We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dolarog Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Having read the various reviews here on trip advisor we booked to stay at Dolarog with a little trepidation. We needn't have worried....From the moment we arrived our stay was punctuated with smiling willingness and competency. One should remember that nothing happens too promptly in The Philippines and isn't that the joy of stepping out of the rat race for a vacation? I do believe previous reviews must have been taken on board by the resort because we saw no evidence of the poor experiences by former guests. The food was of good quality. Various options were available for breakfast , all very pleasant and although dinner was a fixed menu there was an ample amount of food and a good variety on the three nights we stayed. The bungalows were clean, modern and airy with ceiling fans and plenty of access to window vents.
Island tours were inclusive of our stay as were rental of snorkelling equipment including fins. The crew on the boats were knowledgable of the area and happy to oblige with longer or less time at venues as requested.
We had an amazing massage ....best ever. Well over an hour and every muscle group worked on - only P600.
Dolarog is set in a beautiful location 20 mins by boat from Coron Coron beach. Telephone the resort on your arrival into El Nido to ensure you are waiting in the correct location for their boatman to find you, then your transfer will be straight forward.
The peace and tranquility of the resort is mirrored by the calm, gentle approach by all the staff. No sign of a grumpy manager during our stay.
The Fearies, Bristol, UK

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fearies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Dolarog Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

When reading the many bad reviews, and since we could not find any better available option, I thought: "how bad can u go with a $250 (!!!!!) a night..?".

The location is absolutely amazing. Can't think of a better way to describe it.
Rooms decent at most.
Staff are very nice warm and greeting, although I have to add (unfortunately) incompetent.

Attention - Food is by far the worst I have ever had and it is not a joke as the place is remote and literally with no other option for food.

It is safe to say that the hotel is highly over priced.

Our theory (and I really hope the owner is reading...) is basically that the resort is just poorly managed holding only due to lack of options.
It is a shame because an energized professional manager and a reasonable cook is all needed to make our stay from terrible to excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
15  Thank Yuval S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Garden room was dark and humidit. Very big but very spacious. No water between 10-4 am.( couldn't have a shower after the beach)
A similar room another hotel would be around 700 pesos.
Even though it was so big, the resorts answer to my request for an extra bed for my daughter in the room was refused.
Wonderful garden and wonderful view.
The only nice person was the massage and housekeeper. The owner was grumbly and unpolite, the staff was arguing with the guests, if they even understood what one was trying to explain to them. The owner told me "don't ask them they don't understand anything"
Information on website was not the reality.
You get an island hopping when you stay more than one night, it said. Actually you can join as many as you want, which would have been nice to know.
The website say that you can be transported by boat when ever you want, latest at 9 pm. Real life is latest at 5.30 pm. And it was a problem to leave the resort before 9 am, which meant that you actually couldn't join any tours or even diving from El Nido or have dinner in El Nido.
I was waiting for 1 1/2 hour in Coron Coron to be picked up, had to call the resort to ask where I actually had to be, on the road on the beach.
As I was travelling on my own, I was placed with a table on my own and couldn't change. Could those among breakfast but there was no bacon so I was served ham and couldn't choose anything else, even though I would pay for it.
I left after 2 nights even though I had paid for 5. Life and holiday is to short to get all these bad and lousy influence from a resort and its owner and staff. Absolute waste of money.

Room Tip: Don't choose the garden room
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DiddeDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I am surprised that people can criticise when staying in such a beautiful spot! Seriously people! The beauty of the place is the rustic feel - the porch areas of the bungalows complete with hammocks are lovely. The included boat tours (complete with all snorkelling gear) each day really make it - so much better than using the operators in the town.. we met some great people and as a group were able to go out as a group on the boat snorkelling and then stopping in El Nido for lunch.... I thought breakfast and dinner were just fine. Sure people we spoke to had major issues with the owner but from our perspective staff were lovely and Xmas Eve celebrations were really nice.

Room Tip: We had a great time and met some wonderful people.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJTTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Food is at the lowest standard:
- Breakfast far below what is currently offered in a small and cheap guest house. Overcooked eggs, scarce pieces of bread, canned juice. Beg for an additional cup of coffee.
- Dinner is likely to be below your Company’s canteen level. Arrive early when grilled fish is prepared and fight for it as quantities are limited.
- No drinking water provided in the room. You will pay USD 1,60 for a bottle in a USD 260 bungalow per night!!. There is no small profit...
Service and maintenance of the hotel is poor (water leaking in flows for 3 days without being repaired).
You might wait 1h30 for the boat shuttle to be completed with other guests. The hotel owner probably wishes also to reduce cost of gasoline…
All the above is so unfortunate while the location is among the best at El Nido, with an amazing view and considering what could be delivered with a minimum of professional management and less greediness.
As a conclusion, I recommand to avoid this hotel pending a change in management.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jerome p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We went to Dolorog because of its location. There are amazing views and a beautiful beach (if you ignore the rubbish). On the first night the room was suddenly filled with thousands of ants on the bed, the towels, the bathroom and in the luggage, we asked for a new room.
On the second night a Typhoon began at midnight and the roof leaked, the room was flooded with water, the bed was soaking wet. We were looking for one of the crew to give a solution to the problem but there was no one in the office and everything was dark. we had to sleep in a wet bed...
In the morning we asked to check out because of all the problems. Price per night was $ 120 and we asked for a discount because the room was flooded with water. We asked to see the manager but he refused to leave come out of his office and sent the waitress to tell us it is 440$ a night instead of 120$ (!!!) and that the problem is the weather itself ... We asked to speak to him again and waitress came back with an answer that he will not talk to us and if we do not pay him 440$ he will call the police... We realized that we are dealing with a crook and after many arguments we paid 120$ per night and got out of there as fast as we could!

Room Tip: Do not go there
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Yael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Good place to stay away from crowded El Nido.
Pricey, but Island Hops are included, these make your day!(100€/night in a Bungalow)
They will surprise you each day! just paradise.
The Hotel itself is very simple, located at the beach, which is not so pretty.
Food is OK, don´t expect nothing all over Philippines...stick with Pizza and you won´t get so disappointed, the cuisine which uses Coconut and spices is extinct in most places.
But the dinner is at least a feast for 2 , easily and will brighten your evening after a long day of snorkeling through dreamlike fantasies of beaches.
The best Beach: Sitting Commando and Elephant Island.
Something what you guys must change: Put a freaking silencer on the boats engine!
It is really seriously Tinitus threatening!
Nice to take the Kayak and just cross over to the beach , all by yourself!
All other resorts cost over 300 $ per night, so it is quite alright.
Electricity? 1800-2400, 1000-1200.
Are you going to miss it? After the first evening? Nai.
Warm Water? Nope, no need...at 28-32 C!
Air condition? What for? the fan goes until midnight...it was alright, not too hot when I was there during my 4 days.(2 have AC,)
1 Cockroach in the Bathroom, killed her, in the morning the was eaten away...recycling jungle high tech!
Not much privacy, rooms have no keys, side walls are fin like openings.
Good for you? for Honeymoners, go to Maledives, or another place.
Salt water Pool: Almost empty. Who needs a pool in this Bocait tranquility of seas anyway?
Wanna see fishes: Yeay!Diving Paradise, never have I seen so many ! Even better than Seychelles, Maledives,Mariana,Mauritius!
Big Fishes? Nay, go to Coron, lots of wrecks, the guide says, 12-65m deep.
Waves? Rather mirror like flat most times.
Saw my first Tornado over water!
Perfect place to unplug, but expect no luxury.

Room Tip: The Rooms on the North look better situated.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.5 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
525 reviews
7.2 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
137 reviews
4.0 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Nest El Nido Beach Resort
6.0 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
6.3 mi away
Cauayan Island Resort
Cauayan Island Resort
#5 of 17 in El Nido
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolarog Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolarog Beach Resort

Address: | Brgy. Corong-Coron, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in El Nido
#11 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolarog is a beach front resort set in a palm grove near a lush forest. It boasts one of the best views of the Bacuit archipelago’s sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Dolarog Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolarog Beach Hotel El Nido
Dolarog Beach Resort El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing