We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New but old”

El Nido Waterfront Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Nido
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
El Nido Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #83 of 94 El Nido B&B and Inns
Sundsvall
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“New but old”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

When we stayed at this hotel they were busy renovating it, which can be a reason why we didn't really liked it. The rooms were new but they still seemed old somehow. The wifi only worked at the reception but it is like that everywhere in El Nido. The bed was hard and the bathroom a bit dirty. But it can be so that it is much better now since they renovated it!
Otherwise the hotel is quite cozy and the common balcony/reception against the sea is nice.
We paid 1000 php/night eventhough they told us 1000 php/2 nights, but it could also just have been a misunderstanding

I would rather recommend Inn Tourist Hotel in El Nido.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    3
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
2
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

My partner and I travelled to el nido to see the amazing islands beaches and mountains rising out of the philippine sea.
we stayed here and could not believe how fantastic the view.
we booked the jacuzzi room which has a jacuzzi on the private balcony over looking the islands.
The water pressure is low so takes a while to run but worth it.

the hotel is a small family run hotel by mr Obert. You step out of the reception area on to the beach with bars and restaurants and diving swiming a step away although the only noise at night is the rolling surf which is magical.

all of el nido has power between 2pm and 6 am - which seems strange but as you are out relaxing in the morning it isnt a problem. The wifi is slow and only works in the lobby butbevery bar andnrestaurant has it for free so we didnt miss it too much.

the hotel is room only but there so many cheap beach or street cafe and restaurants in 3-5 mins walk we ate somewhere and something different each day.

the hotel even organised us to be picked up from our hotel in puerto princessa for 600 peso.

was amazing.
I have pictures but dont know how to upload them.

Room Tip: Go for jacuzzi or beach room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Funny enough this place is now known as Rainforrest beach hotel. I guess they got enough BAD reviews so they decided to change name rather than improve on... Everything!

Service is bad.
Staff selling trips to gain commissions
Rooms are cold and not clean - your champermaids don't bother to fix anything you ask for.
Food is below average. And you would be better off in one of the many cafeterias around El Nido town.

Don't get scammed to think this is a new place. Waterfront hotel and Rainforrest hotel is the same place and it is not worth a penny.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soren_Mine2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these El Nido hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here last May 2012, booked through Agoda. Price is ok. Location is perfect. Service - uhm, not really. No service at all, it's like they don't care much as long as you pay. Expensive souvenir shop but i think it is because we are in El Nido. There's a lot of mosquitoes in the room specially after the electricity will be turned off ( 6 am - 230 pm). I think i will try other place next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkygurl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Overpriced, although we were given a discount, but compared to others, their rates are still higher than other beach fronts. Unfortunately, we didn't check the other accommodations after we learned that our preferred hotel does not have rooms available anymore. This hotel was the second hotel we went to. We got the room with the jacuzzi at the balcony with a very nice beach view. Then again, all other balconies at the beachfront would have the same views, except we had the jacuzzi which we didn't really use. My 6-yr old son did play at the jacuzzi for 15 minutes but that's it. No electricity in the area (not just this hotel) from 6AM to 2PM. Power comes back at 2PM. Expect to wake up early when power goes off at 6AM.

Still under construction (by reading the other reviews, this hotel seems to be forever under construction/expansion).

The rate which is high enough already does not include breakfast. They don't have a restaurant. They do have free coffee but then by 10AM there won't be any hot water in the pot because there's no electricity.

Don't get the tours of the islands in the hotel or any other hotel. Walk down the road further from the police station towards Bacalaran (that's the landmark I noticed) there's a small travel and tours called APT. I got a great deal (big discount price off what the hotels are offering for the tours PLUS I got a kayak and the normal head gear and snorkels and towels + lunch) and that's a PRIVATE boat too (meaning its only my group composed of only 5 adults and 1 child in the boat). We got TOUR A. When the hotel offered me a Tour, I told them I got one down the road when I told the hotel staff the price he said that's a great deal already. I asked another shop offering tours and when I quoted the price I got, same response: I got a great deal. Our boatman's name is Frank

The hotel staff was kind enough to allow us to leave our things in 1 room so we can change and shower after our tours before we go home without additional charge. We initially checked into 3 rooms and we planned to check out at 8AM for the tour and bring our bags to the boat tour and just pay a few bucks to use the shower room at a hotel when we get back from the tour. The hotel staff offered for us to use 1 room where we can leave our bags and come back after the tour to shower at no additional charge. My companions aren't much for touring so we got back early for the 5-hour drive back to Puerto Princesa.

The best place to eat at is Sea Slugs which is a few yards away from the hotel. This resto-bar has the most complete menu in the area and food is not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank system_error
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

There is no electricity between 6am and 2pm which makes it very difficult to pack in the dark (the windows are very small and you cant see out of them). Also no internet at this time. The window did not close all the way, letting in warm, humid air and pests. We stayed in two rooms and one smelled of urine, the other smelled musty. Only one attentive staff member. All others were busy on the laptop or watching TV etc. The one attentive staff was pleasant and a sweetheart. No food or restaurant, only a couple dusty bags of chips and cookies. There is a refrigerator with water and beer as well. That wasn't a huge problem though, because there are many restaurants within steps of the hotel. The view of the water from the hotel lobby is quite nice. There was construction going on on the second floor but it wasn't too noisy. We wanted to stay an extra night but they don't accept visa as payment so we had to exchange some cash down the street. The halls in the hotel were very clean; they were constantly sweeping away the sand and dirt so it was nice to walk barefoot in the hotel. Overall great location in the town of el nido, very close to the restaurants, tours, activities and most importantly, the waterfront. Overall, our stay was decent by El Nido standards though a little overpriced if you ask me.

Room Tip: I have no tips for how to chose a good room. Ask to see the room first and check out the window. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank darth_vanderr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

Cheaper than most waterfront hotels with aircon.
Free wifi. Unlimited coffee.
Staff are constantly cleaning.
Exceptional service: hanged up our swimming gears to dry, looked for a cellphone charger, new towels.
Gave Seniors Citizen discount for my parents.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_elizat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.0 mi away
Joyful Guest House
Joyful Guest House
#70 of 94 in El Nido
2 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosanna's Pension
Rosanna's Pension
#29 of 106 in El Nido
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Nido Beach Hotel
El Nido Beach Hotel
#63 of 94 in El Nido
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zaniyas Pension
Zaniyas Pension
#69 of 106 in El Nido
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garnet
Hotel Garnet
#75 of 94 in El Nido
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shipwreck Pension
Shipwreck Pension
#53 of 94 in El Nido
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Nido Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Nido Waterfront Hotel

Property: El Nido Waterfront Hotel
Address: Hama Street, El Nido, Palawan Island, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in El Nido
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
El Nido Waterfront Hotel Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing