We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
APTR - A Place To Remember
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in El Nido
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Upon arrival to the hotel, They did not have any of our reservation details logged, And they were completely booked and had no rooms available. We payed for a full rate Deluxe room through agoda and provided all transaction and booking confirmation details, This was not enough to gain the deluxe room we originally booked, only solution they could offer us was a small shabby room that would also incur an extra fee, They refused to show us the Deluxe room, (Hate to think what it was like if the tiny room was more expensive then the deluxe room) No refund was offered either. We did not feel like paying additional money for a very below average room that was ridiculously over priced. Basically we were were cheated out. we did not feel welcome to stay there either, Hotel management were very rude, The head manager whom was upstairs didn't want to talk to us. The front of house staff did not have a resolve. We ended up dragging our luggage around the small village until we found a suitable hotel. This option seemed better then paying additional money to this most undeserving, unprofessional and inhospitable hotel.

This was our first night in El nido, luckily the rest of the places we stayed at were spot on and the people were very nice, genuine and attentive.

I would strongly avoid this hotel at all costs and not consider an option, A hotel that scheme fee's from customers might get them small short term gains but i believe a place like that will not survive.
Shame people like that give places a bad reputation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MikeBridgeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for APTR - A Place To Remember
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Rooms had double beds, air conditioning, TV and mini fridge. The hotel location is very close to the beach (port authority - place where every boat leave the island for tours). But most important hotel staff was extremely helpful! They helped us to arrange tours (picking the best ones), also helped to arrange a van to transport us from Puerto Princesa airport to El Nido. Additionally, the hotel accepts credit cards (which is difficult in the region) and they can charge all tours and van to your room bill (making it possible to pay with your credit card).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dicogomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked the hotel through an agent. I initially found the price a bit too steep, considering it is not a beachfront hotel. The van driver didn't even know where APTR was at first. When we got to the hotel, the room was not yet available because the previous guest requested for a late check-out, and it was a hassle to wait for our room. The room they gave us had a queen size bed and a bunk bed, which fit 3 people comfortably. Despite the price and this initial incovenience, we loved our stay because it was just a street off the beach, it was just around the corner from the main road where all the shops are, and it is in the same street at restaurants such as Artcafe.

The staff was very attentive to our needs (granted, you had to look for them, they were all over the place) but they will make sure you had a comfortable stay. Special mention to Tina and Aira, who responded to every request we had.

Breakfast is fresh (they will cook right in front of you), which is good but also takes some time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank jennix01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

This is a very small hotel in El Nido. ATPR is located one street back from beach on a busy street but rooms are to the side so that the street noise is not too bad. If your room is on the ground floor the staff chatter might wake you up.
The rooms are kept clean and are simple with basic beds, fan and air con, cable TV, fridge and room safe. Our shower was cool not hot. Wifi was very poor even near reception but it is poor in most of El Nido where sometimes even electricity is a problem and is off during the night. This hotel had a good price/ accommodation ratio.
Staff are very pleasant and helpful and nothing is too much bother. Breakfast is very good and included. There is nice view from the third floor café where you have breakfast. Nescafe is available anytime. We looked at other places but this was the best by far for budget travellers looking for reasonable comfort.

Room Tip: try second floor rooms
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosephineSalvador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Dont stay here, and don't book through Agoda. We booked this hotel, paid in full through Agoda, upon arrival after a long journey they had no record of our booking and no room available for us. We had to look for another place to stay and received no refund. The staff were not accommodating and terrible service. From the look of the place also seemed really overpriced. Definitely not a place I want to remember.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank brh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This place was terrible! The only thing I care to remember about APTR is to never stay there again.

I paid more than 14,000PHP for 2 nights which is very expensive for El Nido and terrible value in general.

We arrived late in the afternoon and our room was not ready. When we were shown to our room I was surprised to see that it was located by the kitchen and restaurant separated only by a glass sliding door and curtain. I was advised by the staff not to worry because we would only be woken at 6:00am when the kitchen started preparing! Great way to enjoy a relaxing holiday, being woken at 6:00am every day. But I suppose I do feel sorry for the people trying to enjoy a meal and getting a glimpse of my naked butt through the gap in the curtain. What fantastic privacy for a young couple!

Anyway, the room was filthy and was not made up or cleaned once during the stay. When I asked the staff for 2 towels (none were provided) I was given a look of absolute disgust. How dare I ask for a towel!? We did get some towels eventually - dirty, stained and wet. Wouldn't have dried my dog with them. So I had to buy some from Art Cafe which (about the only plus for APTR) is conveniently close.

We left after 2 nights and found one of the many better options close by.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Floors and beds clean. Bathroom mostly clean except for a patch of mould or fungus in the corner. We were in room 3 so we had a window that was facing the reception desk and did not give much light. Also can get noisy with pedestrian traffic. Next to the Art Café which is always busy and the beach. The best Filo breakfast with amazing views of El Nido waterfront. That definitely exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melibau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these El Nido hotels
0.7 mi away
Cadlao Resort
Cadlao Resort
#6 of 17 in El Nido
524 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sophia's Beach Guest House
Sophia's Beach Guest House
#16 of 17 in El Nido
22 reviews
6.6 mi away
Matinloc Resort
Matinloc Resort
#8 of 17 in El Nido
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
El Nido Cove Resort
El Nido Cove Resort
#9 of 17 in El Nido
253 reviews
1.8 mi away
El Nido Four Seasons Resort
0.6 mi away
The Nest El Nido Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APTR - A Place To Remember? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APTR - A Place To Remember

Address: Serena St. Bgy Buena Suerte Elnido, El Nido, Palawan Island 5313, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Palawan Island > El Nido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in El Nido
Price Range: £33 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — APTR - A Place To Remember 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
APTR (a place to remember):offers island hoping tours,diving, night diving,with bar and restaurant, arrange other activities like in land tours to Nacpan Beach, Las Cabañas Beach or maremegmeg beach, night swimming, Zipline and Limestone trail tracking (Ferrata Nature Interpretation and Eco Tourism Adventure Trail ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and getaroom.com so you can book your APTR - A Place To Remember reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
APTR - A Place To Remember El Nido, Palawan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing