We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rated average but actually above average without being VERY good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Nido Garden Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 99 El Nido B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Booked locally by contact at Pesos 4000 a night. At this price a relatively good value considering prices are in general above average in El Nido. If your dream of El Nido is pristine beach and coconut trees over blue water, avoid El Nido the village and be ready for a higher budget for one of the beautiful resorts on one of the surrounding islands (Pangulasian, Amanpulo, Miniloc, Club Paradise etc...). If you are in El Nido for diving, then El Nido garden beach is your best option if you expect a minimal comfort (but still no electricity between 6am and 2 pm), which means a well sized room (but oldish, wall paper should be removed and room painted) and functionning bathroom, aircon, TV, fridge and a quite Ok pool (which was absolutely clean during our stay, see other comments). Actually, the resort seems now to be kept very clean (sand in front of the pool racked every morning). On the negative side, the breakfast is below average for the price. The restaurant does not serve anymore lunch and dinner but the kitchen is still active for the staff, which generates bad fish smell in the whole resort in the late afternoon, when you lie by the pool after 3 dives...! This should urgently be corrected by the management. I do not know (having lived close to 20 years in Asia) of a single Caucasian appreciating the smell of cooked dried fish. In a nutshell, your best option, at this price, if you wish to stay in El Nido town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oindu_des_Alpes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for El Nido Garden Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

We been here on last april. place is nice, room looks as not for deluxe one but comfortable. facilities are great only the pool was terrible when we arrived. A LOT OF COMPLAINTS WHEN WERE ON THE FRONT OFFICE and i am just listening with other guests complaints while im using internet on the lobby. despite receptionist are trying hard to be friendly and calm. as i have noticed most of the time esp. trouble only one receptionist is facing and handling the situation. Even in the restaurant i saw her. thats why i am thinking she's the manager but not. funny to think that this place is running w/o manager or supervisor! no wonder why difficult for the staff to manage complaints

Room Tip: beach front room 7
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I stayed recently in this resort.
I recommend you to stay in this resort ONLY if you like having little service, amenities and the like.
The nightmare began a month before my stay there.

Enquiry: took 2 weeks to reply to my inquiry. I found out later this was from the owner...in Manila...That says a bit already

Deposit: again took two weeks to confirm I had sent it...despite multiple calls [unanswered] and texts. They also had the temerity of asking me to send the bank order again.
I booked 4 nights originally and was asked to pay for 2 of these nights as my deposit.

The stay:
1. Had to wait....the rooms not ready...because of a problem with the key/lock...not originally offered a drink on arrival.
2.door not working well...
3. tv not connected...and no reception anyway....had maintenance to look at it...still not working...and as he left he grunted, looked at his feet...and left
4. bedside light ...not plugged in...and where to plug it in is behind the immovable bed
5. no room/resort compendium...I'm not surprised...not ,much to promote there
6. no coffee/tea making facilities.....so i asked for hot water and cups etc. ...to make my own.
The hot water and cups etc arrived fast...and I drank it on the outside verandah area
Pity it wasn't cleared fast!
When I checked out 2 days later they were still there...as well as all the sand at the entrance ...which was duly partly transferred into our room. Many many staff members would have walked past the used coffee 'mess'...and either never saw it..or it was too hard to collect and return them
7. towels n bed linen...old and very worn
8. Air conditioning...very good when you have electricity [all of Palawan has no electricity from . 6am-2pm.They do run their generators for breakfast though]. Despite the good air-conditioner there are no blankets for the bed...
9. the pool is green water and seeing the bottom of it is difficult. [yet people swim in it??]

Check out:
After such a bad stay I wanted to check out early [after 2 of my 4 days].
I was emphatically told that was ok...as long as i paid for the other 2 days stay.
When I asked why do i have to pay this... and explained all of the problems and lack of service...I was still met with a stern...that's company policy...sir....
I was very angry by this stage and asked to speak with the owner ...who was "unavailable"

I have stayed in many many hotels/resorts and the like, and never have I encountered a stay like this...expensive, good location...yet lacking in even the most basic of services and amenities.
I even told them that I have never seen a more obvious situation of "profit before people".
Service is more than just a smile and saying "sir"

Eventually sanity prevailed and I was allowed to check out prematurely and not pay the remaining 2 nights accommodation.

We checked into a nearby hotel that was cheaper and very nice.No complaints at all with them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank t s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We arrived by 9:30 at the hotel and they give us a nice bungalow in front of the beach with sea view. So we have time to rent a boat and left for the days in the island. The rooms are large with a terasse. From the bungalow we have a wonderful view on the islands in front of El Nido. The large pool in front of the Bungalow offer a nice opportunity for refreshment.In all the town of El Nido the electricity stops at 6 in the morning till 2 PM. That's a problem for the shower in the morning. We just have wifi by the lobby when there is electricity. I think this hotel is really a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyF758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed at the El Nido Garden Beach Resort for 4 nights. Very nIce looking place but not a resort.
- Grounds are well kept, look great.
- Quiet area.
- View from wall is awesome looking out.
- Helped carry bags to & from room.
- Good location.
- New buildings.
- Private porch.
- Close to restaurants.
- Staff friendly.
....
- We booked into our room being told by the front desk that we had to pay our room with cash because this was their policy, they didn't accept credit cards. At first we didn't have a problem paying cash until we learned there are no banks in El Nido for tourists to get cash from. We explained this to the front desk when they informed us that we can get cash from the gas station. No problem until we learned that the gas station charged 6% payment from our credit card, not our debit card. We felt this was too much and contacted Agoda.com to explain our situation not what we expected since there is no mention of cash only policy when booked. Later when going through our banking on-line (wifi at bar down the beach), we learned that Agoda.com had already charged our credit card, so we ended our looking for cash.
- Electricity in El Nido is shut off from 6:00 AM to 2:00PM, except for those with their own power generators. Why this resort would not have its own power generator turned on other than just for breakfast as other money making establishments do, is beyond us? No power = no air conditioner, no hot water.
- When checking into our room we had no hand towels or blankets on bed, this was quickly fixed.
- Wifi is only available in the lobby & beside the jacuzzi. Other establishments in the area have wifi throughout their complexes.
- Their private beach consists of a few lounge chairs with umbrellas on some sand behind a wall above the actual beach, see photos.
- Swimming pool is not maintained and looks disgusting, see photos. Staff should not have allowed the young couple with small child to go in the pool one of the days we were there.
- The El Nido Garden Beach Resort charges resort prices but only deliver 3 star hotel quality service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gnorman49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

As every hotel was booked out in El Nido the only place we could get was the Garden beach resort,At around $120 Australian .We only stayed for one night with the option of two The rooms were clean and comfortable with your own private balcony .The gardens were beautiful spoilt by a large pool who's water was the same colour as the surrounding grass. Breakfast was nothing to write home about but filled the spot .The staff were lovely very polite and helpful. As the resort was booked out except for those two days ( Peak season ) the duty manager for want of a better word went out of her way to find us alternative accommodation . All in all we found it a beautiful place to stay ,it would have to be the best resort and location in El Nido

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thinedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

For the start, we should have guessed. Once you have paid your 50% deposit, the manager is not replying your emails or only at the eve of your arrival. We have asked a bus to pick us up at the airport, it was forgotten so we had to wait 1.30 hours. At the arrival, you are asked to pay the remaining amount without even seeing the room. Starting at 7.30 (!), The breakfast is not good, and anyway,you have not choice. The service is very low. In 4 days, no guests dared to use the swimming pool: the color of the water was suspicious! This hotel is a cash-machine for his owner, who has no consideration for his guests. It is very expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ludovic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.3 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Nido Beach Hotel
El Nido Beach Hotel
#60 of 99 in El Nido
286 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Nido Mahogany Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
El Nido Reef Strand Resort
El Nido Reef Strand Resort
#69 of 112 in El Nido
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bulskamp Inn
Bulskamp Inn
#3 of 99 in El Nido
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nest El Nido Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Garden Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Garden Beach Resort

Address: El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range: £72 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your El Nido Garden Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Nido Garden Beach Hotel El Nido
El Nido Garden Beach Resort Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing