We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing Pumpkin Soup”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sanctuary Restaurant - CLOSED

Sanctuary Restaurant
Cuisines: Philippine, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Sanctuary Bar, Restaurant & Coffeeshop. We have only one rule at Sanctuary: Our customers are #1! Everything we cook is prepared fresh daily, with the freshest ingredients. We know you will enjoy the fresh foods. Sanctuary brings you a tasty food, fresh drinks, fresh tea and coffee that will keep you coming back for more! We are proud to serve you with a smile.
Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Disappointing Pumpkin Soup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I had the Pumpkin Soup with bread, and found it quite disappointing. It was too watery and tasted like instant powdered soup. One of the cheapest items on the menu at 120 pesos but still not worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank paulboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,100 reviews
384 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“Bland mountain of noodles”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We visited Sanctuary because it has good reviews, but it was so disappointing. OK, it's cheap for the amount of food you get, but the quality is poor and the serving is way too big. We ordered Bihon Guisado (fried rice noodles) and vegetable pasta. They were both served with the weirdest garlic bread that was spread with margarine and had a few burnt bits of garlic sprinkled on top. They both tasted of nothing and we couldn't finish half of what was presented to us.

I wouldn't bother coming here when there are better places in El Nido.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, cheap beer. Awesome combo!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We actually just went there because they have a very long Happy Hour and we were in desperate need of a nice ice cold San Miguel. We had a look at the menu and decided to have dinner.
It offers mostly local food for moderate prices and even some combo meals with real good value.
For that first dinner I just had some fried noodles and I was surprised by the huge portion and the very generous amount of veggies I got. I really liked it. I don´t remember what my boyfriend had; something with meat, he didn´t share, so he must have liked it too.
The second time we´ve been there I ordered the pasta with prawns and tomatosauce. Awesome! Big prawns, great pasta. My boyfriend had the fried chicken. He loved it.
Service was really friendly too.
Definetely try this place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ThoChri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daegu, Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really chill spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Sanctuary doesn't look like much but the food there is good and the service is great. Just a spot on the side of the road really but sweet people and good filipino food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lowell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A great place to have breakfast and dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We had breakfast here yesterday morning! And since this was The best place we had breakfast in The past five days in El Nido; we decided to come back for dinner! The place is off beach and therefore the prices are more reasonable other restaurants. The cuisine is filipino and relatively limited choice is offered, but The food is of very very very good taste! We enjoyed a happy hour here and we finally sat there for more than 5 hours!! In the end the lovely people who worked there offered us a drink!! If we stayed longer in El Nido we probably went here every day!! We want to Thank The owner and Marc and Rose!! We hope to return!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sporre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanctuary Restaurant also viewed

El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 
El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 
El Nido, Palawan Island
El Nido, Palawan Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing