We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach but dirty and poorly managed”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ogie Beach Pension & Resto Bar
Ranked #63 of 94 El Nido B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Right on the beach but dirty and poorly managed”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Cheapie hotel upstairs from dive shop and restaurant right on the beach. Cheap but dirty, plenty of sand and ants inside. Unfriendly service. Tried to (accidentally?) overcharge. Included breakfast a joke (instant coffee and toast). Restaurant is terrible. They organize island trips (like all El Nido hotels) which were OK.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuukka Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    14
    7
    8
See reviews for
5
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

Service from the staff was great ! Amenities was ok ! I've had alot worse ! Food was well priced and fresh ! You het what you pay for and considering the logistic distance between the next major city it is great value ! I really enjoyed the place !!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craboo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland OR
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Upon arriving in El Nido with no reservations we ended up finding this place after an hour of looking around for a place to stay. The staff is pretty clueless most of the time but they will do your laundry for 70p a kilo. Got a room with a bathroom and two beds for 800 a night which is pretty cheap and ended up staying there for a week. Its no 5 star resort but if your a traveller its perfect, if your a tourist prob not your cup of tea. Left for a night and got a bigger room that was 1100 a night but didn't have a toilet seat... hover or die baby.. lol we didn't complain but just dealt with it for 3 days. They do have wireless internet but the power cuts off at 6am - 2:30pm which I think is usual in that town. No bed bugs, not a resort, but a place to sleep and not worry about your things being stolen. The view from the seating area was amazing but then again it is anywhere in El Nido. I really enjoyed waking up, walking downstairs and jumping in the ocean, then sitting at the restaurant below the hotel and eating breakfast while enjoying the view.

Room Tip: 205 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed in the fan room with shared bathroom for 2 nights. The room was very basic and a bit run down, but it was clean and for the price I paid (500 per night) I really can't complain. I didn't book in advance, I just showed up and was quoted 650 with breakfast or 500 without breakfast, and this was just last week (peak season). I chose to stay here over the other budget places because of the free wifi and 24 hour electricity, which are rare in El Nido.

Probably not the best place to stay if you're looking for luxury/amenities but perfect if you're out all day on an island hopping trip and all you need is a place to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Oh my, where do I begin? The filthy mattresses, the absence of soap and shampoo, dirty and smelly bathroom, the absolutely unusable wi-fi, or that there wasn't even a dispenser for drinking water and we had to buy bottled water outside.

It felt like it used to be an abandoned building cheaply renovated and repurposed, added some broken doorknobs and dilapidated furniture.. and presto.. hotel! ..err pension house.

The slightly redeeming fact is that it's right on the beach front, and has a spectacular view. And in spite of all the bad things about the rooms and building, I had a comfortable sleep because the sheets and pillows were clean.

But for this hotel's not-so-cheap rates, it wasn't worth it. Not coming back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Bray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Nido hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

El Nido is far from a sleepy town anymore and as busy as it is it can be hard to find a decent place for a decent price. This is where OG's is a "hidden" gem. It's right on the beach in prime location but you'll likely be walking along the road when you look for places, it's down a small unattractive alleyway which obscures it from potential customers. The patio in the middle floor is amazing.

I'm not at all surprised at the bad reviews from the other guests given that they tried to book on the phone or over the internet. This is one of those cheap places that doesn't have a website or a online booking system. It's locally owned and most of the employees are obviously just family members, most with very limited English. It's not the kind of place you should be if you have any special requests or modifications. If it isn't working for you, trying to force a solution would be laughable.

Anyway, negotiating a good rate was easy (a few sms's to the boss), room was clean and spacioius, wifi connection was good, power was dependent on the town supply but gave good current when it was on (I could shave). The location was incredible and it was very low key and relaxed. Watch out to close your storm shutters if it rains hard, the rain may blow in the room a bit (no fault of the hotel, rain + wind is beyond their control).

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minimono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We booked our reservation 2 months before our stay. We were quoted a rate of Php 900 per night with breakfast. When we arrived, the owner told us that they already removed the inclusive breakfast. We did not agree on this so we bargained to lessen the rate down to Php 700 since we won't have breakfast anymore. So we were allowed to check in. The only thing I love about this place is the location. It is by the beach. Right smack in the middle of the long beach shoreline filled with guesthouses. The view from the balcony is so beautiful. The room is spacious. But the fan, OMG! It's too far away from the bed that we almost didn't feel it's air! So we requested for a stand fan instead. We were given a broken fan! Yes, broken. What the hell. Their customer service sucks. Another thing we didn't like is the water pressure in the bathroom. It will take you forever to finish showering. What made me upset the most was when we're about to check out. They are suddenly charging us Php 1100 per night! They're saying that this is their new rate upon our arrival because it's already peak season. We definitely argued with them and never paid such amount! It was very clear when we checked in that the rate we'll pay is just Php700! After much argument, they backed down and accepted the Php 700/night rate. The person running this place is so horrible and obviously just up for more money! I wonder how they treat their foreign guests. They're probably ripping them off without them knowing! DO NOT stay in this pension house at all cost! I'll recommend the resort beside them instead which is the Marina Garden Resort. Seems like their guests are enjoying a hassle free stay and they also have a fair rate. Please avoid this place!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizl0ves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.1 mi away
La Salangane Hotel
La Salangane Hotel
#67 of 94 in El Nido
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Joyful Guest House
Joyful Guest House
#70 of 94 in El Nido
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#53 of 94 in El Nido
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rosanna's Pension
Rosanna's Pension
#28 of 106 in El Nido
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zaniyas Pension
Zaniyas Pension
#69 of 106 in El Nido
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aqua Travel Lodge
Aqua Travel Lodge
#71 of 106 in El Nido
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ogie Beach Pension & Resto Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogie Beach Pension & Resto Bar

Property: Ogie Beach Pension & Resto Bar
Address: Beachfront, Barangay Masagana, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Ogie Beach Pension & Resto Bar El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing