this place if you want a great vacation!!

Room Tip: There are no good rooms - we paid for the best, the Deluxe rooms and it was filthy, bug infested and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank LaureninMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolarog R, Owner at Dolarog Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Yes,, you are right! The place where we picked you up is not nice and get worse in last few months. It’s not our fault. We choose that place because is just 2 minutes walking from the bus/van terminal where everybody arrived and it takes 20 minutes to get to Dolarog. We don’t go to the pier/wharf (is in town the other side of the Bacuit bay) just to save 6 pesos for the pier fee? The trip from the pier it takes 1 hour and this is not the mean reason, the important is where you leave (Corong-corong) we can keep on eyes on the weather because this time of the year is monsoon season, in 10 minutes can get huge thunder storm with strong wind and big waves can appear in a few minutes. So we have time to decide to leave or wait for the calm. Anyway, in 20 years of operating this resort, we don’t have any accident and we never lost any guest not like others.
About the complained:
• COTTAGE = your lying. That is not true. Our housekeeping spend whole day to clean and prepare your cottage and after they clean, we send somebody to double check before the guest arrived.
• DOOR = you are correct. Actually, many of our cottage don’t have any door lock, because we leave in safe place. No thief. Even inside of the resort. Nobody can enter unnoticed. Anyway, you have also safety box inside of your room.
• HOT WATER = as we said, before our guest arrived we double check the cottage also the hot water and we checked also after you left. Still, there is hot water. And when you are here you never tell us about your problem. Like hot water, maybe you don’t know how to use. If you tell us, we can teach you how to use it.
• ELECTRICITY = It is written in our website that our electricity provide at 6pm to midnight only.
• FOOD = Maybe is not your taste. At least we try to serve fresh food. And we never heard that there is MINESTRONE SOUP in the can. And we don’t stock any frozen food. For the EGGPLANT OMELET is been cooked in Filipino style. First, grilled the eggplant and removed the skin and after you fried with eggs. Is very unlikely it taste like propane.
This is what you get on that night:
1. Minestrone soup (just arrived from Italy in a nice can box)
2. 400g Garlic shrimp (which is you finished all)
3. 3 slice of grilled pork chop
4. Tomato salad with extra virgin oil from Italy (just arrive together with Minestrone)
5. Eggplant omelet
6. Rice
7. Mango fruit

And you write down DISGUSTING FOOD?

Before you criticized the place, you should be try to stay. According to our staff you have a hundred of complains even before you arrived. You complained even small things like the payment of 50 pesos charge for phone call, for the off lotion you told them is an old because she get in a storage? And you just need us to organize for your van trip Sabang to El nido and we need to provide a van fare because you told us you don’t have enough cash? Is another Lie!
You should be ashamed to write down all this lies in the internet. Starting from the girl, who picked you up and take care of you all the time when you are here. To the boatman, who put your luggage inside of the plastic bag and bring rain coat for you. To the 2 housekeeping, who spend whole day to prepare your cottage. To the maintenance, who checked your light and hot water before you arrived. To the Waitress, who give you an old stock off lotion. To the people in the kitchen especially the chief cook, who spend months of trainee in Manila. To the guy, who spend 3 hours every day to clean the swimming pool. To the girl, who run our website. You offend them all.
Once you write down all your stories in the internet, you should tell the truth. Before even you arrived here, you have already a plan to move out or you have already booked in different resort /hotel to criticized everything just to get a REFUND. After a while when you find out you cannot get any refund, you write down all this lies in the internet.
And for the 100 dollar each you pay us is included: breakfast and dinner, Island hopping tour, kayak, mask and fins and free boat transfer. And all the facilities for free to use. Like Billiard, soccer table, table tennis, Badminton, volleyball, treadmill, Dart, Movie room, etc..
And now, please tell us if the next hotel/resort where you moved or hotel you’ve been, if the hotel owner come and greet you? Maybe you stay longer there.
Next time, if you want to stay in 5 star hotel, don’t booked in a 3 star and pretend to be in a 5 star. Especially if you like big block of cement. Not in our place is made in native style and melt down to the nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Hedland, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Location is fantastic. we had a room on right on the beach.
But the staff were badly in need of training. we had purchased a deal with a set menu. Upon arrival we were shown to our room and given a coconut drink. just relaxing when we were told we had to have dinner now or kitchen would close. 7pm. Then the food was droppe don our table. Not even a menu or an explanation of what was what. This wa smeant to be a relxing expensive place to spend christmas but the whole lack of service just really got under our skin.
Over priced for what you get. Staff need training badly on customer service.

Room Tip: All teh rooms are expensive so it just depends on how much you want to spend
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camillus b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
14.5 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
7.2 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#11 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Nido Coco Resort
El Nido Coco Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
6.2 mi away
El Nido Resorts Pangulasian Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolarog Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolarog Beach Resort

Property: Dolarog Beach Resort
Address: El Nido, Palawan Island 5313 , Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolarog Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolarog Beach Hotel El Nido
Dolarog Beach Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing