We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will keep coming back to this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marikit Pension (El Nido)
Ranked #47 of 99 El Nido B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here during my first time in El Nido last Oct 2013. I went back with my siblings and we stayed at their family room during the Chinese New Year 2014. like that this place is quiet (away from the noisy main road) and clean. The owner/caretaker is also very accommodating.Even arranged the tours for us.The rooms and the bathroom are clean. We even had hot water. Wifi is very weak though. But still the places gives you the best value for your money. It is very near Al Trove where you can get the best pizza in El Nido and also other restaurants. It is also a few minutes walk from the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Marikit Pension (El Nido)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 days and 4 nights, our room is no 2 good for couples.They have if Im not mistken 6 or 7 rooms., they have rooms good for 3-4 people, barkada and family. This place is just a 2-4 minute walk from the beach, a minute walk from altrove! (Famous pizza maker in town). The place is away from busy street of El Nido so you could enjoy your sleep at night, they have a female dog named tiger., she's quiet, behave and smart., you'll never notice at first but she will guide and lead your walk until altrove before she goes back to house.

Our Room no 2 (Couple):
-Very accommodating and quiet
-bed were very clean and comfortable
-very clean bathroom with hot shower
-with flat screen cabled TV
-Wifi is free but sometimes takes time to load your browser.
-With ice cold aircon unit
-The space was not that big but good enough for couples.
-Breakfast can be serve as soon as you woke up and have your coffee outside.

The People - Kuya Sonny and Ate Kath
-They cook delicious breakfast for 100 only
-They were very approachable and greets you always.
-Kuya sonny even allowed us to cook on their kitchen with free use of gas! just ask him.
-Kuya Sonny answers any querries to the best of his knowledge, offering suggestions and advise what to do, where and when to go, which to choose etc just ask him. He could also arranged tours and transfer for you. His room is just near the entrance gate if you don't see him.

Room Tip: Room 1 or 2 for couples.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merhemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed at Marikit Pension for 6 days and it was a great choice! The staff was very helpful, friendly and professional. We booked the
room before our arrival to the Philippines and the communication through e-mails was fast and satisfactory. We stayed in a deluxe double room with aircon, tv and bathroom. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, what was a huge comfort after daily island hopping. Every room has an access to the veranda where you can sit and relax or eat extremely delicious breakfast (for just 100 pesos). Marikit is at 3 minute walk from the main beach and very close to all restaurants, shops, etc., but it's still a quiet place. The staff also offers some great tours (island hopping) and arrange tickets to Puerto Princesa. We will definitely stay again at Marikit during our next visit in El Nido!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luana_Zak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We selected Marikit based on reviews and were not disappointed. We had a standard room with fan, for only 800 pesos. So the room is a bit small, but absolutely sufficient. The building is sturdy, concrete, and everything is very clean. Kuya Sonny is very good in organising your tours, at a very competitive price.
Also he does a VERY good breakfast at only 100 pesos per person! Fantastic pancakes & fried banana, and if you prefer the Filipino breakfast, there's very good chorizo!
Marikit is at a 2 minute walk from the beach, putting it in a nice and quiet corner of El Nido.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank HM1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

They have nice rooms that also have 3 beds with aircon for about $30 or cheaper if just a double. The place is only meters from beach, but is more quiet than beach front street places. Good clean bathroom and beds. Very nice staff who are family owners. Very helpful and let me use their phone for free to arrange our accommodation in puerto. Free coffee in morning :)

Room Tip: If you find the main strip on the beachfront too noisy, then this could give you much better sleep a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was a bit worried when I booked at Marikit. Kuya Sonny seldom replies and if he does, it’s just a 1 liner text.
Travel time from PP to El Nido is 6-7 Hours, I sent him a message when we bought our RORO bus ticket to confirm our booking and it’s been 5 hours and still got no response from him.
I then called him and his immediate response was "Yes Ma’am naka book po kayo".
We arrived at 1am and he’s still up waiting for us while everyone in the pension is sleeping, which we really appreciate.
He gave us tips on where to go, to buy souvenirs, where to eat. He even let us use their fridge, so we can bring an ice cold drinking water during our Island hopping.
Also, We’re in a hurry to leave the place on our 3rd day because RORO BUS is scheduled to leave at 10PM.
Surprisingly he said “I’ll call them and book tickets for you two”. We’re like wow! Talaga kuya!? haha
He looks so serious all the time but the truth is.. he’s nice. We’re so glad with what he did and with how he assisted us.
I found out why he seldom replies, it’s because he’s not just waiting for a text, email, call from a customer. I also saw him watering the plants, cooking breakfast and maintaining the cleanliness of the place.

I highly recommend Marikit Pension! Delicious Breakfast w/ water, juice and complimentary 3in1 coffee.
800 pesos per night for 2 for a FAN (good) ROOM was a great deal!

I’d book here again on my next stay in El Nido!

Thank You Kuya Sonny! =)

Room Tip: Room #1 where we stayed, has a very clean bathroom which seems new actually and soft clean bed.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gie_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Stumbled upon this place after being disappointed with other choices in El Nido.
Was informed that fan rooms were 800php and AC were 1500php. After agreeing on 1200php per night for room # 1 with AC, we settled in and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Each morning the owner would put hot water and coffee on the table outside our room, and the service in general was good.
Location was excellent, on a quiet street, 150m from the beach, providing tranquility and peace from the bustle of the main "drag" in El Nido.
Highly recommended for good clean pension in El Nido

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms at this pension, my choice is room 1, corner room and very cozy
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PHoenix242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.2 mi away
Coral Cliff Hotel
Coral Cliff Hotel
#60 of 99 in El Nido
20 reviews
0.2 mi away
Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast
Amakan Bed Bunk Breakfast
#9 of 112 in El Nido
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
P Gomez Pension
P Gomez Pension
#21 of 99 in El Nido
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bulskamp Inn
Bulskamp Inn
#3 of 99 in El Nido
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#50 of 99 in El Nido
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marikit Pension (El Nido)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marikit Pension (El Nido)

Address: Osmena St., Zone 3, Bgy Masagana | Poblacion, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Price Range: £25 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As:
Marikit Pension (El Nido) Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing