We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice cottages” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Monkey Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Monkey Cottages
Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice cottages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

stayed here last February with friends, the place was quite far from the town proper but the 15 min walk was okay, the cottage was okay and the place was really nice and relaxing, just one thing though, the owner might be a little rude, at least that's what some of the friends I was with commented on, but all in all, it was a good experience at Golden Monkey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    61
    26
    16
    15
See reviews for
16
120
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

If it's a quiet retreat that you want, Golden Monkey may be the best resort for you. It's a 15-minute walk from the busy El Nido town. If that's too much for you, rent out a scooter/motorbike (Use it to go to town & other parts of El Nido. It's better than paying tricycles and tour guides, if you're on a budget. Just ask around for directions). Their own tricycle could also pick you up if you have a lot of luggage.

Golden Monkey's location, Caalan beach, has a better view than of the town's. You will see the sun set behind Helicopter Island right at the beach front. My friend and I booked Cottage 9. The beach could be seen from the veranda. It was a fanned room and it had a hot shower. Air conditioning is quite irrelevant in El Nido since electricity is out from 6AM-2PM, and you most likely won't spend much time in your resort anyway.) I paid about $35 dollars a night. Breakfast was not included. They serve an all-day breakfast for a reasonable price. Their meals don't disappoint. Their breakfast menu is vast. There is free coffee and tea every morning. My friend and I always had our breakfasts on the tables by the beach front. The view was amazing.

Security is good. They have their own security guard. The service was excellent! Rooms were cleaned and tidied up everyday. They give fresh towels, free soap and shampoo. Rose was a great host. She and her husband would give honest advice when it came to choosing tours. Her staff were polite and helpful. They booked our shuttle back to PPC for us and they made sure we left on time so we wouldn't miss it. They are so good at looking out for the needs of their guests. Also, make them arrange your island tours, they have a very reliable partner.

Just a little FYI about their location, a sari-sari store is located nearby. You can buy meds, snacks, drinks and gas(for your motor bike) from it. About a minute away from Golden Monkey, you can rent out motorbikes or scooters. There are also restaurants and grills just a few meters away. So don't fear being a few minutes away from the town proper! If you're really on a budget, the family that rented us out the scooter offered to cook for us. You can give them money to do the food shopping for you and they'd grill it. They won't charge you. They're just happy to help.

I stayed for four night at this resort. I will most definitely go back to Golden Monkey.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanchoElNido_Palawan, Owner at Golden Monkey Cottages, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you very much for a most positive review, it is most appreciated. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your short stay with us. I hope that you will come back again and stay for longer, El Nido has much to offer.

Take care and regards to your friend. On behalf of all the staff, thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall, we liked staying at this place although this is a little bit further from the center so if you don't mind 10-15 minutes walking (through the jungle) - it's fine. Yes, walls are very thin - we were lucky that the place was quite empty (already off season) so didn't experience any issues with that. Loved the view as we booked the cottage facing the sea. However, if they could offer some additional dining options next to the breakfast that would be cool. For the price paid, one could expect the breakfast to be included and not charged extra.

Also, had a nice experience with their captain who arranged a tour - wonderful lunch on the boat!

Room Tip: Cottages facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boruzzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Please be aware that this is a big scam! The pictures and reviews are very deceiving!

This was my 2nd time and my partner's 3rd time at Philippines and this time we traveled month around Philippines. I can honestly say that I have never been accommodated at worse place then this one! If it would be advertised as a backpacker accommodation I would understand, however, we have paid almost $80 AUD per night for a fanned cottage! This came as a surprise because we were sure we have booked cottage with aircon as rest of our accommodations during our month of traveling (unsurprisingly, according to other review here, this happen to some else as well, I think they have to do this on purpose).

We stayed first night and asked for aircon cottage for $100 per night!!! as it is very uncomfortable in such a heat to be without aircon. Their "best" cottage was horrible - old and dirty - I even found a wad of hair in bathroom (picture will be uploaded ). That night we went to "city" to see other resorts around and find out if they were in similar conditions. To our surprise we have found cheaper, much nicer and even right at the beach resorts close to center of El Nido and its beach bars. We have even found a beautiful and luxurious 4 star resort just at the center with swimming pool for $110 per night!

Unfortunately, we have booked Golden Monkey Cottages online for 7 nights and paid upfront over $500. The following morning my partner went to talk to wife of the owner. She didn't want to give us a refund but offered us the "better" aircon cottage for the same price we paid for the fanned one. However, the owner, older English guy, was very aggressive yelling at us that "4 years ago this place was a forest" and his wife had to push him back inside their office. If this was forest 4 years ago how do you explain nice (some even luxurious) resorts just next to them and for even cheaper or similar prices!!!

Next day we have packed our bags and paid for next 6 days in another resort. We didn't want to spoil our holiday staying in such a horrible place.

We have never had such bad experience with resort booked online after reading all these reviews and reviews on other websites. Therefore, I would like to warn you and save you the money, because this place does not correspondent with these reviews and the pictures taken from the best possible angles. It is far away from the the center of El Nido - you have to walk in dark in the forest for 15 minutes to get to the center of El Nido and its nightlife. The internet connection is very bad and the place is dead quite at 6pm at night. Just in front of the "resort" there is a trash so you don't even think you are going into some resort.

Just be careful what do you book and if you do not believe me because of the all good reviews, which I guess are coming from the owners themselves (otherwise I can't explain them), just book one nigh ahead or book and pay at the spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nikitop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PanchoElNido_Palawan, Owner at Golden Monkey Cottages, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
I am surprised that you still insist that you booked the more expensive room. You must have a copy of your booking from Agoda, and you did book one of the cheaper cottages. As you said, you were upgraded to our beachfront that night at no extra cost, but we could not do that for all the 7 nights that you booked. We gave you the option to upgrade but you did not want to pay the difference. In all due respect, we did all we can to accommodate you so you will be comfortable, but your refusal to pay the difference in price was unacceptable. All in all this complaint was not justifiable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the "Golden Monkey" for 3 nights and it was one of the best places we stayed in the Philippiines (and we traveled for a month).

Rose, the owner, gave us a warm feeling, the service was very good- every morning we asked for coffee with extra milk and they didn't charge us for it.
The view is perfect, it's not expensive at all (fair price),
very clean rooms (not on the main road or the city center) with good showers, calm place and really perfect cottages!

Thanks for everything <3
Natalie & Amit

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dusha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I don't understand the previous advise: Room is quite dirty, housekeeping is not done everyday and the hotel is not well situated: 10-15mn walk in a very dark road to el nido beach.
If you are looking for a nice hotel to stay at the height of the landscape of el nido, Golden monkey is not for you.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sterrebeek, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks. It is a nice 15 minutes walk from the noisy town centre. Do not go there if you expect to find a beach because there isn't one. We first stayed in the beach front cottage, later in one of the upstairs rooms. The beach cottage is all about the view and the big deck where you can relax and enjoy the view. There is always shade and a nice breeze.The bungalow itself is big, but a bit dated. It could use some freshening up. The rooms upstairs are new and more modern. The view from the big terrace is amazing. There is a big sliding window which could use a screen to keep the insects out once it gets dark. The rooms and cottages are indeed too expensive for what you get, but I think you pay for the view and the quietness. At that rate breakfast should indeed be included. Rose was a great host, very friendly and helpfull yet discreet. We can also recommend the boatman that comes by once a day. Very friendly and reliable. If you can afford it, i would surely recommend staying at the Golden Monkey!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pascale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.3 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#5 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
14.0 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#4 of 16 in El Nido
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
7.2 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#9 of 16 in El Nido
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Tapik Beach Park Guest House
2.1 mi away
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
Orange Pearl Beach Resort
#36 of 99 in El Nido
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
6.6 mi away
El Nido Resorts Lagen Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Monkey Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Monkey Cottages

Property: Golden Monkey Cottages
Address: Ca-alan Beach, El Nido, Palawan Island EN234, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 99 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Monkey Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Golden Monkey Cottages are situated on Ca-alan beach, just 10 minutes walk from El Nido town. We offer quality accommodation with comfortable fan rooms and clean modern bathrooms. Each cottage has a large veranda and a spectacular view of the islands. Since we are located just outside of El Nido, away from the noise and bustle of town, we benefit from the peace of the surrounding forests and you will be free simply to relax and absorb the atmosphere. You could hire a boat and be taken to a secluded beach to soak up the sun, have a picnic, swim, snorkel and enjoy the magnificent scenery. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden Monkey Cottages Hotel El Nido
Golden Monkey Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing