We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Decent Hotel in El Nido!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
APTR - A Place To Remember
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Enjoyed our 4 days/3 nights stay! Owner was extremely accomodating & helpful - went out of his way to help find small change for us late at night (to prepare for our trip the next day) & also lent us a nice sheltered space to park our car. Though the hotel looked understaff, but could see staff working there were happy! All staff greeted us at any time of the day with a big smile and ensured our requirements were met. You can't expect a 5 star modern city type hotel in El Nido and if you do, be prepared to pay 4-5 times more. We didn't really fancy our Penthouse room on the 3rd level and owner was very accomodating to switch us to another room of choice (on 2nd level) where it was more private.

Location was good, walkable distance to anywhere. Breakfast was quality. Female guests will need to bring along their hair dryers if needed as the hotel does not provide.

Will definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pinky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Checked out all the places on the strip and several off; luckily this was the best value which starts with a comfortable mattress. The only other place on the strip that came close didn't have as nice of a bathroom.

Be careful, they throw all the breakers off when the generator’s on because it isn't enough juice for the AC units but it’s only supposed to be the AC breakers. In the end the watchmen/woman always came through.

The breakfast was modest but included.

Room Tip: Don't book in advance, negotiate in person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evolvingmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

unfriendly owner
cold and smelly water
loud generator power
extra bed (old dirty pee Mattress) - € 20
portable safe deposit box
...

I do not recommend nobody, book any other hotel! Only breakfast is pretty good!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marko1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cesar R, Owner at APTR - A Place To Remember, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Sir/Madam:
The review is irrelevant, prejudice and judgemental.on our part as an owner. If the owner is not friendly how come he finds solution to guests who was booked only for two persons and allow their 3 friends to stay with them over night so that they can be accommodated and have a good sleep. If an old mattress was given to them, the owner itself and the housekeeping staff asked if they want to use that kind of mattress. So with their permission we put a linen and make it up to the best that they will feel comfortable. We run out of foam mattresses that because we are fully booked and it is peak season here in El Nido. If the owner is not friendly even it is peak season he allows discount to this dates. You can monitor our prices at AGODA and other travel agency when it comes to promotional deals. Of course we charge extra mattress at low cost and breakfast too. When it comes to dirt, any owner hates messy and dirty surroundings. As a medical practitioner i don't allow dirt and dirty surroundings in our hotel premises. The one projected in the picture is in the shower room, where you can see the toiletries were scattered in the floor. The shower room is provided with soap and shampoo holder. Why was is it on the floor? Why was the picture taken focused in a toilet mirror to make it as a virtual image of the scattered toiletries. Our housekeeping staff routinely clean and make up the room with the permission of the occupants. The balcony will look like unfinished portion because the plant box cannot be used unless waterproofing is done as advised by our architects At the balcony, behind it is our penthouse. This a big room that can accommodate at least 6-8 persons. The picture portrayed in this photo, are the garbage can, broom and dust pan and the pairs of slipper of our housekeeping staff doing their cleaning.inside the penthouse. If they smell methane the wall outside the balcony is newly repainted because there is an undergoing renovation in that area. If the generator is noisy, we see to it that even brownout or blackout we can supply electricity to our clients. Our power house is located at the topmost floor. Before you can enter the engine room, you have to pass 2 doors, so it is soundproof. Probably the noise that they heard is from the hotel next to us.Our water here is safe and chlorinated and passed the quality standard of a safe water imposed by the government. The safety deposit box is not yet functional because the room is still undergoing renovation.The tile looks dirty because at the edges are new grout and the tile design itself looks like a dirt. The bathroom is supplied with hot and cold water. The source of energy is thru a solar energy. Please look at the picture as it shows a cloudy sky portrayed in the balcony.so the heater component of our water heater will not function normally. With regards to our price it is not expensive, first, because we have promotional deal with our international link like AGODA, HOTEL LINK SOLUTIONs and other travel agency local and international. Second our location is situated along the coastal area of El Nido town .And our price is very competitve with that of the other hotels in El Nido. With these reasons we hope and we are looking forward that we will be cleared in all those allegations made by the reviewers. Signed: Cesar G. Rivera MD Owner ( A Place To Remember El Nido)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We stayed from Jan 15 to Jan 18. The place is great, we almost had the ocean view from our room. The staffs: Jen and Wella were very friendly and helpful. Benly, the manager, was very considerate and understanding, he will do his best to make your requests come true :). The hotel was in the center of everything and it was a few steps from the beach and other great bars, restaurants and stores. Daily breakfast was amazing, but their crab with coconut was not very impressive. It would have been better if they could use fresh and live crabs to cook because I am a crab eater and lover so I can tell if my crabs were fresh or dead when they were cooked. And plus, fresh seafoods should be something that is easily to obtain in here. The power will be off from 9 am to 6 pm (we went out most all day anyway) and if you come back early from your tour, you will take a shower in the dark. Would I stay here again? Not sure, would I recommend it? Not sure. We paid about $75 per night, we had daily breakfast, a mini fridge and a safe box.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Nice beach hotel with neat rooms and great and warm welcome stuff. Very nice open cafe on the terrace on the third floor with the sea view. The most warm impression was about the Hotel Supervisor Benly E. Lim - want to advise his service to everyone - very friendly, helpful organisator, who actually made our vacation in El Nido. Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VestaNevesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012 via mobile

Benly, the manager, is very nice and considerate, has lots of knowledge about the area and tourism. We would definitely stay longer if it would be cheaper. Overoll we've enjoyed our stay and recommend it further.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The rooms are really nice. Not very spacious, but the beds are comfy and clean. The shower ist the best! Modern and clean.
The staff doesn´t speak English very well. But they don´t try to understand anyway. We tried with our hands and feet but they wouldn´t try to understand at all. Everytime we had a question they seemed annoyed to have to work. If you want something it will take them 2 days to get it done. The staff is only 2 teenagers who worked there. But the location is good: the beach is round the corner.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank co02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
1 mi away
Sophia's Beach Guest House
Sophia's Beach Guest House
#14 of 17 in El Nido
24 reviews
14.9 mi away
Qi Palawan
Qi Palawan
#1 of 17 in El Nido
252 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#10 of 17 in El Nido
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Nido Coco Resort
El Nido Coco Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
74 reviews
4.3 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APTR - A Place To Remember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APTR - A Place To Remember

Address: Serena St. Bgy Buena Suerte Elnido, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range: £34 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APTR - A Place To Remember 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APTR (a place to remember):offers island hoping tours,diving, night diving,with bar and restaurant, arrange other activities like in land tours to Nacpan Beach, Las Cabañas Beach or maremegmeg beach, night swimming, Zipline and Limestone trail tracking (Ferrata Nature Interpretation and Eco Tourism Adventure Trail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your APTR - A Place To Remember reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APTR - A Place To Remember El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing