We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Awesome Terra Nova”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
El Nido, Palawan Island, Palawan Province, Mimaropa

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
rebeckg
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Terra Nova”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

We had the best vacation of our lives at El Nido with Terra Nova!!! The best service we've ever had. Thanks to Guy, Chris and their wonderful staff. We will come back definitely and will be spreading the word to family and friends. We definitely enjoyed our stay. See you all soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2018
TKU so much Rebeck for your stay and nice comments. Please check our Terra Nova - El Nido (F B) page from time to time for the latest news and come visit us again very soon.

The TN team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odyssey53...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
9
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 7 who were visiting the area for a Christmas holiday together and had mixed feelings about our stay at Terra Nova in El Nido. The staff we exceptionally friendly, warm, welcoming and helpful, the setting was beautiful and the rooms were immaculate. The food was also delicious.

However the staff were aware of our exceptionally long journey from Coron to Terra Nova due to the typhoon, yet when we finally arrived after 12 hours of travelling there was no hot water for us to shower. I think this was a huge let down considering how much we paid per night and how far we had travelled to get there.

In addition, we were offered multiple drinks throughout our island hopping but it was not made clear at the time that these would be charged as extras (I have looked back and can see that this was noted in your very long email of instructions, but it would be good to make this clear to your guests upon arrival as there is a lot of info in your original email).

Further to the above, I actually feel that the per night price is so significant that it should be on an all inclusive basis. We had just done 3 days/2 nights island hopping in Coron with another private tour company and it was similarly priced to Terra Nova but everything was included. It is isn’t nice to be presented with a bill when you’ve already paid a significant fee to stay there.

I also think that each villa should have its own designated boat, otherwise it will be a tight squeeze on one boat and you are at the mercy of what the majority want to do and see, which may not suit everyone. We are a family who likes to rise early, make the most of our day and avoid the tourist crowds as must as possible. The staff at Terra Nova did not listen to this and despite requesting going out on the boat early (say 8am) they made us hang around until nearly 10am without reason and then we ended up visiting the highlights of El Nido with a million other tourists in the peak of the day.

I think what most disappointed us was the owners/management who run Terra Nova. We provided feedback (as requested) as well as requesting an invoice so that we could claim our missed night back on our insurance (we were delayed 24 hours due to the typhoon), but have been completely ignored. I have emailed multiple times since returning home and have had absolutely no response from anyone. I think this is the most disappointing part of the experience and has left a very sour taste.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2018
Dear Clare,

This is Eric in London, and I have been reviewing your comments on Google Maps and now here.
Although you finally admitted to us, that you had forgotten to send your note via the booking platform, you still make users believe we did not reply right away after we finally received it. Not very nice and not ethical...

Sorry for the confusion at TN probably due to the aftermath of the 2 severe typhoons (quite exceptional in El Nido and in this season). I know that our local team scrambled to assist you and make sure that you and your family would be safe and well taken care of upon your arrival in El Nido (sorry but we are not responsible for the weather conditions). As you know, as a boutique resort off-the-grid we rely on solar and power generators to produce electricity and hot water. Very exceptionally severe weather conditions can temporarily prevent us from offering hot water or even light for a short period of time. Our setting and location is fully described on our booking sites, and we even re-send detailed information to all our eco-friendly guests about our unique place and philosophy of comfortable living in a sustainable way, with the occasional drawbacks of not being in a city. Maybe it was the first time you travelled far outside a city...

We are in the process of purchasing additional boats for a more flexible scheduling of our guests' daily excursions, but still, we ask all our guests to be accommodating, and patients unless you wish to rent the 3 villas and the whole peninsula to enjoy full autonomy and even more privacy.

As a private resort backing a local foundation, we also always try to offer the most inclusive package at the best possible rate. Unfortunately, not all drinks, no alcoholic beverages, nor massages, and nor special activities like scuba diving, can be included in our affordable package, so we can keep offering the best level of services to everyone at a reasonable price per night/per guest. Many guests compare with pricier resorts or rentals around and know the value of our all-inclusive package.

Once again we sincerely apologize for your felt disappointment, as we want all our guests to enjoy the best possible experience while staying at Terra Nova - El Nido -
despite sometimes unexpected weather conditions, and please rest assured that we constantly strive to improve our hospitality expertise for everyone and without any exception.

The recognition by experienced travellers http://www.themaartetourist.com/2017/11/27/terra-nova-all-inclusive-getaway/
as well as our 5 stars on AirBnB, Tripadvisor and HomeAway are a testament to this constant effort.

Please stay in touch and check on the progress of the resort and the foundation, and we hope you can pay us another visit next year.

All the best from the TN team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finance M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff and relaxing villas”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The view from the villas was breathtaking, very relaxing and the ambiance was very peaceful. The food was abundant and delicious.The staff was very attentive and caring especially the boat crew. They were very careful and knowledgeable of the islands. A big thanks to the boat crew led by Bigboy, who always watched over our family as we swam and snorkeled. They are the best boat crew!! They all made the stay a very memorable vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
TKU so much for your comments. We will convey your TKU note to Big Boy and the boat crew.
We are always trying to improve the experience for all our guests.
Hope to see you guys again at Terra Nova - El Nido.

Eric, Guy and the TN team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeBenosse
Sliema
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thank you !”
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We are very very happy about our stay at Terra Nova, a hidden peninsula that makes you feel all alone in the world !
Facing a magnificient sunset above the sea, villa 2 offers traditional design and modern equipment. The food was very good, much better than what we expected. Congratulations to the chef who is also a great singer !
The possibily to use the boat and kayaks in an all-inclusive package is probably the best way to discover the area.
But in the end, what makes Terra Nova such a magical place is the Terra Nova team. I still wonder if they know what the word "No" means. They had a solution for all our requirements, always with a smile. They really did a fantastic job. Thank you again for eveything, we won't forget, all the best to team and the fundation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2017
Many thanks for your nice comments. And TKU for your stay. It shows we are doing something right. And of course, we always try to improve our services and the feeling of true hospitality. Happy to count you among our new friends & honorary guest-donors. Please come back soon ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Have fun and relax @ terra nova- el nido”
Reviewed 4 September 2017 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

It has been 1 year since we visited Terra Nova - El Nido, but the memories are still fresh in our minds, all the activies were well organized by the friendly TN staff. We've visited all the hidden paradise places around El Nido: from the lovely cliffs, the turquoise water lagoons and also the underwater experience - all of that was totally unforgettable.

We always felt so secure with our very active guide during our island hopping trips and we had everything available on the boat like sea kayaks , delicious food for lunch, fishing and snorkling equipment, so you don't need to rent anything else for your whole day adventure. Peace of mind...

We also loved the healthy drinks we ordered from the restaurant staff, when we were coming back from island hopping, as well as the great Filipino and Western style cuisine thanks to friendly Chef Rowel!

All in all, the service, the foods, the pretty bedrooms and the beautiful peninsula - all was perfect!

And because I really wanted to come back to this place, Mr. Guy mazzoni offered me a job and now I am very proud to say that I will be a part of Terra Nova as their booking officer in Puerto Princesa, Palawan.

So for your next vacation, you too should discover this unique fun and happiness surely worth remembering a lifetime ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Many thanks Ms Irene. Great to have you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Violet_Pe...
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Have a great time and feel good too!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
6
people found this review helpful

TerraNova was great fun! We had two couples in Villa 1 and loved the magical setting nestled between all the islands. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the accommodations were just as described and pictured! The floor to ceiling windows mean you can soak in the view and sea breeze at all times, but don't expect to sleep in! Villa 1 faces sunrise and Villa 2 has a great perch for sunset.

You won't find this kind of experience at any other fancy resort! The staff are there solely for you - and at times there were more staff than guests :] The bond and unity amongst staff was evident and translated well to responsive and friendly service to the guests - definitely a more personal environment than what you'd find at a resort. On the other hand, it's also a bit less refined and equipped as a big resort as well, so expect to be somewhat flexible. The team was very accommodating with our meal requests and suggestions for outings.

The Terra Nova staff organized our island hopping trips where we went to all the popular spots along with many of the secluded beaches with no other tourists. The picnic lunches were fantastic and we always looked forward to the fresh juice they greeted us with upon return. My husband snorkeled off the small beach in front of the property and was amazed by the marine life, he even saw a turtle! Mae also arranged a private speed boat and dive master through a local company. They picked us up from the villa and saved us from making the long journey into town. Paying for a private speed boat was pricey, but not exorbitant for 3 dives. We felt it was worth every penny after we saw the other banchas loaded like cattle cars, most with over 10 divers. We had so much fun the first day that we booked one more!

Very good value for money, every day we marveled at discovering such a gem in the area... Guy and his team are so charming and genuinely want to give their guests the best experience possible. We loved that the foundation gives back to the local community and is committed to sustainable tourism in the area. I doubt you can find such a combination elsewhere in El Nido. We felt that five days was the right amount of time to completely detox as well as explore the area. My parents and I had a blast - Terra Nova was a hit and we intend on bringing our friends back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you very much for the praise Violet.
All the team will appreciate this reward for the hard work and dedication.
Looking forward to your next trip and we might have a faster speed boat as well next time for possibly wake boarding...

Cheers from Eric, Guy and the TN team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpasca...
Ornex, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, nice people & amazing holidays!”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Terra Nova is an amazing and lovely place! A lot of reasons to choose this destination : a unique and wonderful location, a private beachfront eco-resort of 2 houses, great boat trips, many activities, an amazing and efficient team, delicious meals....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Merci beaucoup Jean Pascal et famille.
Ce fut un plaisir de vous accueillir tous et nous espérons vous revoir bientôt à Terra Nova - El Nido, Eric, Guy et toute l'équipe de TN
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing