We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute, Charming, Secluded”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Front Cottages
Ranked #88 of 118 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed Island Front Cottages. The staff was helpful and friendly and set up tours for us. It is a short and cheap tricycle ride into town (5 minutes - 50 cents US). We had no trouble getting to and from town in the morning and at night. Generally it had a nice ambiance and was very lush and tropical feeling thanks to the plants and trees in the main area between bungalows. Ling-Ling was amazing and did all she could to help us. We had a slight issue with our water and they were accommodating and quick to repair it. Also, they gave us a discount! When we were there there was some construction going on next door for an expansion but it never bothered us as we were gone during the day. The beach that it is on is pretty much private. It is not the main beach so it is nice and quiet and the views are beautiful.

The cottages are beach-side bungalows so don't be surprised if you hear a few critters or people around you. We had ZERO problems with bugs inside and the air conditioner was a treat after a day in the sun. We would have stayed another night but we were not able to change our flight in time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Creightonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

The friendly filipino family owned business grows on you the longer you stay.

We were here for 5 nights in may 2013. The way the place is decorated, with lights/wood/plants/pots is over-the-top. But it certainly is very honest.

The rooms are even more highly decorated, which is a great laugh. Bright colours, chunky furniture etc.

There is TV/AC/FAN in every room, they clean on demand. But if you make a plea, they donit everyday.

The tours offered, we did A&B on different days, are a must. Snorkeling and visiting pristine remote island is great. Lunch in provided in deserted beaches. Snorkeling gear can be rented.

Wifi is quite fast in the breakfast area. Breakfast is good.

Views on the bay are beautiful. To get to El Nido centre take a tricycle: 30 p in the day 50 p at night for 2 pax.

BEWARE: multiple guidebooks tell you Art Cafe and Petron give you cash advances on credit cards. THEY DON'T! So cash up before you leave, since there are no banks in EL NIDO!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Restlezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Island Front has the best sunset view in El Nido!!! Staff is very friendly and helpful, hotel provides island hopping tours which are smaller but better than the ones in downtown. Recommend everyone to visit El Nido!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tikoska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Interesting decor. Rooms are very dark and charming in that they look very interesting in their decor, I Had power ranger pillow cases and winni I the pooh ones too. .:) I suspect this is great for the backpackers passing through. Very basic accomodation, not worth £40 a night I might add. However it is an excellent location right on the beach and although reception area looks a but grim the rest of the pace is set out nicely. I only ate fruit salad there so that is the only food. Can comment on. Nicely presented and the staff are so warm and friendly and helpful. The Filipinos are one often most service oriented people I have ever come across.However my room needed a good clean.

Room Tip: Just get a clean room without bed bugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseMortimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We arrived in el nido with nothing booked after trying the fancy hotels which were all booked i found island front cottages.At first I felt like I wanted to die when I seen my room After one night I got used to it No hot water in our shower I think it was just that one section that wasn't working. At first u will think the cottages was ran by kids,Kids serving food taking orders cleaning every question I was asking a kid they didn't understand much English then I requested the manager very nice woman good English and clarified any questions. Got us taxis and also booked all our tours and I found the prices pretty reasonable There's free breakfast which was good I wouldn't eat supper there though go into town Ended up staying there for 3 days

Room Tip: Book your hotels well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Having missed out on our first choice of hotel in El Nido, we got taken on a tricycle hunt for a second option. This was an unexpected but wonderful find. Island Front hotel is right on Corong Corong beach, which is definitely the best spot in El Nido in which to relax. The view overlooks the islands and the sunset is beautiful. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and really strive to make your stay here special. The attention to detail, including the unique decoration of individual rooms and the restaurant area, and the fresh arrangements put out each day on the tables, reflect the pride the staff have in the hotel. They are able to organise tours direct from the beach, which is much closer to the islands than the town. There is kayaking and other activities available. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Request the beachfront locations if they are available, but otherwise all rooms have special features. Highly recommended and thanks again to the wonderful staff!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank niknak46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We spent 1 night in the Island Front Cottages - unfortunately the hotel was overbooked! So we had the choice between their worst room (# 9) or leaving.
+ very beautiful sunset from the beach
+ offered tour was definitely worth going on, although the departure was 45 minutes delayed
- worst room: small window towards generator exhaust, half open roof (noise!), pretty steep "ladder" to get to the room
- breakfast only with waiting time, no shakes available although it was offered in the breakfast menu due to NO electricity in the morning
- dirty beach (tides bring a lot of waste)
- if you can't pay cash, credit card fee of 4%

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElisabethR420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Nido
3.8 mi away
Seahorse and Mangrove Resort
Seahorse and Mangrove Resort
#41 of 118 in El Nido
7 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Nido Viewdeck Cottages
El Nido Viewdeck Cottages
#11 of 118 in El Nido
84 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outpost Beach Hostel
Outpost Beach Hostel
#6 of 118 in El Nido
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Greenviews Resort Corong-Corong
0.3 mi away
Desert Rose Hotel
Desert Rose Hotel
#111 of 378 in Palawan Island
43 reviews
2 mi away
Caalan Beach Resort
Caalan Beach Resort
#3 of 118 in El Nido
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Front Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Front Cottages

Address: Sitio Lugadia, Barangay | Corong-Corong Beach, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 118 Speciality Lodging in El Nido
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Front Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Ctrip TA and HotelsClick so you can book your Island Front Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Front Cottages Hotel El Nido
Island Front Cottages El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing